The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2021, Squidco LLC

NoMoreShapes: Creesus Crisis (Drip Audio)

This Calgary based trio with Jay Crocker on guitar & electronics, J.C. Jones on trombone and Eric Hamelin on drums & percussion, mix free bop with small sound electronic improv.

Price: $13.95


In Stock

Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Log In to use our Wish List
product information:

UPC: 061297206223

Label: Drip Audio
Catalog ID: DR 20622
Squidco Product Code: 12811

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2010
Country: Canada
Packaging: Cardstock foldover
Recorded by Jay Crocker, 2007-2008.


Jay Crocker-guitar, electronics

J.C. Jones-trombone

Eric Hamelin-drums, percussion

Click an artist name above to see in-stock items for that artist.

Highlight an instrument above
and click here to Search for albums with that instrument.

Artist Biographies:

Eric Hamelin is a Canadian drummer and percussionist, known for the groups Fuck Off Dad, No More Shapes, and XL Hippie.

-Discogs (

Have a better biography or biography source? Please Contact Us so that we can update this biography.
track listing:

1. White Chicks 1:05

2. Fat Kid 4:29

3. Say Chin 4:16

4. Invisible Glasses 3:05

5. If Only My Chin Had Eyes 2:58

6. Snake Legs 4:10

7. Twice Bitten 3:15

8. If Only... (2) 2:04

9. Tears Of The Penix 5:30

10. New Years (Yves') 5:22
sample the album:

descriptions, reviews, &c.

"Creesus Crisis is the first full length recording by Calgary based trio NoMoreShapes, featuring Jay Crocker on guitar & electronics, J.C. Jones on trombone and Eric Hamelin on drums & percussion. NoMoreShapes was formed in 2007 through a series of early Bug Incision ( gigs and from tapes filled with seemingly unremarkable, sweaty keyboard & drum riffs (written & recorded by Eric Hamelin). These disparate motifs would turn out to be the starting point for the trio's music and within the year enough material for an album was developed.

Creesus Crisis explores territories such as small sound electronic improvisations to full on Ornette-ish like free bop, drawing from musical sources such as rock , pop, folk, jazz, free improvisation and noise. NoMoreShapes have previously shared bills with the Cowboy Junkies, ZMF trio (Jesse Zubot, Jean Martin, Joe Fonda), Copilots, Joe Sorbara, Josh Zubot, Chad VanGaalen and more. Live shows include original compositions and arrangements from such sources as Black Sabbath, Thelonius Monk and Steve Lacy.

Aside from his main gig as Chad VanGaalen's drummer, Eric Hamelin has had the opportunity to collaborate with the Josh Zubot, Copilots, Jesse Zubot, Simon Fisk, Pierre-Yves Martel, Tania Gill, Lina Allemano, Chris Dadge, Darren Williams, Dave Chokroun and many more.

Jay Crocker produces his own solo pop and improv recordings, and has produced a hand full of albums for various bands and singer songwriters. Jay is also a member of the band Ghostkeeper (out on Flemish Eye). Crocker has shared the stage with Eric Chenaux, the Akron family and many others and is also a staple in the Calgary improv and noise scene.

J.C. Jones has played/recorded with a host of wide-ranging acts such as Ryan Bourne to Chamber Graffiti and has also recently been featured as a harpist/vocalist on a Smithsonian compilation documenting Welsh folk music."-Drip Audio

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Electro-Acoustic Improv
Sound, Noise, &c.
Vancouver and Western Canada
Trio Recordings
Canadian Composition & Improvisation

Other Releases With These Artists:
Recommended & Related Releases:
Cryingsnice (Eric Hamelin / Chris Dadge)
All Greased Up For Nothin'
(Bug Incision Records)
Other Recommended Releases:
Borromean Rings
(Drip Audio)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Magill / Hatcher / Kirchen / Kirshner
Whole Abandoned Star
(Kettle Hole Records)
AMM (Tilbury / Prevost)
Parker, Evan ElectroAcoustic Ensemble (w/ Sainkho Namtchylak)
Fixing the Fluctuating Idea
(Les Disques Victo)
Tucker, Dave / Pat Thomas / Thurston Moore / Mark Sanders
Educated Guess Vol. 1 [VINYL]
(577 Records)
Wittenburg, Florian
Beyond The Traceries
(Edition Wandelweiser Records)
Guedon, Yannick
L'insistance Des Possibles
(Edition Wandelweiser Records)
Wong, Eric
Cognitive Dissonance
(Edition Wandelweiser Records)
Nordheim / Schmidt / Weinheimer
Das Gekochte
(Edition Wandelweiser Records)
Tenney, James (Ensemble Open Music Gera)
Acoustic Phenomena / Hymnic Sounds
(Edition Wandelweiser Records)
Oyauchi / Deku Duo
Now's The Time? [VINYL]
(Armageddon Nova)
#132 Fall 2018 [MAGAZINE + CD]
#131 Fall 2018 [MAGAZINE + CD]
#130 Spring 2018 [MAGAZINE + CD]
Rollet, Quentin / Jean-Marc Foussat / Christian Rollet
Entree Des Puys De Grele
(Fou Records)
#129 Winter 2017 [MAGAZINE + CD]
Walk With The Penguin
Orfeo 5 (Blezard / Bourne / Jafrate with Prince / Oliver / Kane)
In The Green Castle
Nanimo (Area / Torres / Sarramian / Gris)
(Creative Sources)
Tigers Mind
Paradiso Pudding Mix
Pip. (Rasten / Larsen)
(Creative Sources)
#126 Fall 2016 [MAGAZINE + CD]
Naked Wolf (Ex / Gibson / Jaeger / Provan / Szafirowski)
(Clean Feed)
#124 Spring 2016 [MAGAZINE + CD]

Search for other titles on the Drip Audio label.