The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2020, Squidco LLC

Wire, The

#393 November 2016 [MAGAZINE + CD]

Wire, The: #393 November 2016 [MAGAZINE + CD] (The Wire)

On the cover: English folk singer and underground music maven Shirley Collins; Ectoplasm Girls; Roy Montgomery; Fritz Welch; Tarek Atoui; plus: The Wire Tapper 42: 20 new tracks by Aluk Todolo, The Gaslamp Killer, Giorgio Moroser, Jah9, The Splitter Orchestra and more.

Price: $7.95


Out of Stock

Shipping Weight: 9.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Log In to use our Wish List
product information:

UPC: 9770952068106

Label: The Wire
Catalog ID: WIRE 393
Squidco Product Code: 22959

Condition: New
Released: 2016
Country: Great Britain
Packaging: Magazine and CD


See track listing

Click an artist name above to see in-stock items for that artist.

Highlight an instrument above
and click here to Search for albums with that instrument.
track listing:
sample the album:

descriptions, reviews, &c.
Shirley Collins: Assisted by industrial duo Cyclobe, the revered singer and archivist prepares to release her first album of new material in 38 years. By David Keenan

Ectoplasm Girls: Stockholm based siblings Tanya and Nadine Byrne convey the afterimage of death and the echo of former lives though spectral sound and vision. By Julian Cowley

Elza Soares: The Brazilian singer and fearless spokesperson for the dispossessed discusses a career that began in the 1950s and remains vital today. By Russ Slater

Roy Montgomery: The New Zealand lo-fi guitar veteran talks strategies of noise and songform as he returns from the wilderness with four new albums. By Noel Meek

Tarek Atoui: The Beirut born sound artist channels the noise of violence. By Alexander Samuels

Kælan Mikla: The Icelandic synth trio find beauty in desolation. By Joseph Stannard

Fritz Welch: Geekdom goes sculptural in the hands of the Texan artist. By Robert Barry

Raga Dawn: Artist and writer Caroline Bergvall sets controls for the heart of the sunrise. By Emily Bick

Global Ear - Lisbon: Crackling currents of noise course below the streets of Portugal's capital. By Paulo Cecílio

Collateral Damage - Video Albums: Audiovisual opuses and gallery installations propose alternatives to the stream. By Emily Bick

Invisible Jukebox - I-F: The Dutch DJ risks alienation from The Wire's mystery record selection. Tested by Steve Rickinson

The Inner Sleeve: Papa M's David Pajo on Leonard Cohen's Songs From A Room

Epiphanies: The three members of Les Diaboliques each recall how they formed the trio

Print Run: a very British improv zine, a collection of Fluxus ephemera, Düsseldorf electronics, and more

On Screen: Jef Mertens's A Pollock Of Sound

On Site: Björk Digital in London, Project Godie in Newcastle upon Tyne

On Location: Norðanpaunk, Jazz Em Agosto, Brighton Alternative Jazz Festival, and more

Soundcheck: Katie Gately by Clive Bell, Oren Ambarchi by Maya Kalev, Botany by Ken Hollings, New Weird Glasgow by Stewart Smith

Plus, Æthenor, Terry Allen, Oren Ambarchi, Anxiety, Tom Arthurs/Isambard Khroustaliov, Ashtray Navigations, Banabila & Machinefabriek, JG Biberkopf, Bjarki, Black Bombaim & Peter Brötzmann, Botany, Thomas Brinkmann, The Caretaker, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Alan Courtis, Anla Courtis & Cyrus Pireh, Andrew Cyrille & Bill McHenry, Carla dal Forno, Darkthrone, Dedekind Cut, Distance, Tashi Dorji & Tyler Damon, Mark Ernestus' Ndagga Rhythm Force, FaltyDL, Fis, Katie Gately, Howe Gelb, Hexa, Jenny Hval, HOW, The International Nothing (...And Something), Junko & Thomas Tilly, Ka, Felix Kubin & Das Mineralorchester, Kuedo, Mica Levi & Oliver Coates, Machinedrum, Machinefabriek, Walter Marchetti, Donny McCaslin, Mac Miller, Modern Institute, MrDougDoug, Mukqs, NxWorries, Pangaea, The Pattern Forms, The Pop Group, Embla Quickbeam & Graham Dunning, Radionics Radio, Isaiah Rashad, Sleaford Mods, Ssaliva, Maxwell Sterling, Ela Stiles, Still House Plants, TALsounds, Jimi Tenor, Tomutonttu, Trembling Bells & Bonnie 'Prince' Billy, Yves Tumor, Various 23 Tracks - 23 Minutes - 23 Artists, Mark Vernon, David S Ware & Matthew Shipp Duo, Seymour Wright & Paul Abbott Zomes.

The Boomerang: Big Star, Tim Buckley, Alvin Curran, Miles Davis, Colin Newman, Daniel Schmidt, Carl Stone
Related Categories of Interest:

Compositional Forms
Improvised Music
Rock and Related
Various Artists & Compilations

Other Releases With These Artists:
Recommended & Related Releases:

Search for other titles on the The Wire label.