The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2021, Squidco LLC

Hyrrokkin (Ed Ricart, Larkowski, Nagafuchi): Pristine Origin [VINYL + REMIX CD] (New Atlantis)

Hyrrokkin is an avant rock trio from Yellow Springs, OH consisting of Ed Ricart (guitar, bass), Paul Larkowski (bass), and Brett Nagafuchi (drums), influenced by the methods and spirit of jazz, the tones and textures of new music, and the electric backbone of rock.

Price: $14.95


In Stock

Shipping Weight: 16.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Log In to use our Wish List
product information:

Includes Download Car

UPC: 823346074012

Label: New Atlantis
Catalog ID: NA-LP-100
Squidco Product Code: 20155

Format: LP + CD
Condition: New
Released: 2013
Country: USA
Packaging: LP
Recorded at Seizures Palace in Brrookjlyn, New York by Jason LaFarge.


Edward Ricart-guitar, bass, composer

Paul Larkowski-bass, guitar

Brett Nagafuchi-drums

Click an artist name above to see in-stock items for that artist.

Highlight an instrument above
and click here to Search for albums with that instrument.
track listing:


1. Eightfold Way

2. Hydronyms


1. Cosmic Influencer

2. Astrionics

3. Anacoluthon

4. Tamariz
sample the album:

descriptions, reviews, &c.

"Pristine Origin (Sick Room Records), is the debut LP from Hyrrokkin, an instrumental avant-rock power trio with boundless energy and a knack for navigating off-kilter, polyrhythmic arrangements. Pristine Origin features seven sprawling, energetic compositions, marked with the influence of serialism, free jazz, and the creative rock output from labels like Dischord, Homestead, and Touch & Go.

Just two months after forming the band in June of 2011, Hyrrokkin recorded their well-received cassette debut, Astrionics, and embarked on a six-week tour of North America. The group has since shared the stage with Mick Barr, William Hooker, Many Arms, and collaborated as members of Kid Million's Man Forever (Thrill Jockey), and with Black Flag guitar legend Greg Ginn.

The radical sound of the group reflects the cumulative musical experiences of the three musicians involved. Brett Nagafuchi (drums) and Paul Larkowski (guitar + bass) were both members of Kuan, an avant-punk band from Dayton, OH. Edward Ricart (guitar + bass) relocated from Washington, DC to Yellow Springs, OH to form the group, and has been a prolific member of the experimental music community. In addition to a rapidly expanding discography, he has worked alongside members of Fugazi, Bardo Pond, the Rollins Band, and Tortoise, as well as free-jazzers Peter Brotzmann, William Hooker, and Marshall Allen (of the Sun Ra Arkestra), among many others."-New Atlantis

Pristine Origin will be released on clear vinyl (with a download card) in September, 2013, via Chicago's Sick Room Records. The package also includes Inspire Rioting, a free bonus CD of remixes and recompositions of music from the LP, featuring Charles Hayward (This Heat), Jerry Busher (Fugazi), James Plotkin(Phantomsmasher, Khanate), Jenks Miller (Mount Moriah, Horseback), KK Null (Zeni Geva), Kid Millions + Eli Winograd, Lasse Marhaug, Dylan Posa (Flying Luttenbachers), Designer, Public Speaking, Chester Hawkins, Johnny DeBlase (Many Arms, Zevious), Developer, and Mitch Cheney (Sweep the Leg Johnny, Rumah Sakit).

Includes Download Car
Related Categories of Interest:

Vinyl Recordings
Improvised Music
NY Downtown & Metropolitan Jazz/Improv
Free Improvisation
Rock and Related
Improvised Rock
Trio Recordings
Staff Picks & Recommended Items

Other Releases With These Artists:
Bone Turquoise [VINYL]
(New Atlantis)
Various Artists
I Never Meta Guitar Three
(Clean Feed)
Neuringer, Keir
Ceremonies Out Of The Air [VINYL 2 LPs]
(New Atlantis)
Seabrook, Brandon
Sylphid Vitalizers [VINYL]
(New Atlantis)
Impulsive Machinations (Thollem McDonas + Sara Lund)
Conformity Contortion
(New Atlantis)
Ricart, Edward Quartet + Paul Dunmall
(New Atlantis)
Haitian Rail (Ed Ricart, Nick Millevoi, Dan Blacksberg, Kevin Shea)
(New Atlantis)
New Atlantis Octet
Unto the Sun
(Not Two Records)
Infinite Teeth [VINYL]
(New Atlantis)
Kretzmer, Yoni / Andrew Drury
(OutNow Recordings)
IST: New York (Davies / Fell / Wastell / Zorn)
Featuring John Zorn
Webster, Colin + Mark Holub
(New Atlantis)
Wooley, Nate (w/ Ingrid Laubrock, Sylvie Courvoisier & Matt Moran)
Battle Pieces
(Relative Pitch)
Forsyth, Chris / Nate Wooley
Third [VINYL]
(Rekem Records)
ROIL (Chris Abrahams / Mike Majkowski / James Waples)
Raft Of The Meadows [VINYL]
Malaby, Tony / Juan Pablo Carletti / Christopher Hoffman
Nino/Brujo [VINYL]
Bianco, Tony
Utoma Quartet
Beeferman, Gordon Trio (w/ James Ilgenfritz, Michael Evans)
Out In Here
(OutNow Recordings)
Glue (Arthurs / Perkin / Dimitriadis)
Chats With The Real McCoy
(Creative Sources)
Moon, The
Good And Evil
Fujii, Satoko New York Orchestra
Dorner / Willers / Kaufmann
AAA. Live
(Creative Sources)
FPR (Gratkowski / Greenlief / Raskin)
All At Once
(Relative Pitch)
Dunmall / Hanslip / Gibbs / Ricart
Weeping Idols
Rocket Science
Evan Parker / Peter Evans / Craig Taborn / Sam Pluta
(More Is More)
Karayorgis, Pandelis Quintet
(Driff Records)
Fujii, Satoko New Trio
Spring Storm
Maroney / Ilgenfritz / Niescier / Drury
Mind Games
(OutNow Recordings)
Dunietz / Edwards / Noble
Cousin It
(Hopscotch Records)
Scarcity Of Tanks
Fear Is Not Conscience
(Total Life Society Records)
Scarcity Of Tanks
Vulgar Defender
(Total Life Society Records)
Irvine Ensemble, Brian With Paul Dunmall / BBC Concert Orchestra
Montana Strange: The Music Of Brian Irvine
Gauthier Goatette, The Jeff
Open Source
Fasteau, Kali. Z.
An Alternate Universe
(Flying Note)
Gjerstad, Frode / Kevin Norton / David Watson
Pink Saliva (Allen / Cote / St-Onge)
Pink Saliva
Cleveland, Barry
(MoonJune Records)
Quivers / Chora
Nilssen-Love / Hana
Brady, Tim / Bradyworks, Quatuor Molinari
My 20th Century (CD + DVD) [DVD]
(Ambiances Jazz)
Fujii / Tamura / Sharp / Kato
In the Tank
Greene Trio, Burton
On Tour
Dust Dive, The
Asleep or Awake Walk
(Own Records)
Out Takes 1978
(Hopscotch Records)
Anti-Sex Anti-Wiretapping (made in Taiwan)
(Little Enjoyer / Gameboy)
Marclay, Christian / Muller, Gunter
Recommended & Related Releases:
Other Recommended Releases:
Various Artists
I Never Meta Guitar Three
(Clean Feed)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Ikeda / Prevost
The Whole Moon Rests in a Dewdrop on the Grass
Hawkins, Chester
Natural Causes - Original Music For Pale Trees, A Film By Tim Ashby [VINYL]
(Intangible Arts)
Monniot, Christophe & Grand Orchestre du Tricot
Jericho Sinfonia
Kabas + Luis Vicente + Carlos Godinho
Negen / Live at SMUP [2 CDs]
Orfeo 5 (Blezard / Bourne / Jafrate with Prince / Oliver / Kane)
In The Green Castle
Deep Tide Quartet (Archer / Macari / Cole / Shaw)
See One, Do One, Teach One
Labbe, Pierre
parlures et parjures
Albro, Tim / Tyler Keen
Summary Dismissal
Sikora, Catherine
(Relative Pitch)
Ferrian, Stefano / Simone Quatrana
(Den Records)
Hauf / Jackson / Stein / Rosaly / Hess / Hartman
Next Delusion [VINYL]
Hirose, Junji / Kazuhisa Uchihashi
Matchbox (Djikstra / Karayorgis / McBride / Newton)
(Driff Records)
Hammershlag, Arnold
No Face, No Name
Helary, Sylvaine
Spring Roll / Printemps [2 CDs]
IST (feat. John Zorn)
New York
Sandstrom, Nisse Quintet
Live at Crescendo
(Moserobie Music)
Wooley, Nate (w/ Ingrid Laubrock, Sylvie Courvoisier & Matt Moran)
Battle Pieces
(Relative Pitch)
Forsyth, Chris / Nate Wooley
Third [VINYL]
(Rekem Records)
Moon, The
Good And Evil
(577 Records)
Fujii, Satoko New York Orchestra
Flaherty, Paul & Randall Colbourne
Ironic Havoc
(Relative Pitch)
Dorner / Willers / Kaufmann
AAA. Live
(Creative Sources)
FPR (Gratkowski / Greenlief / Raskin)
All At Once
(Relative Pitch)
Parker, Evan / Peter Evans / Craig Taborn / Sam Pluta
Rocket Science
(More Is More)

Search for other titles on the New Atlantis label.