The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

The duo of Chris Abrahams (The Necks) and Burkhard Beins (Polweschel, The Sealed Knot) in an album of obscured percussion and keys, insinuating melody in shadowy and beautiful ways, a journey in unexpected sound and dynamics.

Abrahams, Chris / Burkhard Beins
Instead Of The Sun

Abrahams, Chris / Burkhard Beins: Instead Of The Sun (Herbal International)

Label: Herbal International    
Released in: Malaysia    

"I am quite a fan when it comes to the music on Abrahams, as he brings much energy and vibrancy to the table, and that is no different on this new release.

It's quite difficult to dissect what is going on here. Should one not know who made this album, a blind test if you will, then one could easily think this is an album made with a modular synthesizer and perhaps very little something else; it is not easy to detect in this album the sound of percussion or drums, but that made me think that much of this is Beins playing percussion, triggering the synthesizers of Abrahams and that in the final mix of the album very few of the original drum sounds are used. True, there is some rhythmical undercurrent in some of these pieces, such as in the surprising song-like opening 'After The Violet Of The First' and 'Second-Hand Ecstasy', but there too the rhythm may come from the synthesizers.

I quite enjoyed all of this, as it seemed to bypass such notions as 'improvisation' or 'composition', taking the latter into the first by making some great decisions when mixing the material. All of these pieces are very vibrant and burst with energy, sometimes highly uncontrolled but then sometimes also with quite some peace and dark tranquillity. This is one excellent release."-Frans De Waard, Vital Weekly

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Electro-Acoustic Improv
Duo Recordings
New in Improvised Music
Recent Releases and Best Sellers

Get additional information at Vital Weekly

Search for other titles on the Herbal International label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Kwang, Goh Lee
(Herbal International)
Baghdassarians, Serge / Boris Baltschun / Burkhard Beins
Future Perfect
(Mikroton Recordings)
Necks, The
(Northern Spy)
Beins, Burkhard / Enrico Malatesta / Michael Vorfeld / Christian Wolfarth / Ingar Zach
(Mikroton Recordings)
Bosetti, Alessandro / Chris Abrahams
A Heart That Responds From Schooling
ROIL (Chris Abrahams / Mike Majkowski / James Waples)
Raft Of The Meadows [VINYL]
Butcher, John / Burkhard Beins / Mark Wastell
Vogel, Sabine / Chris Abrahams / Landscape Quartet
The Berlin Series No. 4
(Another Timbre)
Sealed Knot, The
Traces Of Wood
Kahn, Jason
Open Space [VINYL 2 LPs]
Abrahams, Chris and Magda Mayas
(Relative Pitch)
Bosetti, Alessandro / Chris Abrahams
We Who Had Left
(Mikroton Recordings)
Abrahams, Chris / Lucio Capece
None Of Them Would Remember It That Way
(Mikroton Recordings)
Beins / Dorner / Hayward / Krebs
Phosphor 2

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Roji (Almeida / Schneider / Santos Silva)
The Hundred Headed Woman
Silva / Anker / Sandell / Zetterberg / Falt
Life and Other Transient Storms
(Clean Feed)
Modular String Trio (Okhrimchuk / Jedrzejewski / Kacperczyk)
Ants Bees and Butterflies
(Clean Feed)
Pavone, Jessica
Silent Spills
(Relative Pitch)
Sikora, Catherine
(Relative Pitch)
Davies, Angharad / Rhodri Davies / Michael Duch / Lina Lapelyte / John Lely & John Tilbury
(Another Timbre)
Miguel, Sei
(Five) Stories Untold
(Clean Feed)
RED Trio w/ John Butcher
Summer Skyshift
(Clean Feed)
Parrinha, Bruno / Luis Lopes / Ricardo Jacinto
(Clean Feed)
Extended Pianos (Fox / Griswold / Pateras)
Switch On A Dime
Moslang, Norbert / Ilia Belorukov / Kurt Liedwart
(Mikroton Recordings)
Price: $14.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

Label: Herbal International
Catalog ID: 1602
Squidco Product Code: 22148

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2016
Country: Malaysia
Packaging: Cardboard Gatefold 3 Panels
Recorded in Sydney, Australia from January 5th to 9th, 2015 by the artists.


Chris Abrahams-comspoer, performer
Burkhard Beins-composer, performer

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. After The Violet Of The First 3:46

2. Second-Hand Ecstasy 5:39

3. The Decline Of Reductionism 7:16

4. The Non-Passage 9:37

5. Fudged, Circumnavigated 4:26

6. No Need To Pity Mankind Now 1:58

7. Drudges Of The Narrow-Souled 8:43

8. Recall Us Brutally 2:05

9. A Variety Of Din 6:59