The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

Friction, one of the most important and longest running underground bands in Japan, is currently the trio of Reck (bass, guitar & vocals), Iami Akinobu (guitar) and Sato Minoru (drums), in a hard-edged album of original songs and remixes; demanding and powerful modern rock.

Friction (Akinobu / Minoru / Reck)
Zone Tripper

Friction (Akinobu / Minoru / Reck): Zone Tripper (Tzadik)

Label: Tzadik    
Released in: USA    

"Arriving in New York City early 1977, Reck was a vital member of the New York No Wave Punk scene, playing bass with James Chance and the Contortions and Lydia Lunch. Returning to Tokyo in 1978 he founded Friction, one of the most important and longest running underground bands in Japan. Together over twenty years, Friction has gone through many changes, while still retaining its hard-edged style and unique combination of hard rock, punk and noise. Zone Tripper presents some of their greatest songs and some surprising remixes by Tokyo's greatest DJs. Friction's first release outside of Japan,-Zone Tripper is powerful introduction to one of the most legendary bands in the Tokyo underground."-Tzadik

See all items in the Tzadik category

Related Categories of Interest:

Rock and Related
Improvised Rock
Improvised Music
Japanese & Asian Improv/Rock
New in Rock Forms
Recent Releases and Best Sellers

Search for other titles on the Tzadik label.

Recommended & Related Releases:
Price: $13.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 4.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 702397722427

Label: Tzadik
Catalog ID: TZA-CD-7224b
Squidco Product Code: 22134

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2016
Country: USA
Packaging: Jewel Case
Recorded at Studio Beast, in Tokyo, Japan, in 1995 by Seigen Ono.


Imai Akinobu-guitar

Sato Minoru-drums

Reck-bass, vocals, guitar

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Zone Tripper (Audio Active Remix) 5:49

2. Highlife 5:16

3. Break Neck (Audio Active Remix) 6:44

4. Red Light Dumb 6:48

5. Choke 5:40

6. Missing Kissing 4:16

7. The Heavy Cut (Tanaka Fumiya Remix) 8:02

8. Mind Bind 4:09

9. Zone Tripper (Tanaka Fumiya Remix) 8:09

10. Break Neck 4:03

11. Money Laugh 4:01

12. Head Out Head Start 5:38

13. Zone Tripper 5:11

Other Releases
With These Artists: