The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

The third album from Jamie Saft's New Zion Trio with Brad Jones on bass, Craig Santiago on drums, and Vanessa Saft on vocals, finds the trio joined by percussionist Cyro Baptista for an album of compelling dub and grooves with an upbeat spiritual pulse.

New Zion Trio & Cyro Baptista
Sunshine Seas [VINYL]

New Zion Trio & Cyro Baptista: Sunshine Seas [VINYL] (Rarenoise Records)

Label: Rarenoise Records    
Released in: Great Britain    

"With Sunshine Seas, the New Zion Trio's latest project (and RareNoise debut), Jamie Saft further builds on the success of New Zion's first two releases Fight Against Babylon and CHALIWA (Veal Records). Saft not only supplies all the piano and an assortment of vintage keyboards and synths, he also plays all the electric bass and guitar parts on this heavy Dub influenced recording.

Brazilian percussionist Cyro Baptista, a longtime colleague of Saft's, adds his signature percussive flavors and ebullient presence on such mesmerizing dub groove tracks as the opening "BrazilJah" and the beguiling "Chalice Pipe", which has Baptista on vocals and cuica and Saft comping in a gentle bossa nova vein on acoustic guitar.

The darkly insinuating "Onda" features Baptista's massive ceramic drum work and has him singing in Portuguese about waves on the beach in a flow metaphor which deftly captures the feeling of this evocative track. The heavy dub track "Ranking" is a prime showcase for Cyro's mastery of the jaw harp (or Jew's harp)."-Rarenoise

See all items in the Vinyl Recordings category

Related Categories of Interest:

Vinyl Recordings
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Quintet Recordings
Rock and Related
Cultural Musics from Around the World
New in Rock Forms
Recent Releases and Best Sellers

Search for other titles on the Rarenoise Records label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Bernocchi, Eraldo / Prakash Sontakke
Invisible Strings [VINYL]
(Rarenoise Records)
Bernocchi, Eraldo / Prakash Sontakke
Invisible Strings
(Rarenoise Records)
Previte, Bobby
Mass [VINYL 2 LPs]
(Rarenoise Records)
Free Nelson Mandoomjazz
The Organ Grinder [VINYL 2 LPS]
(Rarenoise Records)
Worldservice Project
For King & Country
(Rarenoise Records)
Fiuczynski, David
Flam! Blam! Pan-Asian Microjam! [VINYL]
(Rarenoise Records)
Starlite Motel (Alberts / Saft / Haker-Flaten / Nilssen)
Awosting Falls
(Clean Feed)
Rudd, Roswell / Jamie Saft / Trevor Dunn / Balazs Pandi
Strength & Power [VINYL]
(Rarenoise Records)
McPhee / Saft / Morris / Downs
(Clean Feed)
Sharp, Elliott Aggregat
(Clean Feed)
New Zion Trio (Jamie Saft / Brad Jones / Craig Santiago)
Sharp Trio, Elliott
(Clean Feed)
Zorn, John
A Dreamers Christmas
Spanish Donkey, The (Morris / Saft / Pride)
(Northern Spy)
Jazz Passengers
(JTR-Justin Time Records)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Lehman, Steve Camouflage Trio
Interface [VINYL 2 LPs]
(Clean Feed)
Malaby, Tony Paloma Recio
(Clean Feed)
Starlite Motel (Alberts / Saft / Haker-Flaten / Nilssen)
Awosting Falls [VINYL]
(Clean Feed)
Nova Express Quintet
Andras: The Book Of Angels Volume 28
Lee, Okkyung / Bill Orcutt
Live at Cafe OTO [VINYL]
Peter, Brotzmann / Fred Hopkins / Rashied Ali
Songlines [VINYL 2 LPs]
(Trost Records)
Vandermark, Ken
Site Specific [2 CDs + BOOK]
(Audiographic Records)
Brotzmann, Peter Group
Alarm [VINYL]
(Cien Fuegos)
Live! [VINYL 2 LPs]
(Clean Feed)
Price: $28.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 26.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 5060197760960

Label: Rarenoise Records
Catalog ID: RNR-LP-065LP
Squidco Product Code: 22074

Format: 2 LPs
Condition: New
Released: 2016
Country: Great Britain
Packaging: LP - Gatefold
Recorded at Potterville International Sound, in New York by Jamie Saft.


Brad Jones-acoustic bass

Craig Santiago-drums, Nyabinghi drum

Jamie Saft-keyboards, guitar, guitar, electric bass

Cyro Baptista-percussion, vocals

Vanessa Saft-vocals

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. BrazilJah 6:13

2. Chalice Pipe 5:21

3. Mystics 6:19

4. Sunshine Seas Featuring Vanessa Saft 3:23

5. Growing Grow 6:03

6. Onda 6:47

7. Ranking 6:27

8. Lamb's Bread

9. Samba Jahmekya 8:20