The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

A collection of new music from the creative electronic-inspired ensemble High Risk headed by NY trumpeter Dave Douglas, exploring the intersection of creative improvisation and modern electronic music production in lyrical and unexpected ways.

Douglas, Dave High Risk
Dark Territory [VINYL] - Record Store Day Release

Douglas, Dave High Risk: Dark Territory [VINYL] - Record Store Day Release (Greenleaf Music)

Label: Greenleaf Music    
Released in: USA    

"Dark Territory is a collection of new music from the creative electronic-inspired ensemble High Risk. Following the success of the group's eponymous release in 2015, this new album continues to explore the intersection of creative improvisation and modern electronic music production to create a unique sound that Pitchfork described as, "simultaneously chill and surprising, it's the sound of a group discovering a valid language, and then proceeding to push the limits of that new aesthetic."

Lead by two-time GRAMMY® nominated trumpeter Dave Douglas, the album once again features Jonathan Maron (Groove Collective) on electric and acoustic bass, Mark Guiliana (Beat Music, Heernt, David Bowie) on electric and acoustic drums and DJ, producer and beatmaker Shigeto (Ghostly International) on electronics.

The material was recorded by five-time GRAMMY® nominated Geoff Countryman (Dr. Luke, Patti LaBelle, Wu-Tang Clan, Randy Brecker, Gregory Porter, Fred Hersch) and mixed by Steve Wall (Semi Precious Weapons, Matisyahu, Meshell Ndegeocello), and mastered by Mark Wilder.

Featuring Shigeto on electronics, Johnathan Maron on bass, and Mark Guiliana on drums."-Greenleaf Music

See all items in the Vinyl Recordings category

Related Categories of Interest:

Vinyl Recordings
Improvised Music
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Electro-Acoustic Improv
Quartet Recordings
Record Store Day 2016
Record Store Day
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
New in Improvised Music
Recent Releases and Best Sellers

Search for other titles on the Greenleaf Music label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Douglas, Dave High Risk
Dark Territory
(Greenleaf Music)
Douglas, Dave & Monarch Art Ensemble
(Greenleaf Music)
Douglas, Dave Quintet
Brazen Heart
(Greenleaf Music)
Belogenis, Louie
Blue Buddha
Douglas, Dave Tiny Bell Trio
Masada Quintet Featuring Joe Lovano
Stolas: The Book Of Angels Volume 12
Live at Tonic 1999 [DVD]
Quintet for a Day (Ellis / Ochs / Robinson / Doublas / Smith)
What We Live
(New World Records)
Rothenberg, Ned
Power Lines
(New World Records)
Zorn, John
The Gift
Zorn, John
Bar Kokhba
Zorn, John
Masada First Live 1993
Zorn, John Masada
Live At Tonic 2001

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Kullhammar, Jonas & The New Kids On The Rock
(Moserobie Music)
Kuchen, Martin & Landaeus Trio
The Pity Of It All [VINYL]
(Moserobie Music)
Nacka Forum (Kajfes / Kullhammar / Berthling / Osgood)
We Are The World [VINYL]
(Moserobie Music)
Davis, Anthony / Paul Plimley / Al Neil / John Kameel Farah
Past Piano Present | Live at Western Front 1985 - 2015 [VINYL LP with DOWNLOAD]
(Western Front New Music)
Bailey, Derek / John Tilbury
Playing with a Dead Person [VINYL]
Tarasov, Vladimir / Liudas Mockunas / Eugenijus Kanevicius
Intuitus [VINYL 2 LPs]
Borgmann, Thomas / Max Johnson / Willi Kellers
One For Cisco [VINYL]
Lerner, Marilyn / Ken Filiano / Lou Grassi
Live At Edgefest [VINYL]
(Black Truffle)
Audio One (Vandermark/Adasiewicz/Berman/Bishop/Rempis/Williams/Mazzarrella/Daisy/Macri/Paulson)
An International Report [VINYL]
(Audiographic Records)
Univers Zero
Univers Zero [VINYL 2 LPs]
(Sub Rosa)
Hauf / Heather / Siewert / Weber
The Peeled Eye [VINYL with Download Code]
Price: $22.46
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 16.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 186980000480

Label: Greenleaf Music
Catalog ID: GRE-LP-1048
Squidco Product Code: 21877

Format: LP
Condition: New
Released: 2016
Country: USA
Packaging: LP
Recorded at The Bunker in Brooklyn, New York on October 10th, 2014 by Geoff Countryman.


Dave Douglas-trumpet

Jonathon Maron-electronic bass, synthesizer bass

Mark Guiliana-acoustic drums, electronic drums


Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:


1. Celine (6:43)

2. All the Pretty Horsepower (7:03)

3. Let's Get One Thing Straight (5:50)


1. Mission Acropolis (5:28)

2. Ridge Hill (3:56)

3. Neural (4:52)

4. Loom Large (6:20)