The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

The third installment in Unrock's string-related Saraswati Series brings Sun City Girls guitarist Sir Richard Bishop together with NY avant guitarist Ava Mendoza for an album of twisted takes on the blues, improv, and unusual music history.

Bishop, Sir Richard / Ava Mendoza
Ivory Tower (Hanuman) [VINYL]

Bishop, Sir Richard / Ava  Mendoza: Ivory Tower (Hanuman) [VINYL] (Unrock)

Label: Unrock    
Released in: Netherlands    

"The third installment in Unrock's string-related Saraswati Series features Grandseigneur Richard Bishop performing with his rough charm and maximum elegance, along with one of the hottest kick-ass avant-guitar players around, the now-Brooklyn-based Ava Mendoza. Besides her work in Unnatural Ways, she improvises constantly on NY's avant-stages along with Elliott Sharp, Jim Black, William Winant, Paul Flaherty, Tim Dahl, and others. Rumor has it that she was even in Caroliner.

Recorded in full at Ivory Tower (Unrock Headquarters), the Sir opens up stepping deep into music history (as we know it), messing carefully around with the mysterious track that the New York Times focused on in their 2014 review of one of his live performances. An electric version of "Safe House," a bone-dry 2015 update on "Abyss," an eruptive outbreak from "Multiple Hallucination" into "Black Eyed Blue," and a mild and mellow reflection ("Ivory Tower"). Miss Mendoza is wild at heart and gives you the boot with what she's best at: thunderous, eruptive, twisted improvisations and perfect songs. Shadowtrapping."-Unrock

See all items in the Vinyl Recordings category

Related Categories of Interest:

Vinyl Recordings
Rock and Related
Improvised Rock
Improvised Music
Guitarists, &c.
New in Rock Forms
Recent Releases and Best Sellers

Search for other titles on the Unrock label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Shalabi, Sam / Alan Bishop & Sam Shalabi
Mother Of All Sinners (Puppet On A String) [VINYL]
"A" Trio + Alan Bishop
Burj al Imam [VINYL]
Invisible Things
Time AS One Axis [VINYL]
(New Atlantis)
Vliet, Don Van (Captain Beefheart) and The Magic Band
Rough Raw and Amazing [VINYL 2 LPs]
(Ozit Records)
Ono, Yoko Plastic Ono Band
Take Me to the Land of Hell [VINYL]
(Chimera Music)
Hand to Man Band, The
You Are Always on Our Minds [YELLOW VINYL]
(Post Consumer)
The Tidy Boy [VINYL]
(Spirit of Orr)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Fennesz, Christian / Jim O'Rourke
It's Hard For Me To Say I'm Sorry [VINYL]
(Editions Mego)
Haino, Keiji / Jim O'Rourke / Oren Ambarchi
I Wonder If You Noticed... [VINYL 2 LPs]
(Black Truffle)
Ratkje, Maja S. K.
Crepuscular Hour [VINYL 2LP / CD /DVD]
(Rune Grammofon)
Schwarz, Jean
Erda / Suite N [VINYL]
(Recollection GRM)
Pousseur, Henri
Early Experimental Electronic Music 1954-72
(Sub Rosa)
Gustafsson, Mats
Piano Mating [VINYL]
(Blue Tapes and X-Ray Records)
Live in Greenwich Village
(Clean Feed)
Mahler Remix [VINYL 2 LPs]
McPhee, Joe
Alone Together: The Solo Ensemble Recordings 1974 & 1979
(Corbett vs. Dempsey)
Harde, Staffan
Staffan Harde
(Corbett vs. Dempsey)
MMM Quartet (Joelle Leandre, Fred Frith, Alvin Curran, Urs Leimgruber)
Nilssen's, Gard Acoustic Unity (Roligheten / Eldh / Nilssen)
Firehouse [VINYL]
(Clean Feed)
Icepick (Nate Wooley, Ingebrigt Haker-Flaten & Chris Corsano)
(Astral Spirits)
Gustafsson, Mats w/ John Russell & Phil Minton
a duo(s) [VINYL]
Jordan, Kidd / Peter Kowald / Alvin Fielder
Live In New Orleans [VINYL 2 LPs]
Without Noticing [VINYL]
(Rune Grammofon)
Schlippenbach, Alexander Von
The Living Music [VINYL]
(Cien Fuegos)
Price: $25.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 16.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 7697919101367

Label: Unrock
Catalog ID: UNROCK 005LP
Squidco Product Code: 21480

Format: LP
Condition: New
Released: 2016
Country: Netherlands
Packaging: LP
No recording data listed.


Sir Richard Bishop-guitar

Ava Medoza-guitar

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:


1. She Loves You

2. Safe House (electric)

3. Ivory Tower

4. Abyss (2015)

5. Multiple Hallucination / Black Eyed Blue


1. Motor Unwind Part 1

2. Shadowtrapping (solo version)

3. Motor Unwind Part 2

4. Kiss Of Fire