The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

A long-term studio project/mutant big band merging collage, scored pieces, structured improvisations, cut-up jams, hi- and lo-fi textures, electroacoustic work, and location recording into large and wonderfully unpredictable compositions with few boundaries.

Midnight Doctors
Midnight Doctors

Midnight Doctors (Ourodisc)

Label: Ourodisc    
Released in: Great Britain    

"Although a live show is now on the horizon, The Midnight Doctors was initially conceived of purely as a recording project- a collage of styles and approaches, not definable by any of its individual constituent parts- which include scored pieces, structured improvisations, (mostly) loving pastiche, cut-up jams, hi-fi and lo-fi textures, electroacoustic flourishes, both studio and home/location recordings. The record mutates and exaggerates various absorbed inspirations from the margins, back-catalogues and dustbins of popular culture (particularly soundtracks), the avant-garde (various brow-heights) and traditional musics. Taken as a whole however, the record is equally inspired by the diffuse tradition of artists who have treated the productionecording process as an integral part of the composition itself- particularly the shoestring experimentations of Joe Meek, the studio recordings of Faust and Neu! (with Uwe Nettelbeck and Conny Plank respectively) and, more broadly speaking, modern electroacoustic music and some of the more interesting examples of cinematic sound design."-alt.vinyl

Related Categories of Interest:

Free Improvisation
Large Ensembles
Electro-Acoustic Improv
Organized Sound and Sample Based Music
New in Improvised Music
Recent Releases and Best Sellers

Search for other titles on the Ourodisc label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Scodanibbio, Stefano
Incontri & Reuniones
Midnight Doctors
Through A Screen And Into A Hole
Rudolph, Adam / GO:Organic Guitar Orchestra
Turning Towards The Light
Loriot, Frantz / Manuel Perovic Notebook Large Ensemble
Urban Furrow
(Clean Feed)
Mazurek, Rob / Exploding Star Orchestra
Galactic Parables: Volume 1 [2 CDs]
Kaiser, Henry & Ray Russell
The Celestial Squid
With Monty
(Bug Incision Records)
Von Wyl, Luzia Ensemble
Angles 9
(Clean Feed)
4th Ward Afro Klezmer Orchestra
Abdul the Rabbi
(Afro Klezmer Music)
AIMToronto Orchestra
Year of the Boar
Andel, Laura
Electric Percussive Orchestra - In::tension:.
Andel, Laura
(Red Toucan)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Parker, William / Raining on the Moon
Great Spirit
(Aum Fidelity)
Ware, David S. / Apogee
Birth of a Being (Expanded) [2 CDs]
(Aum Fidelity)
Bjorkenheim, Raoul / eCsTaSy
Out Of The Blue
Rosaly, Frank
(Utech Records)
Thing, The
(The Thing Records)
Parker, William
For Those Who Are, Still [3 CD BOX]
(Aum Fidelity)
Price: $12.95
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 4.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 0091037731487

Label: Ourodisc
Catalog ID: 04
Squidco Product Code: 21459

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2013
Country: Great Britain
Packaging: Jewel Case
Recorded in and around Newcastle, United Kingdom in 2012/13 by Phil Begg.


Phil Begg-harmonium, guitar, piano, keyboard, tubular bells, vibraphone, percussion, vocals, whistling, field recordings, transistor radio

Christian Alderson-drums, percussion

Mike Smith-drums

John Pope-bouble bass


Helen Papaioannou-baritone saxophone, tenor saxophone

Rebecca Jennings-tenor saxophone

Faye MacCalman-tenor saxophone

Emily King-alto saxophone

Rachael Hales-violin

Niles Krieger-violin

Sean Cotterill-electric violin

Corinna Philpott-clarinet

James Insalaco-clarinet

Richard Dawson-bass

Sarah Sullivan-keyboards

Mike Vest-gong

Jamie Thompson-oboe

Cassandre BalossoBardin-recorder

Oliver Curry-piano

Laura Davison-trombone

Tim Hodges-deviance

Greta Buitkute-vocals

Gwilly Edmondez-vocals

Pete Devlin-vocals

Dario LozanoThornton-vocals

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. The Palmersville Ghost Train 1:34

2. Murder Mystery 0:16

3. The Fix 1:31

4. Young Jesus At The Hotel Vagabond 0:29

5. Face 1:41

6. Practical Shadows 1:51

7. Theme For A Costumed Burglar 1:00

8. Brain-Heart Surgery 2:05

9. Commercial Space Travel Bossa 2:02

10. Russet & Grey 5:53

11. Birds Cry Grim Sorrow At TheSeaside (A Salty Interval For Intangible Audio) 3:36

12. Stakeout 1:52

13. Mount Analogue 6:44

14. A Very Compound Crux 2:34

15. The End Of The World Carnival Waltz 2:18

16. Animal Cemetery Exotica 0:29

17. The Elsdon Gibbet 1:14

18. Cult Of Gabriel 0:53

19. Snow Dance 0:56

20. Mercy 2:15