The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

The second L A N D album, "Anoxia" (total absence of oxygen), sees Daniel Lea return alone with an outing that marks a shift from the industrial-inflected jazz-noir of 2012's "Night Within" into distinctly new sonic terrain with an emphasis on atmosphere and rhythm.


L A N D: Anoxia (Important Records)

Label: Important Records    
Released in: USA    

"The second L A N D album, Anoxia, sees Daniel Lea return alone with an outing that marks a shift from the industrial-inflected jazz-noir of 2012's Night Within into distinctly new terrain.

"Anoxia" means "total absence of oxygen," and in Lea's hands the term heralds aural environments that are full of the dreams of humanity yet may well be devoid of its living presence. The Anthropocene era in which we live has seen the rise of many human-made monuments that add up to a total presence that humanity will leave behind; Lea's labyrinthine arrangements are a soundtrack to such a world, one without humanity that is nevertheless fully marked and constructed by humans. From the very first moments of the pummeling djun djun skins and the growing bowed rototoms of "Labyrinthitis," the direction is one of a more radical constructivist sound rooted in modernist architecture.

Lea has elevated his practice to the point at which he cleaves space sonically, and Frost is the perfect person to mix such spaces. The results are visions of a brutalist world slowly decaying, but with the mellifluous harmonics of vegetation and fluid matter entwining through the ruination. Other tracks rise up like towers in a city, growing from the metallic chimes and structured percussion; one sees visions of the Balfron Tower or the Genex Tower, but such associations do not tether this work to geographical real-world locations. Anoxia may well be in a time outside of time. On "Anoxia," cello harmonics swing their head and screech like prancing komodo dragons, marking the entry to the final track, the "End Zone," with which Lea carries out his own initiation ritual, a dance between those edifices left beneath the growing millennial weeds and forests. Monuments that will long outlast their creators."-Important Records

Related Categories of Interest:

Sound, Noise, &c.
New in Experimental & Electronic Music
Recent Releases and Best Sellers

Search for other titles on the Important Records label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Romannis Motte
Time Sequences [CASSETTE]
(Anthems Of The Undesirable)
Hayward, Robin
Stop Time
(Important Records)
Banabila, Michel
Tapu Sampler 2016
(Tapu Record)
Various Artists
New Songs of the Humpback Whale
(Important Records)
Bertoia, Harry
Complete Sonambient Collection [11CD BOX SET]
(Important Records)
Ranaldo, Lee
Ambient Loop for Vancouver
(Important Records)
Brown Jenkin
(Thirsty Leaves Music)
The West Lighthouse Is Not So Far
If Thousands
Pinkcourtesyphone (Richard Chartier)
Sentimental Something [VINYL]
(Important Records)
Oliveros, Pauline
Reverberations: Tape & Electronic Music 1961-1970 [12 CD BOX][REPRESSED]
(Important Records)
Nadja / Aidan Baker / Leah Buckareff
Trinitarian [VINYL]
(Important Records)
Giffoni, Carlos
Zamuro [VINYL]
(Important Records)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Quasar (quatuor de saxophones)
Du souffle
(Collection QB)
Fujiwara, Tomas & The Hook Up
After All Is Said
(482 Music)
Foussat, Jean-Marc / Les Autres
Alternative Oblique [4 CD Box Set]
(Improvising Beings)
Hocevar, Dre
Collective Effervescence
(Clean Feed)
No Project Trio
Vol. II
Weston, Veryan / Trevor Watts
Dialogues with Ornette!
Schindler, Udo / Frank Paul Schubert
Parnassia Palustris
Dunmall, Paul / John Edwards / Tony Marsh
To Be Real
Frith, Fred
Field Days (The Amanda Loops)
(Recommended Records)
Frith, Fred
(Recommended Records)
Toral, Rafael
Space Collective 2 Live [CASSETTE + download]
(Notice Recordings)
Flaherty / Corsano / Yeh b/w Ambrachi / Sanders
Split [7-inch VINYL]
(Krayon Recordings)
Zorn, John
Cerberus: The Book Of Angels Volume 26
Price: $14.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 793447542928

Label: Important Records
Catalog ID: IMPREC 429CD
Squidco Product Code: 21429

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2015
Country: USA
Packaging: Cardboard Gatefold 3 Panels
Composed and produced by Daniel Lea.


Daniel Lea-sound design, field recordings, processing, electronics, composition, production

Rupert Clervaux-drums, percussion, aluphone, crotales, copper pipes

Jamie McCarthy-cello, bowed percussion, copper pipes

Clive Bell- shakuhachi

Leo Abrahams-processed guitars

Mark Wastell-tamtam

Dom Garwood-clarinets

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Labyrinthitis 3:06

2. Neutra 5:36

3. Drop City 2:50

4. Metamorphosis 9:07

5. Seconds 6:45

6. Equinox 3:20

7. Transition 2:36

8. Anoxia 4:09

9. End Zone 3:47