The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Taking their name from an Edgar Allen Poe story and the title a reference to James Wan's 2013 film, the trio of Peter Evans on piccolo trumpet, Matt Nelson on saxophone & effects, and Dan Peck on tuba & effects, recorded in a church to add ambience to their sinister and superb improv.

Premature Burial (Peter Evans, Matt Nelson, Dan Peck)
The Conjuring [VINYL]

Premature Burial (Peter Evans, Matt Nelson, Dan Peck): The Conjuring [VINYL] (New Atlantis)

Label: New Atlantis    
Released in: USA    

"The debut LP from Premature Burial. The unit takes it's name from an Edgar Allen Poe story in which the narrator suffers from episodes of catalepsy and fears being buried alive. The reader is taken through various stages of paranoia, forced to imagine being trapped inside a coffin, paralyzed and unable to communicate their mortal predicament to the world of the living.

The title of the album is an homage to director James Wan's 2013 film, The Conjuring, in which a family moves into a haunted house and is terrorized by an evil force that eventually takes possession of the mother. The private claustrophobia of coffin-death is traded for the collectivized fear of living in a cursed space, as feelings of helplessness and loathing are projected both outward and in.

It's with this shared imagery that we arrive at the sound world of Premature Burial. Comprised of Peter Evans, Matt Nelson, and Dan Peck, all three members use varying degrees of amplification; Evans presses up against a close mic at times while Nelson and Peck have a full array of effects pedals at their disposal. Combining a vast dynamic spectrum and versatility of form, the resulting pieces range from the sound of softly scurrying rats to pitch-shifted loon-calls from Hell. The recording session took place in a church, the acoustics of which enhance the illusion of the sounds having multiple/unclear origins and supply an added dimension of unease to the standstill moments.

Houses and churches often serve as safe havens, beacons of hope. Yet once something sinister is allowed in, it is difficult, if not impossible, to get out. In contrast to H.P. Lovecraft's haunted New England forests and Stephen King's pagan burial grounds, the horror of Premature Burial's The Conjuring is specifically that of a cursed interior space. Whereas the destruction emanating from the outside world exhibits a sort of timeless and ambivalent violence, the type of force occupying the inside of a space feels decidedly more insidious; more the deliberate actions of a sentient being, man-made. The church in which this album was recorded is in Wilkes-Barre, PA, a depressed Rust Belt town that in recent years has seen spikes in gang crime and unemployment. A broader definition of the word "haunted" could be applied to cities like these across the country, "ghost towns" where the progression of time and socio-economic development has seemed to creep backwards. The real darkness of Wilkes-Barre's past still resonates within it's interior spaces, and subtly exerts itself on this recording."-New Atlantis

LP includes a download card with the full album, plus bonus solo performances from each musician.

See all items in the Vinyl Recordings category

Related Categories of Interest:

Vinyl Recordings
Improvised Music
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Electro-Acoustic Improv
Free Improvisation
Trio Recordings
New in Improvised Music
Recent Releases and Best Sellers

Search for other titles on the New Atlantis label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Hag with Dan
(Prom Night Records)
Bone Turquoise [VINYL]
(New Atlantis)
Kowalkowski, Jeff Trio (w/ Harrison Bankhed / Avreaayl Ra)
(New Atlantis)
Gate, The
Chuck [CASSETTE with download code]
(Astral Spirits)
Evans, Peter / Tim Dahl / Mike Pride
Pulverize The Sound
(Relative Pitch)
Teletopa (Collins / Evans / Aherns / Frampton)
Tokyo 1972 [VINYL 3 LPs]
Nelson, Matt
Lower Bottoms [VINYL]
Evans, Peter Quintet
Destination: Void
(More Is More)
Gate, The (feat Tim Dahl / Nate Wooley)
Stench [VINYL]
Amado, Rodrigo Motion Trio & Peter Evans
Live in Lisbon [VINYL]
Rocket Science
Evan Parker / Peter Evans / Craig Taborn / Sam Pluta
(More Is More)
Cymerman / Wooley / Evans / Bauder
Sky Burial
(5049 Records)
Halvorson / Evans / Walter
Mechanical Malfunction
(Thirsty Ear)
Lee, Okkyung
Noisy Love Songs

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Van Hove / Jacquemyn / Smith
Burns Longer
(Balance Point Acoustics)
Ducret, Marc Trio + 3 (Chevillon / Echampard + Monniot / Blaser / Martinez)
Ware, David S. / Apogee
Birth of a Being (Expanded) [2 CDs]
(Aum Fidelity)
Game Of Patience
Trial And Error
(Herbal International)
Thing, The
(The Thing Records)
Made to Break
Before the Code [VINYL]
(Trost Records)
Weston, Veryan / Jon Rose / Hannah Marshall
Tuning Out [2 CDs]
Kretzmer, Yoni 2Bass Quartet
Book II [2 CDs]
(OutNow Recordings)
Convergence Quartet (Taylor Ho Bynum / Alexander Hawkins / Dominic Lash / Harris Eisenstadt)
Owl Jacket [VINYL]
Jackson, Tom / Benedict Taylor / Daniel Thompson
Hunt At The Brook
Fujii, Satoko Tobira
Yamiyo Ni Karasu
Wooley, Nate (w/ Ingrid Laubrock, Sylvie Courvoisier & Matt Moran)
Battle Pieces
(Relative Pitch)
Price: $17.95
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 16.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

LP includes a download card with the full album, plus bonus solo performances from each musician.

UPC: 616892277644

Label: New Atlantis
Catalog ID: NA-LP-013
Squidco Product Code: 21289

Format: LP
Condition: New
Released: 2015
Country: USA
Packaging: LP
Recorded at St Stephan Episcopal Church in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania in teh Fall of 2013 by Same Pluta.


Peter Evans-piccolo trumpet

Matt Nelson-saxophone, effects

Dan Peck-tuba, effects

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:


1. Cataleptic Fantasy 16:43

2. Instant Death 03:15


1. Eschatology 11:39

2. Bodiless Screams 05:12