The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Named after Jean Genet's infamous novel, New York pianist Matthew Shipp's quartet Declared Enemy with Sabir Mateen on tenor sax & clarinet, William Parker on double bass, and Gerald Cleaver on drums, return for a second outstanding album of dynamic and masterful jazz.

Shipp, Matthew Quartet Declared Enemy
Our Lady Of The Flowers

Shipp, Matthew Quartet Declared Enemy: Our Lady Of The Flowers (RogueArt)

Label: RogueArt    
Released in: France    

"2006: RogueArt released Salute To 1000001 Stars with a Genet text read by French actor Denis Levant & music written & played by Matthew Shipp & this same quartet he assembled for that occasion which he called Declared Enemy - continuing with that homage Shipp has chosen to name this cd after Genet's in/famous novel Our Lady of The Flowers > here are duos, trios & solos selected/composed by Shipp, the totality of which, represents his further feelings & involvement with Genet's work as well as his own ideas of individual & group voicing & expression."-Steve Dalachinsky, excerpt from the liner notes

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Quartet Recordings
Parker, William
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
New in Improvised Music
Recent Releases and Best Sellers
Top Sellers and Staff Lists for 2015

Search for other titles on the RogueArt label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Judson Trio (Joelle Leandre / Mat Maneri / Gerald Cleaver)
An Air of Unreality [VINYL]
Butcher, John / Thomas Lehn / Matthew Shipp
Nordstrom, Fredrik
Gentle Fire, Restless Dreams [2 CDs]
(Moserobie Music)
Steve Swell Quintet (Swell / Moondoc / Burrell / W. Parker / Cleaver)
Soul Travelers [VINYL + DOWNLOAD]
Always Coming from the Love Side [2 CDs]
Shipp, Matthew Chamber Ensemble
The Gospel According to Matthew & Michael
(Relative Pitch)
Perelman, Ivo / Matthew Shipp / William Parker
Book Of Sound
Perelman, Ivo / Matthew Shipp / Mat Maneri
A Violent Dose Of Anything
Parker, Evan / Matthew Shipp
Rex, Wrecks & XXX [2 CDs]
Shipp, Matthew
Greatest Hits
(Thirsty Ear)
Bisio, Michael / Matt Shipp Duo
Floating Ice
(Relative Pitch)
Shipp / Beans / Parker / HPrizm
Knives From Heaven
(Thirsty Ear)
Allen / Shipp / Morris
Night Logic
Shipp, Matthew
(Thirsty Ear)
Shipp Trio, Matthew
The Multiplication Table (re-issue)
Right Hemisphere (Shipp / Brown / Morris / Dickey)
Right Hemisphere
Declared Enemy - Shipp / Mateen / Parker / Cleaver / Lavant
Salute To 100001 Stars: A Tribute To Jean Genet

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Parker, Evan / Daunik Lazro / Joe McPhee
Seven Pieces. Live At Willisau 1995
(Clean Feed)
Chicago Plan, The (Swell / Ullmann / Lonberg-Holdm / Zerang)
The Chicago Plan
(Clean Feed)
Rothenberg, Ned / Mark Feldman / Sylvie Courvoisier
In Cahoots
(Clean Feed)
Dresser, Mark Seven (Mitchell / Ehrlich / Boroff / Dessen / White / Black)
Sedimental You
(Clean Feed)
Scarcity Of Tanks
Ringleader Of Lies
(Total Life Society Records)
Remote Viewers, The
No Voice From The Hall
(Remote Viewers)
Braxton, Anthony
Quintet (Basel) 1977
Free Nelson Mandoomjazz
The Organ Grinder [VINYL 2 LPS]
(Rarenoise Records)
Parker, Evan / Pat Thomas / John Russell / John Edwards / Alex Ward / Alison Blunt / Benedict Taylor / David Leahy / Kay Grant
Mopomoso Tour 2013 | Making Rooms [4 CD BOX SET]
Price: $15.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 3.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 3760131270570

Label: RogueArt
Catalog ID: Rog-0057
Squidco Product Code: 21012

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2015
Country: France
Packaging: Digipack
Recorded by Jim Clouse on June 13th, 2013 at Park West Studio, Brooklyn, NY.


Matthew Shipp-piano

Sabir Mateen-tenor saxophone, clarinet

William Parker-double bass

Gerald Cleaver-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Atomic Note 7:02

2. New Tension 5:18

3. A Different Plane 7:37

4. From The Beyond 8:26

5. Silence Blooms 4:23

6. Irrational 6:45

7. Our Lady of the Flowers 11:02

8. Gasp 7:41

9. Cosmic Joke 8:55