The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

Blackshaw, James: Summoning Suns <i>[Used Item]</i> (Important Records)

A lovely album of instrumental guitar and songs in James Blackshaw's tenth studio album, the first recording to feature his voice and lyrics, drawing inspiration from '60s and '70s singer-songwriters, baroque and orchestral pop, and folk music.

Price: $9.95


In Stock

Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Log In to use our Wish List
product information:

UPC: 793447540726

Label: Important Records
Catalog ID: IMPREC 407CD
Squidco Product Code: 20925

Format: CD
Condition: VG
Released: 2015
Country: USA
Packaging: Digipack
Recorded at No, in October, 2014 by John Hannon.

This is a USED (previously owned) item


James Blackshaw-vocals, acoustic guitar, bass, piano, glockenspeil, organ

Charlotte Glasson-flute, violin, bass clarinet

Kazuhiko Masumura-percussion

Annie Nilsson-vocals

Takuro Okada-pedal steel guitar, banjo

Kaoru Noda-vocals

Simon Scott-drums, ambient guitar

Yu Tangiguchi-piano

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search
track listing:

1. Averoigne 2:13

2. Confetti 4:33

3. Failure's Flame 5:58

4. Nothing Ever After 4:38

5. Summoning Suns 5:55

6. Towa No Yume 5:46

7. Winter Flies 3:07
sample the album:

descriptions, reviews, &c.
Previously played Squidco store copy, used for cataloging and samples, in excellent condition.

"Summoning Suns is James Blackshaw's tenth studio album and the first recording to feature his voice and lyrics. Drawing inspiration from '60s and '70s singer-songwriters, baroque and orchestral pop, and folk music, while still sounding contemporary, Summoning Suns is Blackshaw's foray into more traditional forms of songcraft. Blackshaw sings in a gentle but assured voice while his words combine his personal experiences, neuroses, and fantasies through many layers of abstraction, poeticism, and dark humor. While the deft acoustic guitar fingerpicking of Blackshaw's previous recordings is still a prominent part of the sound, the songs are lushly and intricately arranged for drums, bass, piano, violin, flute, and pedal steel guitar and feature contributions from Simon Scott (Slowdive), Annie Nilsson, and Japanese musicians Mori Wa Ikiteiru and Kaoru Noda (with whom Blackshaw duets in Japanese on one song)."-Important

Also available on vinyl LP.

Recommended & Related Releases:

Search for other titles on the Important Records label.