The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

An extremely soulful electric album from Sun Ran and the Intergalactic Myth Science Solar Arkestra, a groove driven and funky swirling masterpiece from the late 70's.

Sun Ra and His Intergalactic Myth Science Solar Arkestra
Sleeping Beauty [VINYL]

Sun Ra and His Intergalactic Myth Science Solar Arkestra: Sleeping Beauty [VINYL] (KS Art Yard Series)

Label: KS Art Yard Series    
Released in: Netherlands    

"This is the great late-night Sun Ra chillout album you never knew about. The band had been working in a more groove-oriented setting off and on for over a year, as evidenced by the albums Lanquidity and On Jupiter, with both featuring prominent electric bass and electric guitar. Sleeping Beauty picks up right where On Jupiter left off, with the gentle, swaying "Springtime Again" echoing the same mellow vibe of "Seductive Fantasy" from On Jupiter.

A skittering intro coalesces as different instruments pick up bits of the melody, which is then fully expressed by the horn section and ensemble vocals. It's a simple two-chord vamp, with beautiful solos that seem to embody the reawakening and rebirth of springtime. "The Door of the Cosmos" starts with a gospel-like chant and handclaps, with comments from Ra's electric piano and electric guitar. A strong bassline enters, very reminiscent of "A Love Supreme, Pt. 1: Acknowledgement," but the accompanying chant celebrates the mysteries of the unknown rather than the universal truth of A Love Supreme. This track builds in intensity, but never loses its groove or becomes nearly as raucous as the Arkestra is sometimes known for.

"Sleeping Beauty" is the album centerpiece, taking up all of side two. Ra's beautiful electric piano gets things rolling, and the band falls into a peaceful groove before the vocals enter, led by the wonderful June Tyson. These songs are all built on the simplest of structures, and the playing from everyone is understated and sublime.

Sleeping Beauty is truly a high point in an unwieldy discography, and something of an anomaly at the same time. Outstanding."-Sean Westergaard, All Music

See all items in the Vinyl Recordings category

Related Categories of Interest:

Vinyl Recordings
Improvised Music
Sun Ra
Jazz Reissues
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
New in Improvised Music

Search for other titles on the KS Art Yard Series label.

Price: $16.95
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 16.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 769791909304

Label: KS Art Yard Series
Catalog ID: KSAY 003N-LP
Squidco Product Code: 20832

Format: LP
Condition: New
Released: 2009
Country: Netherlands
Packaging: LP
Originally released on the Saturn label in 1980.


Sun Ra-piano, electric piano, organ, vocals

Michael Ray-trumpet, fluglehorn

Walter Miller-trumpet

Tony Bethel-trombone

Craig Harris-trombone

Vincent Chancey-french horn

Marshall Allen-alto sax, flute

John Gilmore-tenor sax, percussion

Danny Ray Thompson-baritone sax, flute

Eloe Omoe-bass clarinet, flute

James Jacson-bassoon, flute, percussion

Disco Kid-electric guitar

Richard Williams-elecric bass

Harry Wilson-vibes


Luqman Ali-drums

June Tyson-vocals

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:


1 Springtime Again 9:17

2 Door Of The Cosmos 9:00


1 Sleeping Beauty 11:51