The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

A compilation of tracks from the melodic side of string and electronic artist Michel Banabila, with two exclusive tracks, and collecting previous work with artists like Anton Goudsmit, Eric Vloeimans, Michel van Schie, Salar Asid, Anne Bakker, Mete Erker, Mehmet Polat, Yasar Saka, &c.

Banabila, Michel

Banabila, Michel: Float (Tapu Record)

Label: Tapu Record    
Released in: Netherlands    

"Beginning his career in the early 80's, Michel Banabila's albums covered many different styles. So many, in fact, that his place in music was a bit difficult to pinpoint which sometimes seemed to confuse critics as well as potential audiences. His albums presented world music, jazz, theatre play soundtracks as well as electronic music of the abstract or ambient kind - all kinds of genres which Banabila seems to be able to cross over with ease.

In recent years, his output became more focused on experimental electronics. There were collaborations with Machinefabriek, Scanner, Zenial, Radboud Mens, and multimedia performances with Geert Mul and Gerco de Ruijter (who also created the striking cover image for this album) Nothing wrong with abstract electronics of course (on the contrary), but it should not be forgotten that apart from creating impressive abstract music, Banabila also has a distinct way of composing more melodic instrumental pieces of a very different kind. Pieces that often gain extra depth with the contributions of a variety of guest musicians.

Float is a compilation album that helps us remember exactly that! The eleven tracks on this compilations demonstrate Banabila's more 'radio-friendly' side. (I mean serious music radio here, not just hit-list rotators). There are two exclusive tracks (a string version of "Ears Tell Us Where We Are in Space", and the title track) - the remaining tracks are taken from previous releases "Migrations", "Traces", "Route Planner", "Fields of Flowers" and "Precious Images". The album selection fits together remarkably well, as if all tracks were composed especially for this album. The sound production is flawless - as always - and there are impressive contributions by artists like Anton Goudsmit, Eric Vloeimans, Michel van Schie, Salar Asid, Anne Bakker, Mete Erker, Mehmet Polat , Yasar Saka and more.

Float may not bring much new music for those already familiar with Banabila's work. But it's a perfect introduction to his music if you're relatively new to his 'more melodic' side!"-Peter van Cooten,

Related Categories of Interest:

Compositional Forms
Various Artists & Compilations

Search for other titles on the Tapu Record label.

Recommended & Related Releases:
Price: $9.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 3.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 5060179702049

Label: Tapu Record
Catalog ID: TRBP22
Squidco Product Code: 20623

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2014
Country: Netherlands
Packaging: Digipack

Michel Banabila-composer, keyboards, percussion, comp[uter, field recordings Julia Ohrma-bansuri Michel van Schie-electric bass Age Kat-guitar Anton Goudsmit-guitar Mehmet Polat-oud Yasar Saka-oud Jasper Soffers-piano Mete Erker-saxophone, clarinet Eric Vloeimans-trumpet Anne Bakker-violin Goran Kamil-violin Salar Asid-violin Umit Sav

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Lapidarium 7:13

2. Eiland 3:59

3. September Colors 4:19

4. Ears Tell Us Where We Are In Space (String Version) 2:30

5. Fragments Of Memory 7:15

6. Sana'a 5:33

7. Tirza Scene 3:51

8. Ears Tell Us Where We Are In Space 5:22

9. Lapidarium (Piano Version) 3:36

10. Float 5:12

11. Early Morning Light 5:05

Other Releases
With These Artists: