The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Zu reveals their dark side with Jacopo Battaglia & Thomas Luca Mai performing on electronics and Massimo focused on guitars, plus guest Luca Tilli on cello; the recordings were sent to Oxbow's Eugene S Robison, resulting in this mysterious and disturbing release.

Zu & Eugene S. Robinson
The Left Hand Path

Zu & Eugene S. Robinson: The Left Hand Path (Trost Records)

Label: Trost Records    
Released in: Austria    

Zu has always been a mercurial and ever-changing entity: unafraid of cross-genre explorations, eager to break down barriers between musical styles. Despite playing traditional instruments, major influences on Zu's music have always been sonic explorers like Coil, Throbbing Gristle, or early Neubauten. The sound of The Left Hand Path is the somewhat hidden side of Zu, though latent in all of its previous music. It's like digging out a box from the earth, containing everything the band had wished to highlight in previous works: ambient and droney landscapes; acoustic explorations in obscurity. The album starts programmatically with the sound of a shovel digging the earth -- a soundtrack for a descent into the underworld. It's moon musick. All of the members played electronics and Massimo focused mostly on guitars. The recordings were then sent to Eugene S. Robinson of Oxbow fame. Zu knew he was the right person to add vocals to it, and to transform the music again, into a sort of contemporary post-everything voodoo blues.

Also available on vinyl LP.

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Free Improvisation
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
Unusual Vocal Forms
Trio Recordings
New in Experimental & Electronic Music

Search for other titles on the Trost Records label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Corsano, Chris / Massimo Pupillo
Via Combusta [VINYL]
(Trost Records)
Cactus Truck
Are You FREE?
Kurzmann, Christof
Then & Now [VINYL]
(Trost Records)
Zu & Eugene Robinson
The Left Hand Path [VINYL]
(Trost Records)
DKV Trio + Gustafsson / Nilssen-Love / Pupillo
Schl8hof [VINYL]
(Trost Records)
DKV Trio + Gustafsson / Nilssen-Love / Pupillo
(Trost Records)
Ensemble Fur Neue Musik Zurich
Women Composers
(Hat [now] ART)
Brotzmann / Kondo / Pupillo / Nilssen-Love
Hairy Bones
(Smalltown Superjazzz)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Banabila, Michel
Tapu Sampler 2016
(Tapu Record)
Hauf / Heather / Siewert / Weber
The Peeled Eye [VINYL with Download Code]
Granberg, Magnus
How Deep is the Ocean, How High is the Sky?
(Another Timbre)
Eisenstadt, Harris
September, Canada Day IV
Lytton, Paul
(Pleasure of the Text Records)
Kyriakides, Yannis + Andy Moor
A Life Is A Billion Heartbeats
Prevost, Helene
A La Plage
(Tour de Bras)
Price: $16.95
Out of Stock
Special Order
If ordered we
expect to ship within:
4 weeks

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 9120036681859

Label: Trost Records
Catalog ID: TROST 133CD
Squidco Product Code: 20613

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2015
Country: Austria
Packaging: Digipack
Recorded in Rome by Lorenzo Stecconi

Vocals at Function 8 Studios by Monte Vallier.



Jacopo Battaglia-electronics

Thomas Luca Mai-electronics

Massimo Pupillo-guitar

Eugene Robinson-vocals

Luca Tilli-cello

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Waiter Waited 1:56

2. Taking The Give 2:59

3. Nightly A Sky 1:41

4. A Slick Not Spoken Of Now. Or Again 2:01

5. In The Corner. Of The Corner Apartment 2:44

6. Looking For The Devil 3:14

7. The Relaxing 2:19

8. Take-Away Truck 2:39

9. Phone Call From A Well Dressed Man 1:33

10. Beg 1:21

11. Shame On Me 2:16

12. 6 O'Clock 4:15

13. Praylude 1:31

14. Land Lord 4:36

15. The Key To Good Dental Health 1:11

16. We're All Friends 2:54

17. Enterlude 0:36

18.Near To Sleep 2:12

19. Pinning The Body To The Soul 4:45