The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

Hyrrokkin is an avant rock trio from Yellow Springs, OH consisting of Ed Ricart (guitar, bass), Paul Larkowski (bass), and Brett Nagafuchi (drums), influenced by the methods and spirit of jazz, the tones and textures of new music, and the electric backbone of rock.

Hyrrokkin (Ed Ricart, Larkowski, Nagafuchi)
Pristine Origin [VINYL + REMIX CD]

Hyrrokkin (Ed Ricart, Larkowski, Nagafuchi): Pristine Origin [VINYL + REMIX CD] (New Atlantis)

Label: New Atlantis    
Released in: USA    

"Pristine Origin (Sick Room Records), is the debut LP from Hyrrokkin, an instrumental avant-rock power trio with boundless energy and a knack for navigating off-kilter, polyrhythmic arrangements. Pristine Origin features seven sprawling, energetic compositions, marked with the influence of serialism, free jazz, and the creative rock output from labels like Dischord, Homestead, and Touch & Go.

Just two months after forming the band in June of 2011, Hyrrokkin recorded their well-received cassette debut, Astrionics, and embarked on a six-week tour of North America. The group has since shared the stage with Mick Barr, William Hooker, Many Arms, and collaborated as members of Kid Million's Man Forever (Thrill Jockey), and with Black Flag guitar legend Greg Ginn.

The radical sound of the group reflects the cumulative musical experiences of the three musicians involved. Brett Nagafuchi (drums) and Paul Larkowski (guitar + bass) were both members of Kuan, an avant-punk band from Dayton, OH. Edward Ricart (guitar + bass) relocated from Washington, DC to Yellow Springs, OH to form the group, and has been a prolific member of the experimental music community. In addition to a rapidly expanding discography, he has worked alongside members of Fugazi, Bardo Pond, the Rollins Band, and Tortoise, as well as free-jazzers Peter Brotzmann, William Hooker, and Marshall Allen (of the Sun Ra Arkestra), among many others."-New Atlantis

Pristine Origin will be released on clear vinyl (with a download card) in September, 2013, via Chicago's Sick Room Records. The package also includes Inspire Rioting, a free bonus CD of remixes and recompositions of music from the LP, featuring Charles Hayward (This Heat), Jerry Busher (Fugazi), James Plotkin(Phantomsmasher, Khanate), Jenks Miller (Mount Moriah, Horseback), KK Null (Zeni Geva), Kid Millions + Eli Winograd, Lasse Marhaug, Dylan Posa (Flying Luttenbachers), Designer, Public Speaking, Chester Hawkins, Johnny DeBlase (Many Arms, Zevious), Developer, and Mitch Cheney (Sweep the Leg Johnny, Rumah Sakit).

Includes Download Car

See all items in the Vinyl Recordings category

Related Categories of Interest:

Vinyl Recordings
Improvised Music
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Free Improvisation
Rock and Related
Improvised Rock
Trio Recordings
Staff Picks & Recommended Items

Search for other titles on the New Atlantis label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Bone Turquoise [VINYL]
(New Atlantis)
Various Artists
I Never Meta Guitar Three
(Clean Feed)
Neuringer, Keir
Ceremonies Out Of The Air [VINYL 2 LPs]
(New Atlantis)
Seabrook, Brandon
Sylphid Vitalizers [VINYL]
(New Atlantis)
Impulsive Machinations (Thollem McDonas + Sara Lund)
Conformity Contortion
(New Atlantis)
Ricart, Edward Quartet + Paul Dunmall
(New Atlantis)
Haitian Rail (Ed Ricart, Nick Millevoi, Dan Blacksberg, Kevin Shea)
(New Atlantis)
New Atlantis Octet
Unto the Sun
(Not Two Records)
5678765 [CASSETTE]
(New Atlantis)
Infinite Teeth [VINYL]
(New Atlantis)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Kretzmer, Yoni / Andrew Drury
(OutNow Recordings)
IST: New York (Davies / Fell / Wastell / Zorn)
Featuring John Zorn
Webster, Colin + Mark Holub
(New Atlantis)
Wooley, Nate (w/ Ingrid Laubrock, Sylvie Courvoisier & Matt Moran)
Battle Pieces
(Relative Pitch)
Forsyth, Chris / Nate Wooley
Third [VINYL]
(Rekem Records)
ROIL (Chris Abrahams / Mike Majkowski / James Waples)
Raft Of The Meadows [VINYL]
Malaby, Tony / Juan Pablo Carletti / Christopher Hoffman
Nino/Brujo [VINYL]
Bianco, Tony
Utoma Quartet
Blacksberg, Daniel Trio (w/ Matt Engle & Mike Szekely)
Perilous Architecture [VINYL]
Sun Ra Arkestra, The
Live in Nickelsdorf 1984 [VINYL 4 LP BOX]
(Trost Records)
Beeferman, Gordon Trio (w/ James Ilgenfritz, Michael Evans)
Out In Here
(OutNow Recordings)
Glue (Arthurs / Perkin / Dimitriadis)
Chats With The Real McCoy
(Creative Sources)
Moon, The
Good And Evil
Dorner / Willers / Kaufmann
AAA. Live
(Creative Sources)
FPR (Gratkowski / Greenlief / Raskin)
All At Once
(Relative Pitch)
Dunmall / Hanslip / Gibbs / Ricart
Weeping Idols
Price: $10.80
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 16.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

Includes Download Car

UPC: 823346074012

Label: New Atlantis
Catalog ID: NA-LP-100
Squidco Product Code: 20155

Format: LP + CD
Condition: New
Released: 2013
Country: USA
Packaging: LP
Recorded at Seizures Palace in Brrookjlyn, New York by Jason LaFarge.


Edward Ricart-guitar, bass, composer

Paul Larkowski-bass, guitar

Brett Nagafuchi-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:


1. Eightfold Way

2. Hydronyms


1. Cosmic Influencer

2. Astrionics

3. Anacoluthon

4. Tamariz