The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

The trio of NY players David Watson on electric guitar, Kevin Norton on percussion, vibes and marimba, and Norwegian Frode Gjerstad on multiple reeds, for 9 uniquely voiced free improvisations recorded in the studio; diverse concepts in reflective and moving dialog.

TiPPLE (Gjerstad / Norton / Watson)
No Sugar on Anything

TiPPLE (Gjerstad / Norton / Watson): No Sugar on Anything (Circulasione)

Label: Circulasione    
Released in: Norway    

Tipple is the trio of David Watson, electric guitar, Kevin Norton, percussion, vibes and marimba, and Frode Gjerstad on alto saxophone, Bb clarinet, and bass clarinet. This is their 3rd release, the previous being on FMR, while this is on Frode Gjerstad's own Circulasione label. Gjerstad also handles the mixing and mastering, while Lasse Marhaug provides the CD cover.

Tipple is a free improvising group, crossing the international boundary by joining the Norwegian Gjerstad with New York area players Watson and Norton. Watson performs on electric guitar, a quite different instrument from his frequent bagpipe forays, but his use of the guitar often brings the bluster of the bagpipe to call; at other times his playing is abstract but with a distorted edge, meandering around the point but always getting to it.

The communication between the trio is superb, and each release has brought a more telepathic link to their improvisations. The dialog ranges from very sparse conversation to emphatic and vigorous attacks, but never overwhelms the listener in chaotic ways. As Gjerstad comments on his website, "A nice little trio producing music that is not constantly loud, but reflective and moving." Space is a frequent ingredient to their playing, in call and response or slowly developing discourse.

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Free Improvisation
Trio Recordings
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Trio Recordings

Search for other titles on the Circulasione label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Circulasione Totale Orchestra
Enten Eller
Lonberg-Holm, Fred / Frode Gjerstad
Life On Sandpaper
Gjerstad, Frode / Luis Conte
Mirrors Edges
Gjerstad / Norton / Watson
Live Tipple
Zorn, John
Volume One
(Tilt Brass)
Leandre, Joelle
Can You Hear Me - Live At The Ulrichsberger Kaleidophon [2 CDs]
Gjerstad, Frode
The Walk
Dunmall, Paul Sun Quartet
Ancient and Future Airs
(Clean Feed)
Detail: Stevens / Bradford / Dyani / Gjerstad
In Time Was
Trio Viriditas
Live at Vision Festival VI
(Clean Feed)
Norton's Metaphor Quartet, Kevin
Not Only In That Golden Tree...
(Clean Feed)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
PYN (Yoshida / Pittard / Nasuno)
Songs for children who don't want to sleep
Fall Line
Simmons, Sonny
Leaving Knowledge, Wisdom and Brilliance / Chasing The Bird? [8 CD BOX]
(Improvising Beings)
Sharrock, Linda
No Is No (Don't Fuck Around With Your Women)
(Improvising Beings)
Johnson, Lucien / Alan Silva / Makoto Sato
Stinging Netttles
(Improvising Beings)
Oki, Itapu / Axel Dorner
Root Of Bohemian
(Improvising Beings)
Janas, Gene / Vinnie Paternostro / Jay Reeve / Other Matter
United Slaves #2~3
(Improvising Beings)
Wilson, Tony 6tet
A Day's Life
(Drip Audio)
(Drip Audio)
The Turbine! (Bankhead / Duboc / Drake / Lopez + guests)
Entropy/Enthalpy [2 CDs]
Levin, Daniel Quartet
(Clean Feed)
Roebke, Jason
Every Sunday
(Clean Feed)
Loriot, Frantz / Manuel Perovic Notebook Large Ensemble
Urban Furrow
(Clean Feed)
Fraser, Nick (feat. Tony Malaby and Kris Davis)
Too Many Continents
(Clean Feed)
Price: $10.00
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

Label: Circulasione
Catalog ID: CT15
Squidco Product Code: 19839

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2014
Country: Norway
Packaging: Digipack
Recorded In Leonia, New Jersey on April 6th, 2013 by Frode Gjerstad.


Frode Gjerstad-alto saxophone, Bb clarinet, bass clarinet

Kevin Norton-drums, vibraphone, marimba, percussion

David Watson-electric guitar

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. No Sugar 6:08

2. On Anything 7:27

3. And No 3:58

4. Additives 4:30

5. Or Manipulated 6:14

6. Ingredients 2:51

7. Make You 4:15

8. Feel Alive And 2:32

9. Ready To Play 5:10