The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Zu reveals their dark side with Jacopo Battaglia & Thomas Luca Mai performing on electronics and Massimo focused on guitars, plus guest Luca Tilli on cello; the recordings were sent to Oxbow's Eugene S Robison, resulting in this mysterious and disturbing release.

Zu & Eugene Robinson
The Left Hand Path [VINYL]

Zu & Eugene Robinson: The Left Hand Path  [VINYL] (Trost Records)

Label: Trost Records    
Released in: Austria    

"Zu has always been a mercurial and ever changing entity, not afraid of cross-genre explorations and breaking down barriers between musical styles. Despite playing traditional instruments, major influences on Zu music have always been sonic explorers like Coil, Throbbing Gristle or early Neubauten.

The Left Hand Path is the side of Zu that has always been hidden and underlying in all their previous music. Its like digging out a box from the earth. TLHP is everything the band had wished to highlight in previous works: , ambient and droney landscapes, and acoustic explorations in obscurity. The album starts programmatically with the sound of a shovel digging the earth. Its a soundtrack for a descent in the underworld. Its moon musick.

All the members played electronics and Massimo focused mostly on guitars . The recordings were then sent to Eugene S Robison of Oxbow fame. Zu knew he was the right person to add vocals to it, and to transform the music again, in a sort of contemporary post- everything voodoo blues."-Trost

Also available on CD.

See all items in the Vinyl Recordings category

Related Categories of Interest:

Vinyl Recordings
Improvised Music
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
Free Improvisation
Unusual Vocal Forms
Trio Recordings
New in Experimental & Electronic Music

Search for other titles on the Trost Records label.

Price: $21.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 16.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:


Label: Trost Records
Catalog ID: TROST 133LP
Squidco Product Code: 19553

Format: LP
Condition: New
Released: 2014
Country: Austria
Packaging: LP
Recorded in Rome by Lorenzo Stecconi

Vocals at Function 8 Studios by Monte Vallier.



Jacopo Battaglia-electronics

Thomas Luca Mai-electronics

Massimo Pupillo-guitar

Eugene Robinson-vocals

Luca Tilli-cello

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:


1. Waiter Waited

2. Taking The Give

3. Nightly A Sky

4. A Slick Not Spoken Of Now. Or Again

5. In The Corner. Of The Corner Apartment

6. Looking For The Devil

7. The Relaxing

8. Take-Away Truck

9. Phone Call From A Well Dressed Man

10. Beg


1. Shame On Me

2. 6 O'Clock

3. Praylude

4. Land Lord

5. The Key To Good Dental Health

6. We're All Friends

7. Enterlude

8. Near To Sleep

9. Pinning The Body To The Soul