The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Balancing South American pop influences with modern improvisation, Adrienne Pierluissi sings in English and Spanish over music developed by Ken Vandermark (reeds), Tim Daisy (drums), John Dereszynski (guitars), Nick Macri (bass), and Rick Reger (keys).

Margots, The

Margots, The: Sople (Okka)

Label: Okka    
Released in: USA    

"2nd album for Okka Disk. "Soplé" is a collection of songs showcasing the accelerated growth of the ensemble, from a unique project to a band w/ force that balances South American pop music influences w/ the impact of post-punk. Half the pieces are in English, the other in Spanish, almost all them were recorded in single takes w/ no instrumental or vocal overdubs"-Okka Disk

See all items in the Okka category

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Rock and Related
Song Based Music
Ken Vandermark
Sextet Recordings

Search for other titles on the Okka label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Made to Break
Before the Code [VINYL]
(Trost Records)
Made to Break
Before the Code
(Trost Records)
Chicago Reed Quartet (Mazzarella / Rempis / Williams / Vandermark)
Western Automatic
DKV Trio
Made to Break
Cherchez la Femme [VINYL]
(Trost Records)
Margots, The (Vandermark / Daisy / McPhee / Reid / &c)
Vandermark's, Ken Topology Nonet w/ Joe McPhee
Impressions of Po Music
Made to Break
Lacerba [VINYL]
(Clean Feed)
(482 Music)
Made to Break (Daisy / Hoff / Kurzmann / Vandermark)
(Clean Feed)
Daisy, Tim and Ken Vandermark
The Conversation
(Multikulti Project)
Daisy, Tim / Ken Vandermark Duo
Light On The Wall [2 VINYL LPs]
(Laurence Family Records)
Frame Quartet (Vandermark / Daisy / Lonberg-Holm / McBride)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Brotzmann, Peter / William Parker / Hamid Drake
Song Sentimentale [VINYL]
Brotzmann, Peter / Heather Leigh
Ears Are Filled With Wonder [VINYL]
(Trost Records)
Chant, Tom / John Edwards / Eddie Prevost
All Change
TiPPLE (Gjerstad / Norton / Watson)
No Sugar on Anything
Kellers, Willi Quartet
Life In A Black Box
Lonberg-Holm, Fred / Frode Gjerstad
Life On Sandpaper
Lindsay, Arto & Paal Nilssen-Love
Jones, Darius
The Oversoul Manual
(Aum Fidelity)
Cross, Earl / Muhammad Ali / Rashied Al Akbar / Idris Ackamoor
Ascent Of The Nether Creatures [VINYL]
Nilssen-Love, Paal Large Unit
Erta Ale [3 CD BOX SET]
Ducret, Marc
Tower-Bridge [2 CDs]
Dijkstra, Jorrit
Music for Reeds and Electronics: Oakland
(Driff Records)
Whammies, The (Dijkstra / Oliver / Karayorgis / Roebke / Bishop / Bennink)
Play The Music of Steve Lacy Vol. 3, Live
(Driff Records)
Price: $11.16
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:


Label: Okka
Catalog ID: od12097cd
Squidco Product Code: 19440

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2014
Country: USA
Packaging: Cardboard sleeve
Recorded at Minbal in Chicago, Illinois, on April 11th, 12th and 13th, 2014, by Bob Weston.


Adrienne Pierluissi-vocals

Tim Daisy-drums, percussion

John Dereszynski-guitars

Nick Macri-bass

Rick Reger-keyboards

Ken Vandermark-Reeds

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Pluto 4:08

2. Sople 5:11

3. Besame Amor 3:25

4. Miedo 5:52

5. Baby Blue 4:01

6. Nostalgia 3:08

7. Kiss 5:30

8. Margot 6:00

9. Ah Si Mama 2:24

10. Adios 4:18