The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Matthias Schubert conducts nine dynamic and spectacular compositions dedicated to John Cage, Anthony Braxton, Fred Frith, Duke Ellington, &c. and performers including Scott Fields, Frank Gratkowski, Carl Ludwig Hubsch, &c.

Schubert, Matthias
9 Compositions for The Multiple Joy[ce] Ensemble

Schubert, Matthias: 9 Compositions for The Multiple Joy[ce] Ensemble (Red Toucan)
Label: Red Toucan    
Released in: Canada    

"The compositions

1 Conlon Zoubeck, dedicated to Conlon Nancarrow, is a miniature beginning from the middle of the piano keyboard and culminating at its most outer points. The soloist is Phillip Zoubeck.

2 Moose is dedicated to composer Helmut Lachenmann and trumpeter Axel Dorner. One hundred and ten sound effects stride through extreme sound panoramas, evoking allusions to a "Nature Morte". Soloist Udo Moll plays on a prepared trumpet.

3 Anthonykowski is dedicated to Anthony Braxton. A 4-layer orchestration is followed by a 4- layer improvisation. The soloist is Frank Gratkowski.

4 Duke Muche is dedicated to Billy Strayhorn and Duke Ellington. Matthias Muche takes the solo.

5 Frith Fields, a dedication to Fred Frith, is a non-interactive improvisation between fortissimo and pianissimo with an alternating time construction.

6 Boulevinsky is dedicated to Pierre Boulez and Igor Stravinsky. The soloist is Holger Werner.

7 Ende der Zeit is inspired by Olivier Messiaen's Quatuor Pour La Fin Du Temps, Louange à l'Eternité de Jésus. It has the same sequence of notes as Boulevinsky but is way slower. The Soloist here is Axel Lindner.

8 Akkordstudie is a study of the final chord of Ende der Zeit.

9 John Müller features soloist Angelika Sheridan on flute. It is a dedication to John Cage and flutist Hans Martin Müller."-Red Toucan

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Free Improvisation
Compositional Forms
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
Staff Picks & Recommended Items

Search for other titles on the Red Toucan label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Grand Orchestra
(Tochnit Aleph)
Rummel, Simon Ensemble
Nichts Fur Alle (Nothing For All)
(Umlaut Records)
Skein (Gratkowski / Kaufmann / de Joode / Lee / Barrett / Buck)
Rose, Simon / Stefan Schultze
The Ten Thousand Things
(Red Toucan)
FPR (Gratkowski / Greenlief / Raskin)
All At Once
(Relative Pitch)
Schubert Quartet, Matthias
(Red Toucan)
Gratkowski / Van Hove / Oxley
Nabatov / Reijseger / Schubert
Square Down
Fields, Scott Multiple Joyce Orchestra
Moersbow Ozzo
(Clean Feed)
Schubert, Frank Paul and Matthias Muller
Hubsch, Carl Ludwig's Longrun Development of the Universe
The creators bend a master plan
(NEOS Music)
Lapin / Poore / Schubert / Turner / Bledsoe
Seek it Not with Your Eyes
(Red Toucan)
Fields Ensemble, Scott
We Are The Phliks
Collier, Graham
Hoarded Dreams

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Frith, Fred / John Butcher
The Natural Order
(Northern Spy)
WHO Trio (Hemingway / Wintsch / Oester)
Zoo [2 CDS]
Whammies, The (Dijkstra / Oliver / Karayorgis / Roebke / Bishop / Bennink)
Play The Music of Steve Lacy Vol. 3, Live
(Driff Records)
Erdmann, Daniel / Samuel Rohrer / Vincent Courtois / Frank Mobus
From The Inside Of A Cloud
Day & Taxi (Gallio / Jeger / Meier)
Artists [2 CDs]
DKV Trio
Bailey, Derek / Trevor Watts / John Stevens
Dynamics of the Impromptu
Banabila & Machinefabriek
Banabila & Machinefabriek
(No Label)
Stroomtoon II
(Herbal International)
Rammel, Hal / Christopher Burns
Lepage, Robert Marcel
Canard Branchu
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Quartetski Does Stravinsky
Le Sacre du printemps
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Price: $11.50
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 4.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 7707860038

Label: Red Toucan
Catalog ID: RT 9348
Squidco Product Code: 18449

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2013
Country: Canada
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Recorded December 20th, 2012, at Loft Wissmannstr. 30 50823 Koln, Germany, by Christian Heck.


Scott Fields-guitar

Elisabeth Fugemann-cello

Sebastian Gramss-contrabass

Frank Gratkowski-alto saxophone

Carl Ludwig Hubsch-tuba

Axel Lindner-violin

Udo Moll-trumpet

Matthias Muche-trombone

Matthias Schubert-conductor

Angelika Sheridan-flute

Holger Werner-clarinet

Phillip Zoubek-piano

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Conlon Zoubeck 3:35

2. Moose 13:37

3. Anthonykowski 5:34

4. Duke Muche 5:08

5. Frith Fields 3:47

6. Boulevinsky 5:00

7. Ende der Zeit 7:55

8. Akkordstudie 8:40

9. John Muller 5:18