The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

A double LP of works reconstructing the early 20th century intonarumori (or 'noise intoners') of Futurists composer Luigi Russolo, in an orchestra led by Luciano Chessa with guests including Mike Patton, Ellen Fullman, James Fei, Margareth Kammerer, &c. &c.

Various Artists
The Orchestra of Futurist Noise Intoners [VINYL 2 LPs]

Various Artists: The Orchestra of Futurist Noise Intoners [VINYL 2 LPs] (Sub Rosa)
Label: Sub Rosa    
Released in: Belgium    

"The famous intonarumori (or 'noise intoners') of the Futurists could be considered the earliest 'techno music' instruments of the twentieth century. The 1st public performance of Luigi Russolo's intonarumori project took place in 1913 at Modena's Teatro Storchi, Italy.

Luciano Chessa conducted this new orchestra of early Futurist pieces as well as specially commissioned works from legendary contemporary musicians and composers from the experimental music world: Einstürzende Neubauten frontman and Nick Cave collaborator Blixa Bargeld, Deep Listening pioneer Pauline Oliveros, Faith No More and Mr. Bungle vocalist Mike Patton, experimental saxophonist Ulrich Krieger, singer and composer Nick Hallett, contemporary classical and electronic musician James Fei, jazz singer and guitarist Margareth Kammerer, composer, instrument builder, and performer Ellen Fullman, composer, musician and soundcdesigner Teho Tehardo....

Luigi Russolo wrote in 1913, pointing out that the silence of earlier times was forever lost with the invention of the machine in the nineteenth century: 'The variety of noises is infinite,' he noted, predicting the exponential increase in volume in the twenty-first century. 'If today, when we have perhaps a thousand different machines, we can distinguish a thousand different noises; tomorrow, as new machines multiply, we will be able to distinguish ten, twenty, or thirty thousand different noises, not merely in a simply imitative way, but to combine them according to our imagination.'That's what Luciano Chessa and his big orchestra of very special guests/performers reproduced on this record!"-Sub Rosa

See all items in the Vinyl Recordings category

Related Categories of Interest:

Vinyl Recordings
Compositional Forms
Sound, Noise, &c.
Historical Recordings
Electroacoustic Composition

Search for other titles on the Sub Rosa label.

Price: $23.95
Out of Stock
Special Order
If ordered we
expect to ship within:
4 weeks

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 22.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 5411867333166

Label: Sub Rosa
Catalog ID: SR 316LP
Squidco Product Code: 18222

Format: 2 LPs
Condition: New
Released: 2013
Country: Belgium
Packaging: 2 LPs in a Gatefold Cardstock Foldover
Recorded at different locations and on various dates.


Blixa Bargeld

Pauline Oliveros

Luciano Chessa

Teho Tehardo

Nick Hallett

Ellen Fullman

Sylvano Bussotti

James Fei

Mike Patton

Margareth Kammerer

Ulrich Krieger

Pablo Ortiz

Luigi Russolo

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:


A1. Blixa Bargeld - The Mantovani Machine I: Motor (2009) (4:43)

A2. Pauline Oliveros - Waking the Intonarumori (2009) (5:45)

A3. Luciano Chessa - L'acoustique ivresse [Les bruits de la Paix] (2009) (5:46)


B1. Teho Tehardo - Oh! (2010) (4:28)

B2. Nick Hallett - Falcon (Heene), Ascending (2009) (4:34)

B3. Ellen Fullman - Sunday Industrial (Post Futurist Reverie) (2009-2010) (4:33)

B4. Sylvano Bussotti - Variazone Russolo - Slancio d'angoli (2007) (4:58)


C1. James Fei - New Acoustical Pleasures (A Furious Meow) (2009) (7:13)

C2. Mike Patton - << KOSTNICE >> (2009) (5:22)

C3. Luciano Chessa & T.R.I.O. - Alumix (2010) (3:51)

C4. Paolo Buzzi - Pioggia nel pineto antidannunziana (Score realized by Luciano Chessa) (1916) (3:35)


D1. Margareth Kammerer - Blues or Woman in the Mind at Night (2010) (6:07)

D2. Ulrich Krieger - Back to the Future, California [Acton Hills 1- 4] (2009) (7:07)

D3. Pablo Ortiz - Tango Futurista (2009) (3:04)

D4. Luigi Russolo - Fragment from Risveglio di una città (1913) (1:11)