The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Extending Nate Wooley's Seven Storey Mountain project with Chris Corsano, C. Spencer Yeh, David Grubbs, Ben Vida, Matt Moran, &c., here in 2 CDs presenting SSM Parts III & IV, recorded live at Issue Project Room in 2010 and 2012.

Wooley, Nate
Seven Storey Mountain III and IV [2 CDs]

Wooley, Nate: Seven Storey Mountain III and IV [2 CDs] (Pleasure of the Text Records)
Label: Pleasure of the Text Records    
Released in: USA    

A double disc set featuring two live performances from Brooklyn's Issue Project Room in 2010 and 2012. This continues the series of recordings released over the past five years on Important Records of Wooley's long form electro-acoustic work and features, alongside the composer on trumpet and amplifier, such leading lights of the experimental music scene.

SSMIII was commissioned while Wooley was in residence at Issue Project Room in 2010 and portions of SSMIV were commissioned for Phillip Glass' birthday celebration and the Festival of New Trumpet in 2012. This is the first recording of both in their entirety, and has been released in a limited edition of 500 copies with art by C. Spencer Yeh.

Limited edition of 500 copies

Read more about this item
The Squid
At The Squid's Ear!

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Electro-Acoustic Improv
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Nate Wooley
Staff Picks & Recommended Items

Search for other titles on the Pleasure of the Text Records label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Parkins / Wooley / Westera / Vuletic
Fugitive Beautee
(Ignoring Gravity Music)
Vibracathedral Orchestra
Unnatural with Pain-Relief [VINYL]
(Krayon Recordings)
Yeh / Lorenz / Jewell
Live at CAC 7.21.08 [7-inch VINYL]
(Krayon Recordings)
Wooley, Nate Quintet (Wooley / Sinton / Moran / Opsvik / Eisenstadt)
(Dance to) The Early Music
(Clean Feed)
New Monuments (Yeh / Hall / Dietrich)
Long Pig
Di Domenico, Giovanni / Peter Jacquemyn / Chris Corsano
A Little Off The Top [VINYL]
Wooley, Nate (w/ Ingrid Laubrock, Sylvie Courvoisier & Matt Moran)
Battle Pieces
(Relative Pitch)
Forsyth, Chris / Nate Wooley
Third [VINYL]
(Rekem Records)
Wooley / Rempis / Niggenkemper / Corsano
From Wolves To Whales
Gate, The (feat Tim Dahl / Nate Wooley)
Stench [VINYL]
Wooley, Nate / Hugo Antunes / Chris Corsano
Wooley, Nate / C. Spencer Yeh / Audrey Chen / Todd Carter
Trumpets and Drums (Wooley / Evans / Black / Lytton)
Live in Ljubljana
(Clean Feed)
Wooley, Nate Sextet
(Sit in) The Throne of Friendship
(Clean Feed)
Cymerman / Wooley / Evans / Bauder
Sky Burial
(5049 Records)
Haker-Flaten New York Quartet, Ingebrigt (McPhee / Wooley / Morris)
Now Is
(Clean Feed)
Wooley, Nate & MIVOS Quartet
(Ignoring Gravity Music)
Morris / Fernandez / Wooley
From The Discrete To The Particular
(Relative Pitch)
Lytton / Wooley + Ikue Mori and Ken Vandermark
The Nows [2 CDs]
(Clean Feed)
Morris, Joe
Perpetual Frontier The Properties of Free Music [BOOK]
(Riti Publishing)
Hubsch, Carl Ludwig
Ensemble X
(Red Toucan)
RED Trio + Nate Wooley
(Clean Feed)
Wooley / Looney / Smith / Walter
Forsyth, Chris / Wooley, Nate
The Duchess of Oysterville
(Creative Sources)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Lytton, Paul
(Pleasure of the Text Records)
Zorn, John
Price: $14.95

Memorial Day Sale!

Buy 7 new titles, Take 15.00% Off
(checkout price: $12.71)

Buy 6 new titles, Take 14.00% Off
(checkout price: $12.86)

Buy 5 new titles, Take 13.00% Off
(checkout price: $13.01)

Buy 4 new titles, Take 12.00% Off
(checkout price: $13.16)

Buy 3 new titles, Take 11.00% Off
(checkout price: $13.31)

Buy 2 new titles, Take 10.00% Off
(checkout price: $13.45)

In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

Limited edition of 500 copies

UPC: 616892159841

Label: Pleasure of the Text Records
Catalog ID: POTTR - 1301
Squidco Product Code: 18172

Format: 2 CDs
Condition: New
Released: 2013
Country: USA
Packaging: 2 CDs in gatefold cardstock foldover
Recorded at Issue Project Room on March 11th, 2011 and June 6th, 2013.


Nate Wooley-trumpet, amplifier, tape

C. Spencer Yeh-amplified violin

David Grubbs-electric guitar

Chris Corsano-drums

Paul Lytton-drums

Matt Moran-vibraphone

Chris Dingman-vibraphone

Ben Vida-electronics

Ryan Sawyer-drums

Chris McIntyre-trombone

Gareth Flowers-piccolo trumpet

Tim Leopold-trumpet

Chris Dimeglio-trumpet

Jen Baker-trombone

Will Lang-bass trombone

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

CD 1

1. Seven Storey Mountain III 40:05

CD 2

1. Seven Storey Mountain IV 50:03

What are other customers searching for?