The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

A mix of jazz and rock, the 2nd Talking Pictures CD brings Vancouver artists Ron Samworth (guita), Peggy Lee (cello), Bill Clark (trumpet) and Dylan van der Schyff (percussion) into unusual and compelling avant territory.

Talking Pictures
The Mirror with a Memory

Talking Pictures: The Mirror with a Memory (Red Toucan)
Label: Red Toucan    
Released in: Canada    

"Recorded a year after Ciao Bella, The Mirror With a Memory takes the ideas presented in Talking Pictures' first CD and brings them to a fruitful conclusion. Ron Samworth's quartet uses the same recipe of short collective improvisations alternating with avant-garde jazz compositions. This time around, the written pieces tend to include more pockets of improvisation and rely less on tonal heads. The album is therefore less "listener friendly," but gains a stronger artistic proposition, making it the kind of CD one comes back to regularly with ever-renewed pleasure.

"The Real Professionals" is a three-part piece of jazz-rock-gone-free madness, ending on a solid riff in 6/4. It recalls once again the playful avant-garde jazz of Jean Derome et les Dangereux Zhoms and René Lussier's late-'80s/early-'90s projects. On "Drool," guitarist Samworth forays into the classical references made available by Peggy Lee's cello. As on the previous album, most of the compositions are penned by the leader, except for two by trumpeter Bill Clark. His "Ligeti Western" is the unlikely conjunction of the Hungarian composer and Ennio Morricone's worlds. Both camps are represented by cello and trumpet respectively in this tragicomic tour de force. A must-have for the avant-garde jazz fan, The Mirror With a Memory marks the pinnacle of Talking Pictures' creative years, since afterwards the group will only remain active as an interpretation unit, its members pouring their creative forces into their own projects."-François Couture, All Music Guide

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
West Coast/Pacific US Jazz
Vancouver and Western Canada
Quartet Recordings

Search for other titles on the Red Toucan label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Film In Music
Tell Tale
(Drip Audio)
Rose, Simon / Stefan Schultze
The Ten Thousand Things
(Red Toucan)
Sands, The
Beast To Bone
(Self Released)
Spearman's G-Force, Glenn
Let It Go
(Red Toucan)
Houle, Francois Trio
(Red Toucan)
Blur, Rosco
Stable Chaos
(Red Toucan)
Reason, Dana / Peter Valsamis
Border Crossings
(Red Toucan)
Various Artists
Amalgam(e): 10 Years of Red Toucan [2 CDs]
(Red Toucan)
Golia, Vinny Large Ensemble
Overview; 1996-2006 [CD + DVD]
(Nine Winds)
Way Out Northwest
The White Spot - w/John Butcher, Tortsen Mueller and Dylan van der Shyff
(Relative Pitch)
NOW Orchestra, The (with guests George Lewis, Vinny Golia)
Tarry, Chris / Dylan van der Schyff
Leandre / Mitchell / Van Der Schyff
Before After
Wilson, Tony Sextet
Lowest Note
Houle, Viviane
(Drip Audio)
Dark Blue World
The Perilous Beauty of Madness
(Drip Audio)
Cline, Alex
Lee, Peggy Band
New Code
(Drip Audio)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Illegal Crowns (Halvorson / Fujiwara / Delbecq / Ho Bynum)
Illegal Crowns
Houle, Francois / Marilyn Crispell
Any Terrain Tumultuous
(Red Toucan)
Liebig / Vatcher / Golia
On The Cusp Of Fire And Water
(Red Toucan)
Yudanov / Brotzmann / Luoma
Fryed Fruit
(Red Toucan)
SFQ (Simon Fell Quartet)
Four Compositions [2 CDs]
(Red Toucan)
Spontaneous Music Ensemble
Challenge (1966-7)
Perelman, Ivo / Matthew Shipp / William Parker / Gerald Cleaver
Perelman, Ivo / Matt Shipp / Michael Bisio / Whitt Dickey
The Edge
Price: $11.95
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 4.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 777885930721

Label: Red Toucan
Catalog ID: RT 9307-2
Squidco Product Code: 18046

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 1997
Country: Canada
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Recorded on June 16th-18th, 1996 at Say-Watt Studio by Dave Say.


Ron Samworth-guitar, effects

Peggy Lee-cello

Bill Clark-trumpet

Dylan van der Schyff-percussion, tape percussion

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Commercial Free 1:02

2. The Real Professionals 9:52

3. Scratching The Surface 1:02

4. Big Secret 4:06

5. Butch 0:20

6. Cunningham In A Cage 3:45

7. Deep Pocket 8:04

8. NTT 0:31

9. A.M. 7:55

10. Shiny Stockhausen 4:08

11. Drool 11:46

12. Ligeti Western 13:53

13. Drumpets 0:35