The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

A set of songs by Adrienne Pierluissi in a chamber jazz setting with an excellent group of players including Ken Vandermark, Tim Daisy, Rick Reger, Nick Macri and John Dereszynski, joined by Tomeka Reid, Jen Paulson, and the voice of Joe McPhee.

Margots, The (Vandermark / Daisy / McPhee / Reid / &c)

Margots, The (Vandermark / Daisy / McPhee / Reid / &c): Pescado (Okka)
Label: Okka    
Released in: USA    

"New ensemble comprised to develop & record the songs of Adrienne Pierluissi, a contempary painter living in Milwaukee, WI, featuring Ken Vandermark, Nick Macri, Tim Daisy, John Dereszynski, Rick Reger, Joe Mcphee, Tomeka Reid & Jen Paulson. Vandermark called upon his years of experience working with the Dutch group, The Ex, to create his first arrangements for a vocalist, while Dereszynski provided the harmonic foundation for the pieces, which can be considered a song cycle, inspired by the likes of Robert Wyatt & various tropicalia from Brazil."-Okka

Read more about this item
The Squid
At The Squid's Ear!

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Song Based Music
Chicago Jazz & Improvisation
Ken Vandermark
Joe McPhee

Search for other titles on the Okka label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Margots, The
Pictures Of Us
Made to Break
Cherchez la Femme [VINYL]
(Trost Records)
Daisy, Tim Trio
A Fine Day In Berlin
(Relay Records)
McPhee, Joe / Paal Nilssen-Love
Red Sky
Vandermark's, Ken Topology Nonet w/ Joe McPhee
Impressions of Po Music
Mitchell, Roscoe & Nicole Mitchell's Black Earth Ensemble
Three Compositions - Live At Sant'anna Arresi
Fournier / Mitchell / Taylor / Reid / Santacruz
Living By Lanterns
New Myth/Old Science
Braxton, Anthony
Trillium E
(New Braxton House)
Mitchell, Nicole Black Earth Ensemble's
Xenogenesis Suite
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Frame Quartet (Vandermark / Daisy / Lonberg-Holm / McBride)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Brotzmann / Adasiewicz / Edwards / Noble
Mental Shake
Mecha Fixes Clock
Beau Comme un Aeroport
(Tour de Bras)
Evans, Charles
(Hot Cup Records)
Doneda, Michel / Joris Ruhl
(Umlaut Records)
Jordan, Kidd & Hamid Drake
A Night in November
(Valid Records)
Various Artists
Amalgam(e): 10 Years of Red Toucan [2 CDs]
(Red Toucan)
Mazurek, Rob Exploding Star Orchestra Featuring Roscoe Mitchell
Matter Anti-Matter, Sixty-Three Moons Of Jupiter & Electronic Works [2 CDs]
Nechustan, Alon
Ritual Fire
(Between the lines)
Vandermark, Ken and Mats Gustafsson
(Corbett vs. Dempsey)
Made to Break
Lacerba [VINYL]
(Clean Feed)
Dahl, Anders & Skogen
(Another Timbre)
McPhee, Joe
Sonic Elements
(Clean Feed)
Rodrigues / Malfatti / Guerreiro
Late Summer [2 CDs]
(Creative Sources)
Spontaneous Music Ensemble
New Surfacing (1978/92)
Price: $14.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

Label: Okka
Catalog ID: od12093
Squidco Product Code: 17941

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2013
Country: USA
Packaging: Cardstock gatefold foldover
Recorded by Bob Weston at Strobe Recording on August 6th-8th, 2012 and at Minbal on January 4th-6th, 2013 in Chicago.


Adrienne Pierluissi-vocals

Tim Daisy-drums, percussion

John Deresynski-guitars

Nick Macri-bass

Rick Reger-keyboards

Ken Vandermark-reeds

Jen Paulson-viola

Tomeka Reid-cello

Joe McPhee-voice

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Into Memory 3:04

2. No Lo Sabía 3:18

3. Grey 1:41

4. Pescado 5:16

5. Mr. Altruistic 3:27

6. April 4:37

7. Black To White 1:50

8. Sword 3:37

9. Love Song 4:14

10. Husbands 5:05

11. Drown 3:15

12. Echoes Of Memory 2:13

13. Anda 2:36