The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Mazurek's sound & visual work presented on CD & DVD explores the idea of the Indra's Net, a continuous and ever-changing reflection of our universe and what is not seen or heard, with Exploding Star Orchestra members, flutist Nicole Mitchell, and the voice of Damon Locks.

Mazurek, Rob
Space Between [CD + DVD]

Mazurek, Rob: Space Between [CD + DVD] (Delmark)
Label: Delmark    
Released in: USA    

"The Space Between is a multi-faceted sound/visual orchestration based on the idea of multiplying forces and the space between these forces. Both macro and micro, this new work (commissioned by Meet the Composer USA) from composer Rob Mazurek and video artist Marianne M. Kim, along with members of Mazurek's Exploding Star Orchestra, pursues the heavens with the idea of the Indra's Net, a continuous reflection of, but always changing reality of, our universe and what is not seen or heard.

Featuring the dynamic flute of Nicole Mitchell, the Wellesian voice of Damon Locks, and stellar contributions from the other members of the Ensemble, along with Marianne M. Kim's multi-layered visual poem. The Space Between represents a step into the direction of sound as vision / vision as sound."-Delmark Records

NTSC; Region Free; DVD audio in PCM stereo, DTS and Dolby 5.1. The DVD also contains the special feature Illumination Drone #17, Rob Mazurek's silent video.

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Chicago Jazz & Improvisation

Search for other titles on the Delmark label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Kowalkowski, Jeff Trio (w/ Harrison Bankhed / Avreaayl Ra)
(New Atlantis)
Mazurek, Rob / Exploding Star Orchestra
Galactic Parables: Volume 1 [2 CDs]
Mazurek, Rob & Black Cube SP (featuring Sao Paulo Underground)
Return The Tides: Ascension Suite And Holy Ghost [VINYL]
Mazurek, Rob
Mother Ode
(Corbett vs. Dempsey)
Chicago Underground Duo
(Northern Spy)
Jackson, Keefe Likely So
A Round Goal
Mazurek, Rob Exploding Star Orchestra Featuring Roscoe Mitchell
Matter Anti-Matter, Sixty-Three Moons Of Jupiter & Electronic Works [2 CDs]
Sao Paulo Underground
Beija Flors Velho E Sujo
Mazurek, Rob
Silver Spines
Mazurek, Rob Pulsar Quartet
Stellar Pulsations
Sao Paulo Underground (Featuring Rob Mazurek)
Tres Cabecas Loucuras
Dixon, Bill
Exploding Star Orchestra
Stars Have Shapes
Ajemian, Jason
Protest Heaven [VINYL]
(482 Music)
Dixon, Bill
Tapestries for Small Orchestra
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Mandarin Movie
Mandarin Movie

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Kang, Eyind
Alastor: The Book Of Angels Volume 21
Deerhoof & Marc Ribot's Ceramic Dog
Split 7-inch [VINYL 7-inch] [RSD RELEASE]
(Northern Spy)
Le Poison Qui Rend Fou (Expanded & Remastered) [2 CDs]
Triskaidekaphobie [expanded and remastered]
Zorn, John; Frisell, Bill; Gnostic Trio
In Lambeth - Visions From The Walled Garden Of William Blake
Laddaga, Reinaldo
Things That A Mutant Needs To Know [BOOK + 2 CDs]
Evans, Charles
(Hot Cup Records)
Stellar Power [VINYL]
New Raspberry Bandits
Little Birds & Big Trucks
Lucas, Gary
(Northern Spy)
Price: $14.45
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

NTSC; Region Free; DVD audio in PCM stereo, DTS and Dolby 5.1. The DVD also contains the special feature Illumination Drone #17, Rob Mazurek's silent video.

UPC: 038153500726

Label: Delmark
Catalog ID: DMK 5007
Squidco Product Code: 17652

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2013
Country: USA
Packaging: CD + DVD in a single Jewel Tray
Recorded at Riverside Studios, Chicago in January 2013 by Todd Carter.


Rob Mazurek-electro acoustic composition, written scores, hidden scores, video scores, cornet, main electronics

Marianne M. Kim-video, choreography, dance

Todd Cxarter-live sound recording, sonic manipulation

Damon Locks-voice, electronics

Nicole Mitchell-flute

Matt Bauder-electronics

Jeff Kowalkowski-piano, electric piano

Carrie Biolo-percussion

Mauricio Takara-electric cavaquinho

Guilherme Granado-sampler

John Herndon-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Vortex 1-5 5:00

2. We Are All One With The Moon And Planets 5:00

3. Only 5:00

4. The Shifting Sequence 5:00

5. Illumination Drone 17 5:00

6. Space Between 5:00

7. Seven Blues 5:00

8. Indra's Net 5:09