The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

The Swedish trio of Mats Gustafsson, Johan Berthling and Andreas Werliin collaborate with twenty-eight prestigious guests to form the Fire! Orchestra, an incredible free-jazz big band.

Fire! Orchestra
Exit! [VINYL]

Fire! Orchestra: Exit! [VINYL] (Rune Grammofon)
Label: Rune Grammofon    
Released in: Norway    

"Fire! is a Swedish trio comprising Mats Gustafsson (The Thing), Johan Berthling (Tape) and drummer Andreas Werliin (Wildbirds & Peacedrums). Fire! is where they go to stretch their instrumental skills and to play outside their comfort zones, or collaborate with prestigious guests (see their previous Rune Grammofon releases You Liked Me Five Minutes Ago [2009], Unreleased? with Jim O'Rourke [2011], and In the Mouth a Hand with Oren Ambarchi ]2012]).

Fire! Orchestra takes the project to the next level: a sonic behemoth comprising 31 members that should be unmanageable, but turns out to possess the elegance and lucidity of the righteous free-jazz big bands of the past. Charlie Haden's Liberation Orchestra. Carla Bley's Escalator Over the Hill. Centipede. Sun Ra's Space Is the Place. Chris McGregor's Brotherhood Of Breath. Freddie Hubbard & Ilhan Mimaroglu's Sing Me a Song of Songmy. All these classic landmarks come to mind as you listen to their monumental Exit!. This album was recorded in January 2012 at the headquarters of Fylkingen, the legendary Stockholm avant-garde music center. But before you go thinking this is an impenetrable free-jazz meltdown, listen again.

"Exit!" follows in these mighty footprints, but it's also an odyssey that takes its own route, with post-rock/Krautrock diversions along the way. There is a way in to Exit!, and the way out is clearly sign-posted. Fire! is all about burning up tradition and blazing new paths and fresh approaches in improvised music -- approaches informed equally by garage punk, electroacoustics and the noise of heavy industry.

Throughout both long halves of "Exit!", Mariam Wallentin and Sofie Jernberg chant ritualistic lyrics written by Arnold de Boer of Dutch avant-rock institution, The Ex. The text, he explains, is about concrete and non-concrete space, "and about the possibility of improvising in actual space, and the ties, ropes and teachers in many online spaces and programs. It's up to the various sorts of fire to define the real, irreal, surreal and unreal." Exit! might be a monotonous monolith of repetitive beats, or a tornado-eye of wild solos, but it has a point to make."-Rune Gammofon

Also available on CD.

See all items in the Vinyl Recordings category

Related Categories of Interest:

Vinyl Releases
Improvised Music
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
Free Improvisation
Mats Gustafsson
Staff Picks & Recommended Items

Search for other titles on the Rune Grammofon label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Gustafsson, Mats / Merzbow / Balazs Pandi / Thurston Moore
Cuts of Guilt, Cuts Deeper [VINYL 2 LPs]
(Rarenoise Records)
Kullhammar / Aalberg / Zetterberg / Mathisen
Basement Sessions Vol. 3 - The Ljubljana Tapes
(Clean Feed)
Angles 9
(Clean Feed)
Moore, Thurston & Mats Gustafsson
Vi Ar Alla Guds Slavar [VINYL]
Without Noticing
(Rune Grammofon)
Kullhammar, Jonas Quartet
Lat Det Vara [VINYL]
(Moserobie Music)
Sandell, Sten
Solid Musik
Fire! Orchestra
(Rune Grammofon)
Fire! with Oren Ambarchi
In The Mouth - A Hand
(Rune Grammofon)
Fire! With Jim O'Rourke
(Rune Grammofon)
Gustafsson, Mats
Needs! [VINYL]
(Dancing Wayang)
Swedish Azz (Gustafsson / Dieb13 / Nordeson / Holmlander / Carlsson)
Jazz Pa Svenska [VINYL]
(Not Two Records)
Live at Glenn Miller Cafe
You Liked Me Five Minutes Ago [CD]
(Rune Grammofon)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Made to Break
Lacerba [VINYL]
(Clean Feed)
Lacy, Steve & Joe McPhee
The Rest [VINYL]
Trzaska, Mikolaj / Olie Brice / Mark Sanders
Riverloam Trio [2 LPs]
Haker-Flaten, Ingebrigt Chicago Sextet
Live From Jazzfest Saalfeleden 2011 [VINYL]
Signal to Noise
Issue #63, Spring 2012
(Signal to Noise)
Price: $22.95
Out of Stock
Special Order
If ordered we
expect to ship within:
4 weeks

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 15.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 7033660031384

Label: Rune Grammofon
Catalog ID: RLP 3138LP
Squidco Product Code: 17176

Format: LP
Condition: New
Released: 2013
Country: Norway
Packaging: Vinyl LP in a Gatefold Sleeve
Recorded on January 13th, 2012 at Fylkingen, Stockholm by Sigge Krantz and Mikael Werliin.


Mariam Wallentin-voice

Emil Svanangen-voice, guitar

Sofia Jernberg-voice

Niklas Barno-trumpet

Magnus Broo-trumpet

Emil Strandberg-trumpet

Mats Aleklint-trombone

Per Ake Holmlander-tuba

Anna Hogberg-alto saxophone

Mats Gustafsson-tenor saxophone, live electronics

Elin Larsson-tenor saxophone

Fredrik Ljungkvist-baritone saxophone, clarinet

Christer Bothe'n-bass clarinet, guimbri

Jonas Kullhammar-bass saxophone

Andreas Soderstrom-guitar

Soren Runolf-guitar

David Stackenas-guitar

Sten Sandell-piano, electronics

Joachim Nordwall-electronics

Tomas Hallonsten-organ

Johan Berthling-electric bass

Joel Grip-bass

Joe Williamson-bass

Dan Berglund-bass

Andreas Werliin-drums

Thomas Mera Gartz-drums

Johan Holmegard-drums

Raymond Strid-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Exit! Part One 19:29

2. Exit! Part Two 24:54