The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

German electroacoustic composer Boris Hegenbart used the exclusive recordings of 19 invited musicians and sound artists to rebuild and reconstruct their music in suprising ways; artists include Fred Frith, David Grubbs, Oren Ambarchi, Felix Kubin, &c. &c.

Hegenbart, Boris & 19 Artists (Frith / Ambarchi / Grubbs / Brandlmary / &c)
Instrumentarium [VINYL 2 LPs]

Hegenbart, Boris & 19 Artists (Frith / Ambarchi / Grubbs / Brandlmary / &c): Instrumentarium [VINYL (God Records)
Label: God Records    
Released in: Austria    

"Eight years ago, Boris Hegenbart began turning his interests in Dub principles into reality and during this period of time, he made his collaborations with (or if you want, he made commissions for) monumental artists, such as Fred Frith (Henry Cow, Art Bears, Skeleton Crew, Naked City, Material, Massacre), David Grubbs (Gastr del Sol, Codeine ), Oren Ambarchi (Burial Chamber Trio, Sunn O)))), Martin Brandlmayr (Radian, Polwechsel), Felix Kubin, Ulrich Krieger (Metal Machine Trio), etc...

The principle was simple: artists did overdub recordings with Hegenbart's material, which would be later transformed, using studio as an instrument, as a typical work process that features 99% history of dub sound. But in this case, dub is only a statement or concept, which means, there are no typical dub trademarks and tools (delay, reverb). This leads to only one result:

This double vinyl master piece, is nothing more then a perfect homogenous collection of so many different personalities at the same place/record. The hardest and the greatest achievement, is to connect all of them into one musical milestone, something that Boris Hegenbart succeeded without highfaluting."-God Records

Also available on CD.

Read more about this item
The Squid
At The Squid's Ear!

See all items in the Vinyl Recordings category

Related Categories of Interest:

Vinyl Recordings
Improvised Music
Various Artists & Compilations
Organized Sound and Sample Based Music

Search for other titles on the God Records label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Ambarchi, Oren vs. Ricardo Villalobos
Hubris Variation [VINYL 12-inch]
(Black Truffle)
Ambarchi, Oren / Stefano Pilia / Massimo Pupillo
Aithein [VINYL]
Hauf / Jackson / Stein / Rosaly / Hess / Hartman
Next Delusion [VINYL]
Krieger, Ulrich
/RAW:ReSpace/ [2 CDS]
(XI Records)
Postmarks (Boris Hauf / D Bayne / Martin Siewert)
National Parks [Vinyl]
Hauf / Heather / Siewert / Weber
The Peeled Eye [VINYL with Download Code]
Ambarchi, Oren & Eli Keszler
Alps [VINYL]
(Dancing Wayang)
Fake the Facts (Dieb13 / Gustafsson / Siewert)
Soundtrack [VINYL]
(Trost Records)
Dieb13 / Gustafsson / Siewert
(Fake) The Facts [VINYL 7-inch]
(Trost Records)
Hegenbart, Boris & 19 Artists (Frith / Ambarchi / Grubbs / Brandlmary / &c)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Sharrock, Linda
No Is No (Don't Fuck Around With Your Women)
(Improvising Beings)
Von Wyl, Luzia Ensemble
Adramelech: The Book Of Angels Volume 22
Nihilist Chakai House [VINYL]
Tank Of Danzig
Not Trendy
(Music a la Coque)
Nu Creative Methods
(Music a la Coque)
Polipnick, Luke Group (Luke / Linz / Wozniak / Pride)
(Eunoria Records)
Lindsay, Arto & Paal Nilssen-Love
Scarcity [VINYL]
Derome, Jean / Malcolm Goldstein / Rainer Wiens
6 Improvisations
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Kullhammar / Aalberg / Zetterberg
Basement Sessions Vol. 2
(Clean Feed)
Davis, Matt / Phil Durrant / Mark Wastell
Confront Collectors Series
YAPP (Brian Rogers / Alban Bailly / Matt Engle / David Flaherty)
Symbolic Heads [VINYL]
East-West Collective (Petit / Ochs / Masaoka / Fengxia / Kassap)
Tchicai / McBee / Fewell / Kohlhase / Hart
Tribal Ghost [VINYL]
VCDC (Motland / Lonberg-Holm / Solberg / Gjerstad)
Nechustan, Alon
Ritual Fire
(Between the lines)
Price: $21.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 18.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:


Label: God Records
Catalog ID: GOD 09
Squidco Product Code: 17085

Format: LP
Condition: New
Released: 2012
Country: Austria
Packaging: 2 LPs in a Gatefold Sleeve
Mastered by Rashad Becker.


Boris Hegenbart-composer

Michael Vorfeld-percussion

Martin Siewert-guitar

Stephan Mathieu-drums

David Grubbs-tenor banjo

Jan Thoben-drums

Bernhard Gunter-electric cellotar

Sascha Demand-guitar

Hannes Strobl-bass, drums

Hanno Leichtmann-bass, drums

Oren Ambarchi-vocals, guitars, organ, bells, percussion, motorized cymbal

Marc Weiser-guitar, whistle

Martin Brandlmayr-drums

Christophe Charles-violin, stones, guitar, vocoder

Ed Osborn-guitar

Felix Kubin-electronic organ

F.S. Blumm-guitar

Boris Hauf-rhodes

Ulrich Krieger-saxophone

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:


01. Boris Hegenbart & Michael Vorfeld (percussion) - m ginger v

02. Boris Hegenbart & Martin Siewert (guitar) - m makrobe s

03. Boris Hegenbart & Stephan Mathieu (drums) - s anode m

04. Boris Hegenbart & David Grubbs (tenor banjo) - d hermetik g


05. Boris Hegenbart & Jan Thoben (drums) - j gespog t

06. Boris Hegenbart & Bernhard Günter (electric cellotar) - b hermetik g

07. Boris Hegenbart & Sascha Demand (guitar) - s snooze d

08. Boris Hegenbart & Fred Frith (guitar) - f makrobe f


09. Boris Hegenbart & Hannes Strobl & Hanno Leichtmann (bass&drums) - h snooze h

10. Boris Hegenbart & Oren Ambarchi (vocals, guitars, bells, organ, percussion, motorized cymbal) - o feld a

11. Boris Hegenbart & Marc Weiser (guitar, whistle) - m makrobe w

12. Boris Hegenbart & Martin Brandlmayr (drums) - m makrobe b


13. Boris Hegenbart & Christophe Charles (violin&stones&guitar&vocoder) - c smip c

14. Boris Hegenbart & Ed Osborn (guitar) - e feld o

15. Boris Hegenbart & Felix Kubin (Electronic Organ) - f ink k

16. Boris Hegenbart & F.S.Blumm (guitar) - f frh b

17. Boris Hegenbart & Boris Hauf (Rhodes) - b crockl h

18. Boris Hegenbart & Ulrich Krieger (saxophone) - u anode k