The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

Ahleuchatistas, a duo of Shane Perlowin (guitar, bass) and Ryan Oslance (drums), merges aspects of punk rock, jazz, classical, electronic, folk and more in detailed composition that still allows room for improvisation.

Heads Full Of Poison

Ahleuchatistas: Heads Full Of Poison (Cuneiform)
Label: Cuneiform    
Released in: USA    

"Since emerging from their home base of Asheville, NC in 2003, Ahleuchatistas have consistently been one of the most exciting and stimulating live music experiences out there. They belong to the beyond-category sector of such iconic, genre-flouting combos as John Zorn's Naked City, Captain Beefheart's Magic Band, Swans, Tortoise, and Sun City Girls. A duo armed only with guitar, bass, and drums, Ahleuchatistas combine wicked precision with intense abandon, droll humor with analytical construction, and a sly gregariousness with uncompromising vision. This pair interweaves elements of punk rock, jazz, classical music, speed metal, grindcore, progressive rock, noise, folk musics from Asia and North Africa, electronic music, and ambient aesthetics, along with volatile, unpredictable improvisation, flowing organically in a virtual world of their own.

With a devoted international cult following, Ahleuchatistas is considered by many to be one of the most innovative and ever-developing instrumental groups of the past decade. Cerebral but never ponderous, Ahleuchatistas make immediate music that reaches for the mind, heart, and gut. Their music involves sensitive acumen and interplay in a music that has a powerful rock roar, but also passages of loveliness.

On their seventh album and third for Cuneiform, Ahleuchatistas' Heads Full of Poison is a sonic brew that reveals new flavors, new spices with every aural taste. Now a duo of charter member Shane Perlowin (guitar and bass) and Ryan Oslance (drums), Heads Full of Poison was developed over a two year period, road-tested and honed with numerous performances, including nearly 100 in Europe. The music was altered, edited, and embellished at nearly every gig with improvisational possibilities explored at length. The music combines highly detailed composition with a looseness that encourages a range of interpretation. Each track was recorded live in the studio. Oslance performed all the drums and percussion live with zero overdubs. Perlowin produced the various guitars and bass tracks to impart the richness and detail of a conceptualized studio album, but the basic tracks are performed live. By the time of the recording in January and February 2012, the music had been given ample time to ferment, so the performances captured are as close to perfection as possible, with technical hurdles surmounted, the sonic palette settled upon, each note and beat executed confidently and with nuance."-Cuneiform

Read more about this item
The Squid
At The Squid's Ear!

Related Categories of Interest:

Rock and Related
Progressive Rock

Search for other titles on the Cuneiform label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Perlowin, Shane / Jacob Wick
(Prom Night Records)
Bjorkenheim, Raoul / eCsTaSy
Nakatani / Perlowin
Anatomy of a Moment
Change Becomes Us
(Cargo UK)
Robinson, Jason
Tiresian Symmetry
Redfearn, Alec K. and The Eyesores
Sister Death
Sao Paulo Underground (Featuring Rob Mazurek)
Tres Cabecas Loucuras
Highly Publicized Digital Boxing Match
After The Air Raid
Smith, Wadada Leo
Spiritual Dimensions

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Nakatani, Tatsuya
Present Presence
Without Noticing
(Rune Grammofon)
Dunmall / Hanslip / Gibbs / Ricart
Weeping Idols
Dunmall / Sanders / Thomas
Descent III
Cady, Jason
Happiness Is The Problem
(Lock Step Records)
Platz / Demos / Delvo / McLellan
Differential Equations
(Skycap Records)
Kidney Brothers
Coal Tatoo
(Recommended Records)
Pride, Mike
Drummer's Corpse
(Aum Fidelity)
Dunmall, Paul / Philip Gibbs
Ezramo / Robair / Fenech / Buchler feat. Argo Ulva
Fields, Scott
Five Frozen Eggs
(Clean Feed)
Dunmall / Wooster / Sanders / Mapp
The Iceberg Quartet
Toral, Rafael / Davu Seru
Live in Minneapolis
(Clean Feed)
Hall, Rob / Chick Lyall
Blithe Spirit
Draper, Dave / Ntshuks Bonga
Snow in November
Schubert, Frank Paul and Matthias Muller
Price: $14.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 0457750034720

Label: Cuneiform
Catalog ID: Rune 347
Squidco Product Code: 16872

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2012
Country: USA
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Recorded and mixed by Patrick Kukucka and Ahleuchatistas January 27th -February 6th, 2012.


Shane Perlowin-guitar, bass

Ryan Oslance-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Vanished 2:56

2. Future Trauma 7:08

3. Heads Full Of Poison 16:12

4. Lighted Stairs 2:59

5. Wisps 6:27

6. Requiem For The Sea 6:46

7. A Way Out 3:02

8. A Trap Has Been Set 7:24

9. Starved March 5:21