The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

This third release from the Psychotic Quartet is composed of an unnerving set of improvised pieces from twisting microtonal lines to strained dynamic drones which reflect the strange nature of the fungus from which the album draws its name.

Psychotic Quartet
Cordyceps [CASSETTE]

Psychotic Quartet: Cordyceps [CASSETTE] (New Atlantis)
Label: New Atlantis    
Released in: USA    

"Cordyceps is the third release from the Psychotic Quartet, recorded over the course of a tour in fall 2011. The Psychotic Quartet is made of four musicians who have made homes in a wide array of genres, who use the band to explore the darker sides of their individual sonic vocabularies. The subject of the album title provides an apt setting for the group's volatile improvisations: Cordyceps is a genus of fungi in which each species of the genus targets a specific insect or other arthropod, and then eats the host from the inside. The fungus eventually completely replaces the host tissue. When mature, the fruiting bodies of Cordyceps literally burst from the head or other parts of the remains of the host. The unsettling combinations of sounds that make up these improvised pieces, from twisting microtonal lines to strained dynamic drones, resonate with the bizarre nature and disgusting beauty of these organisms, while expanding the lexicon of free music. Renowned mushroom expert Daniel Winkler contributed the many photos of Cordyceps that grace the album. Trombonist Dan Blacksberg makes his home equally in experimental music and in traditional klezmer, co-leading the new music group Archer Spade, performing with free jazz legends Anthony Braxton and Joe Morris, and regularly appearing with klezmer musicians Frank London and Alan Bern. Violinist Katt Hernandez draws her fiery array of electronic-like sounds and keening melodies from her work with microtonality, inspired by folk musics from Turkey, the Balkans and her extensive study with Joe Maneri. Thurston Moore says that "Katt plays in a style that flies through the valley separating new music and free jazz, like a hive of cunning bees." Bassist Evan Lipson plays with experimental rock bands Satanized and Normal Love, and has performed with Jack Wright, Nate Wooley and Weasel Walter. Percussionist Michael Evans embraces the collision of sound and theatrics, whether working with jazz groups or in performance with dancers. His work with unusual sound sources such as found objects, homemade instruments, and various digital and homemade analog electronics creates many of the unstable textures that underlie the band's music. Scott Scholz of Killed in Cars says of the group: "The music breathes with the kind of control many groups can only get through composition, but this is what you can achieve when you put four virtuosos who all have their own compositional chops together: cooperation truly equals instant composition." Cordyceps is the third release in New Atlantis Records cassette series. Lovers of out sounds take note!"-New Atlantis

See all items in the Cassette category

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Quartet Recordings

Search for other titles on the New Atlantis label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Boxhead Ensemble
La Hora Magica [CASSETTE with download code]
(Astral Spirits)
Hyrrokkin (Ed Ricart, Larkowski, Nagafuchi)
Pristine Origin [VINYL + REMIX CD]
(New Atlantis)
Seabrook, Brandon
Sylphid Vitalizers [VINYL]
(New Atlantis)
Haitian Rail (Ed Ricart, Nick Millevoi, Dan Blacksberg, Kevin Shea)
(New Atlantis)
Beeferman, Gordon Trio (w/ James Ilgenfritz, Michael Evans)
Out In Here
(OutNow Recordings)
New Atlantis Octet
Unto the Sun
(Not Two Records)
Dynamite Club
Fusion Era
5678765 [CASSETTE]
(New Atlantis)
Ajemian & the HighLife, Jason
Riding the Light into the Bird's Eye
(Sundmagi Records)
Matta Gawa
(New Atlantis)
Infinite Teeth [VINYL]
(New Atlantis)
Joy Mega
Forever is Something Inside You
(New Atlantis)
Evans, Michael / Arnal, Jeff

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Kahn, Jason / Tim Olive
Fukuoka / Osaka [CASSETTE + download]
(Notice Recordings)
Hag with Dan
(Prom Night Records)
Gate, The
Chuck [CASSETTE with download code]
(Astral Spirits)
Taco Bells w/Pekka Airaksinen
S/T [CASSETTE with download code]
(Astral Spirits)
Street Priest
More Nasty [CASSETTE]
Ligeia Mare
(Ligeia Mare)
Green, Craig + Dave King
(Long Song Records)
Borisov, Alexei / Olga Nosova / Dave Phillips
Dresser, Mark
Sonic Brotherhood: DTFP by Five - Israel 2009
Horvey, Amy
Bailey, Derek
Barcelona Chronicles: All Thumbs [DVD]
4 Corners
Alive In Lisbon [DVD]
(Clean Feed)
Price: $5.95
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

Label: New Atlantis
Catalog ID: NA-CAS-003
Squidco Product Code: 16784

Condition: New
Released: 2012
Country: USA
Packaging: Cassette
Recorded in Fall of 2011.


Dan Blacksberg-trombone

Katt Hernandez-violin

Evan Lipson-bass

Michael Evans-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:


Ophio Sinesis 12:05

2. Yeast Stages 5:30

3. Ascomata 8:15


4. Devouring Mycelium 23:12