The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

Joy Mega

Forever is Something Inside You

Joy Mega: Forever is Something Inside You (New Atlantis)

Joy Mega is a group of outstanding NYC avant-jazz artists led by bassist and vocalist Jason Ajemian who has created a unique album of melodic free jazz pop songs that challenges the constraint of genres.

Price: $9.95


Squidco Memorial Day 2017 Sale!

Buy 1 or more item(s) from the sale, Take 8.00% Off
(checkout price: $9.15)

Buy 3 or more item(s) from the sale, Take 15.00% Off
(checkout price: $8.46)

In Stock

Shipping Weight: 3.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Log In to use our Wish List
product information:

UPC: 613285854529

Label: New Atlantis
Catalog ID: NA-CD-005
Squidco Product Code: 16782

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2012
Country: USA
Packaging: Jewel Tray


Jason Ajemian-bass, vocals

Matthew Bauder-saxophone

Mary Halvorson-guitar

Jessica Pavone-viola

Chad Taylor-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search
track listing:

1. Deeds / Belief

2. Little Rain / Big Story

3. Slow Bird

4. Big Sky #5

5. A Glance Shifts

6. No Shout

7. Tomar Sol

8. Pleasure Fountaints

9. We Are Place

10. 100 Rainy Days

11. I'm In Love With A Navajo Boy

12. Kocham Las [I Love The Forest]

13. Aging

14. Leaves Rainbow

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Melodic and Lyrical Jazz
Quintet Recordings

sample the album:

descriptions, reviews, &c.

"Joy Mega is a group comprised of the crème (aka butter) of the NYC avant-jazz underground, realizing a set of coruscating, transcendent, cosmic pop music penned by bassist and vocalist, Jason Ajemian.

Jason is widely known for his work with kin within the world of skewed, creative pop music. He's racked credits with Josephine Foster in Born Heller, Hush Arbors, Helado Negro, and perhaps most recently, backing Devendra Banhart at the Governor's Ball NYC. He also boasts a rep as a heavyweight improvisor, having worked in Marc Ribot's Sun Ship, Matana Robert's CoinCoin, Rob Mazurek's Chicago Underground Trio and Exploding Star Orchestra, and many more.

The contrasts and points of intersection between these seemingly separate musical orbits have made for some great music thus far. His efforts as a leader (three releases from his quintet, Jason Ajemian & the HighLife, on New Atlantis Records, and Smokeless Heat, a jazz record released in 2008 on Delmark, among many others) further emphasize this duality, and Forever is Something Inside You, Joy Mega's New Atlantis debut, is no different- a fresh distillation of a strong spirit in the American creative music underground.

Ajemian brought Joy Mega together in 2007, to explore the possibilities presented by incorporating vocals into an improvising ensemble- an idea which, for the most part, marks a departure from established convention in the improvised music community. Having recently relocated to New York City from Chicago, the group encompasses players from both cities. Saxophonist Matthew Bauder and drummer Chad Taylor now live in New York, but are old friends + collaborators from his days in Chicago. Guitarist Mary Halvorson and violinist Jessica Pavone, both known within their home of New York and beyond, are a perfect match for the group's expansive sound. The arrangements leave ample room for melodic exploration. Songs expand and contract, each voice breathing in additional layers of lush melody.

Forever is Something Inside You traverses a tremendous breadth of stylistic ground, challenging the constraints of 'genre' music and offering a new noise in the process."-New Atlantis

Artist Biographies:

"One of improvised music's most in-demand guitarists, Mary Halvorson has been active in New York since 2002, following jazz studies at Wesleyan University and the New School. Critics have called her "a singular talent" (Lloyd Sachs, JazzTimes), "NYC's least-predictable improviser" (Howard Mandel, City Arts), "one of the most exciting and original guitarists in jazz-or otherwise" (Steve Dollar, Wall Street Journal), and "one of today's most formidable bandleaders" (Francis Davis, Village Voice). The Philadelphia City Paper's Shaun Brady adds, "Halvorson has been steadily reshaping the sound of jazz guitar in recent years with her elastic, sometimes-fluid, sometimes-shredding, wholly unique style."

After three years of study with visionary composer and saxophonist Anthony Braxton, Ms. Halvorson became an active member of several of his bands, including his trio, septet and 12+1tet. To date, she appears on six of Mr. Braxton's recordings. Ms. Halvorson has also performed alongside iconic guitarist Marc Ribot, in his bands Sun Ship and The Young Philadelphians, and with the bassist Trevor Dunn in his Trio-Convulsant. Over the past decade she has worked with such diverse bandleaders as Tim Berne, Taylor Ho Bynum, Tomas Fujiwara, Ingrid Laubrock, Myra Melford, Jason Moran, Joe Morris, Tom Rainey and Mike Reed.

As a bandleader and composer, one of Ms. Halvorson's primary outlets is her longstanding trio, featuring bassist John Hébert and drummer Ches Smith. Since their 2008 debut album, Dragon's Head, the band has been recognized as a rising star jazz band by Downbeat Magazine for five consecutive years. Ms. Halvorson's quintet, which adds trumpeter Jonathan Finlayson and alto saxophonist Jon Irabagon to the trio, has released two critically acclaimed albums on the Firehouse 12 label: Saturn Sings and Bending Bridges. Most recently she has added two additional band members-tenor saxophonist Ingrid Laubrock and trombonist Jacob Garchik-to form a septet, featured on her 2013 release Illusionary Sea. Ms. Halvorson also co-leads a longstanding chamber-jazz duo with violist Jessica Pavone, the avant-rock band People and the collective ensembles Thumbscrew and Secret Keeper."

-Mary Halvorson Website (

Other Releases With These Artists:
Recommended & Related Releases:
Halvorson, Mary Octet
Away With You
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Braxton, Anthony
3 Compositions (EEMHM) 2011 [3 CDs]
(Braxton House/Firehouse 12 Records)
Halvorson, Mary
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Halvorson, Mary
Reverse Blue
(Relative Pitch)
Bynum, Taylor Ho
Navigation (Possibility Abstracts X & XI) [VINYL 2 LPs]
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Cady, Jason
Happiness Is The Problem
(Lock Step Records)
Halvorson, Mary / Kirk Knuffke / Matt Wilson
(Relative Pitch)
Halvorson, Mary
Bending Bridges [2 VINYL LPs]
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Halvorson / Evans / Walter
Mechanical Malfunction
(Thirsty Ear)
Morris, Joe
Perpetual Frontier The Properties of Free Music [BOOK]
(Riti Publishing)
Bynum Sextet, Taylor Ho
Apparent Distance
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Walter / Halvorson / Evans
Electric Fruit
(Thirsty Ear)
Bynum, Taylor Ho Sextet
The Middle Picture
(Firehouse 12 Records)
MAP (Halvorson / Nakatani / Radding)
Fever Dream [VINYL]
Halvorson Trio, Mary
Dragon's Head
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Halvorson / Radding / Wooley
Bynum, Taylor Ho Sextet
Asphalt Flowers Forking Paths
Braxton, Anthony
Trio (Victoriaville) 2007
(Les Disques Victo)
Braxton, Anthony
9 Compositions (Iridium) 2006 [DVD]
(Firehouse 12 Records)
New York Underground Orchestra, The
(Hopscotch Records)
Other Recommended Releases:
Pavone, Jessica
Silent Spills
(Relative Pitch)
Webster, Colin + Mark Holub
(New Atlantis)
Seabrook, Brandon
Sylphid Vitalizers [VINYL]
(New Atlantis)
Ricart, Edward Quartet + Paul Dunmall
(New Atlantis)
Ajemian, Jason
New Atlantis Octet
Unto the Sun
(Not Two Records)

Search for other titles on the New Atlantis label.