The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Bringing together pianist Thollem McDonas, Minuteman bassist Mike Watts, NY's Quakebasket percussionist Tim Barnes, and Bungles/Deerhoof guitarist John Dieterich for an open-minded and uniquely diverse rock record.

Hand to Man Band, The
You Are Always on Our Minds [YELLOW VINYL]

Hand to Man Band, The: You Are Always on Our Minds [YELLOW VINYL] (Post Consumer)
Label: Post Consumer    
Released in: USA    

"Veering between the tightly woven and the completely unhinged, trading deep gulfs of ponderous melancholy with gentle, fractured pop fairytales, The Hand To Man Band keeps the listener guessing without ever completely abandoning their own special brand of earthy hall-of-mirrors music. The internal/external dialogues set up by the band evoke train dreams, the open road, and the warmth and familiarity of a bed at home. They travel from psychotropic jazz to konked-out funk to skronked-out dirges to alien transmissions to plaintive nocturnal pleas, sometimes in the course of a single tune. These songs contradict and then coalesce before arriving finally as an unexpected gift, a measured unit, a fully formed whole. When that happens, that razor's edge shift from near-chaos to strength, power and beauty, hold on tight, listen, because it is truly something to behold.

Opening track 'Forces Conspiring' welcomes listeners with a bloodshot ghost-choir floating lightly en masse over a bed of bucolic memories strummed, plucked and plinked by the band - the air is not quite heavy tonight and it feels good to breathe. "We Learned the Unreasoning' is what it sounds like when your favorite weird uncle shows up unannounced with a dose of the clap, a limp, and a bottle of something or other, and all he wants to do is sit on the front porch and have a time. That same uncle taught you how to play guitar; you oblige. The lovely, shambolic 'The Down Moveables' ebbs and flows through shallows and driftwood before upping the tension and lighting out on some crazy moonlit steeplechase through an abandoned amusement park down by the river. Other highlights include 'Us All Konked,' 'Voice Thrower,' and 'They Pretty Right,' but truth be told, there's not a clunker among them."-Post Consumer Records

Also available on CD.

Virgin vinyl pressing, limited edition color vinyl edition.

See all items in the Vinyl Recordings category

Related Categories of Interest:

Vinyl Recordings

Rock and Related
Improvised Rock
Song Based Music

Search for other titles on the Post Consumer label.

Other Recommended Releases:
McDonas, Thollem / Mad King Edmund
Happening: A Movement In 12 Acts
Scarcity Of Tanks
Ringleader Of Lies
(Total Life Society Records)
Thollem / Oliveros / Cline
Molecular Affinity [VINYL + DOWNLOAD]
Jerman / Barnes
Versatile Ambience [VINYL]
(IDEA Intermedia)
Jerman / Barnes
Bishop, Sir Richard / Ava Mendoza
Ivory Tower (Hanuman) [VINYL]
Ligeti, Lukas / Thollem Mcdonas
Imaginary Images
Thollem / Wimberly / Cline
Radical Empathy
(Relative Pitch)
Jerman, Jeph / Tim Barnes
Thollem + Chase
Dub Narcotic Session
(New Atlantis)
Impulsive Machinations (Thollem McDonas + Sara Lund)
Conformity Contortion
(New Atlantis)
Read Between The Lines...Think Outside Them
(Post Consumer)
Bad News From Houston (McDonas / Dieterich)
In The Valley Of The Cloud Builder
(Post Consumer)
Estamos Trio
People's Historia
(Relative Pitch)
Thollem / Rivera
I'll Meet You Halfway Out In The Middle Of It All

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Made to Break
Cherchez la Femme [VINYL]
(Trost Records)
N.E.W. (Noble / Edwards / Ward)
Motion [VINYL]
(Dancing Wayang)
Lane, Adam / Darius Jones / Vijay Anderson
Absolute Horizon
Kullhammar, Jonas Quartet
Lat Det Vara [VINYL]
(Moserobie Music)
Halvorson, Mary / Kirk Knuffke / Matt Wilson
(Relative Pitch)
Full Blast & Friends
Sketches & Ballads [VINYL]
(Trost Records)
Forsyth, Chris / Wooley, Nate
The Duchess of Oysterville
(Creative Sources)
Lehman, Steve
Demian as Posthuman
(Pi Recordings)
Price: $16.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 16.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

Virgin vinyl pressing, limited edition color vinyl edition.

UPC: 0857125003016

Label: Post Consumer
Catalog ID: PCR 3 LP
Squidco Product Code: 16754

Format: LP
Condition: New
Released: 2012
Country: USA
Packaging: Vinyl 12" LP
Recorded at Post-Consumer in Austin, TX on August 23rd-25th, 2010 by Nicholas Taplin.


Tim Barnes-drums

John Dieterich-guitar

Thollem McDonas-piano

Mike Watt-bass

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:


1. Forces Conspiring 2:52

2. Before Our Eyes Arrived 3:11

3. We Learned the Unreasoning 2:04

4. Thinks This 1:25

5. Buoy Buoy 0:21

6. They Pretty Right. 2:42

7. First Shallows 2:44

8. Occasional Cracker. 3:40

9. All Us Konked 1:42


10. Farces Perspiring 3:24

11. Semina System 2:01

12. The Down Moveables 3:28

13. Voice Thrower 3:51

14. Be The Same 0:59

15. Thin Incision Split Decision. 1:02

16. Slow Choirds 2:12

17. We've Got A Long Ways To Go We're Almost There 3:35