The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

The debut recording by Chicago-based clarinetist/composer James Falzone's quartet, KLANG with vibraphonist Jason Adasiewicz, bassist Jason Roebke and drummer Tim Daisy, drawing on influences including Jimmy Giuffre's early small groups.

Tea Music

KLANG: Tea Music (Allos Musica)
Label: Allos Musica    
Released in: USA    

"Tea Music is the debut studio recording by Chicago-based clarinetist/composer James Falzone's three year-old working quartet, KLANG. Falzone, vibraphonist Jason Adasiewicz, bassist Jason Roebke and drummer Tim Daisy all compose for the group, which picks up the swing era thread of pairing clarinet and vibes, while also exploring its collective interest in the innovative sounds of Jimmy Giuffre's early small groups of the mid-1950's.

"Klang is the German word for sound or sonority," Falzone explains, "and I often think of the sound of something, whether that be a group, a composition or a musician, before anything else. The mixing of vibes and clarinet is a sound explored famously by Benny Goodman and Lionel Hampton in the pre-bop era, and then taken up again by Eric Dolphy and Bobby Hutcherson. There is something in the acoustic make-up of the two instruments that allows them to blend well."

"As for the Giuffre connection," he adds, "I've always been taken with his early groups, before the trios with Jim Hall and Bob Brookmeyer, and well before the trios with Paul Bley and Steve Swallow, though I love those trios, too. And, his unique approach to his instrument has fascinated, confused and delighted me beyond explanation since I heard The Jimmy Giuffre Clarinet at 12 years old. The guys in KLANG are all as into him as I am - everyone here in Chicago is, actually."-Allos Musica

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Chicago Jazz & Improvisation
Quartet Recordings

Search for other titles on the Allos Musica label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Roebke, Jason
Every Sunday
(Clean Feed)
Adasiewicz's, Jason Sun Rooms
From The Region
Brotzmann / Adasiewicz / Edwards / Noble
Mental Shake
Daisy, Tim Trio
A Fine Day In Berlin
(Relay Records)
Roebke, Jason / Tobias Delius
(Not Two Records)
Rosaly, Frank
Cicada Music
Giallorenzo, Paul Trio featuring Ingebrigt Haker Flaten and Tim Daisy
Pg3 IHF & tD
(Not Two Records)
Riordan Quartet, Marc
(Club Nerodia)
Falzone, James Allos Musica
The Sign and the Thing Signified
(Allos Musica)
Brooklyn Lines...Chicago Spaces
(Allos Musica)
Other Doors
(Allos Musica)
Falzone, James Allos Musica
(Allos Musica)
Haker-Flaten, Ingebrigt Chicago Sextet
Live From Jazzfest Saalfeleden 2011 [VINYL]
Reed, Mike People, Places & Things,
Clean on the Corner
(482 Music)
Sao Paulo Underground (Featuring Rob Mazurek)
Tres Cabecas Loucuras
Arrive: Shelton / Adasiewicz / Roebke / Daisy
There Was
(Clean Feed)
Adasiewicz, Jason
Sun Rooms
Jackson, Keefe Quartet
Seeing You See
(Clean Feed)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
PAK & Ron Anderson / Nonoko Yoshida / Tatsuya Yoshida
Gray / Hobbs / Hostetter / Braman
Lawnmower II
(Clean Feed)
Amado, Rodrigo / Mota / Faustino / Ferrandini
Wire Quartet
(Clean Feed)
Donarier's, Matthieu / Albert van Veenendaal's Planetarium
The Visible Ones
(Clean Feed)
Revis, Eric / Taylor / McHenry / Jones / Branford Marsalis
In Memory of Things Yet Seen
(Clean Feed)
Kesten, Christian & Mark Trayle / Annette Krebs
Berlin series No. 2
(Another Timbre)
Iddon, Martin
(Another Timbre)
Partial (Noe Cuellar and Joseph Clayton Mills)
(Another Timbre)
Price: $13.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 700261263700

Label: Allos Musica
Catalog ID: AD 003
Squidco Product Code: 16711

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2009
Country: USA
Packaging: Cardboard Gatefold Foldover
Recorded on August 20th, 2007 at Strobe Studios in Chicago, IL by Todd Carter.


James Falzone-clarinet

Jason Adasiewicz-vibraphone

Jason Roebke-bass

Tim Daisy-drums, percussion

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. G.F.O.P. 3:18

2. Fickle 5:16

3. Lament on Ash Wednesday 4:36

4. Oolong with Multiplicity 5:42

5. No Milk 2:12

6. Giants 4:16

7. #32 Busonius 4:02

8. Klang 4:19

9. Dwarfs 5:35

10. Last Love Song 3:02

11. China Black 5:20

12. Klang...reprise 1:39