The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

With a new sound, Astrakan has re-formed, adding bass guitarist Jeff Spencer as well as keyboardist and unique vocalist Celia Lu to the band, while still combining composition and improvisation with a focus on superb instrumental solos.

Comets and Monsters

Astrakan: Comets and Monsters (Jaguar Steps)
Label: Jaguar Steps    
Released in: Great Britain    

"Recorded at Faraday Studios, South London in November 2011, this is the second album by the London band Astrakan. Following the departure of their founder Michael Garcia at the end of 2010, the band spent the first part of 2011 re-assessing its direction and was joined in the Spring by Celia Lu on keyboards and vocals and Jeff Spencer on bass guitar. The lineup here consists of Celia Lu (keys/vocals), Raymond Hardy (saxes, flute, keys), Jerry Wigens (guitar/clarinet), Jeff Spencer (bass guitar), Dave Fowler (drums) with Kasia Kuchnicka adding trombone on two tracks. The music remains a combination of structured and improvised forms with ample room for charged, expressive solos. And of course, the introduction of the unique vocal presence of Celia Lu has given the music a fresh new ambience and connective angle. The individual members of the band have varied backgrounds in the rock, jazz and contemporary music fields, and are not only accomplished improvisers but also contribute composed material to the band's growing repertoire."-Jaguar Steps

Related Categories of Interest:

Rock and Related
Improvised Rock
Improvised Music
Progressive Rock
Progressive Rock
Song Based Music

Search for other titles on the Jaguar Steps label.

Recommended & Related Releases:
Price: $7.00
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 0609788656951

Label: Jaguar Steps
Catalog ID: JAST 02
Squidco Product Code: 16457

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2012
Country: Great Britain
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Recorded at Faraday Studios, Charlton, London by Rhys Barker and Paul Castle.


Celia Lu-keyboards, vocals

Raymond Hardy-tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, flute, keyboards

Jerry Wigens-guitar, clarinet

Jeff Spencer-bass guitar

Dave Fowler-drums

Kasia Kuchnicka-trombone

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. The Giver You Get 3:37

2. Overflooded 5:51

3. Spell 4:25

4. Blink and Miss 7:10

5. Slam Dunk 8:09

6. Soapstrop 4:33

7. Underground 7:41

8. Broadbanned 3:48

9. Comets and Monsters 6:52

Other Releases
With These Artists: