The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

The second recording from drummer Tomas Fujiwara & The Hook Up with Jonathan Finlayson on trumpet, Brian Settles on tenor saxophone, Mary Halvorson on guitar, and now Trevor Dunn on bass.

Fujiwara, Tomas & The Hook Up
The Air is Different

Fujiwara, Tomas & The Hook Up: The Air is Different (482 Music)
Label: 482 Music    
Released in: USA    

"The Air is Different is the second recording from Tomas Fujiwara & The Hook Up. The group includes the leader/composer on drums, Jonathan Finlayson on trumpet, Brian Settles on tenor saxophone, Mary Halvorson on guitar, and now Trevor Dunn on bass. While all of the performers are highly acclaimed and virtuosic soloists, this is an album that prizes the richly satisfying rewards of an ensemble sound over individual pyrotechnics. Shaped by the thoughtful constructions of Fujiwara's compositions and driven by his subtly expressive drumming, the music blurs the line between composition and improvisation, effortlessly celebrating a diverse stew of influences (from Wayne Shorter to Talib Kweli, from Fela Kuti to author Haruki Murakami) while demonstrating no uncertainty about its own powerfully distinct identity.

An actively working ensemble since 2008, their first recording, Actionspeak, was named one of the best debuts of 2010 by the New York City Jazz Record and received a four-star review in Downbeat. Jim Macnie of The Village Voice says, "The drummer has named his latest band appropriately. Ensembles can go anywhere if the intra-group chemistry is cooking...Fujiwara sounds like he's got his mates on speed dial." Reviewing a 2010 performance in The New York Times, Nate Chinen writes, "Insightful, with a history, smartly informed and firmly moored. Yet its basic feeling was contemporary. Mr. Fujiwara composes with a modern ear and an episodic approach: his tunes begin in one place and end someplace else, mutating in stages along the way." "-482 Music

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Quintet Recordings

Search for other titles on the 482 Music label.

Other Recommended Releases:
BOLT (Dijkstra / Fujiwara / Rosenthal / Hofbauer)
(Driff Records)
Lehman, Steve Octet
Mise En Abime
(Pi Recordings)
Settles, Brian Trio
Halvorson / Evans / Walter
Mechanical Malfunction
(Thirsty Ear)
Living By Lanterns
New Myth/Old Science
Reed, Mike People, Places & Things,
Clean on the Corner
(482 Music)
Bynum Sextet, Taylor Ho
Apparent Distance
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Settles, Brian and Central Station
Secret Handshake
Bauder, Matt
Day in Pictures
(Clean Feed)
Morris, Joe
Bynum, Taylor Ho Sextet
The Middle Picture
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Ideal Bread
Transmit: Vol. 2 of The Music of Steve Lacy
Positive Catastrophe (Ho Bynum / Gomez-Delgado / Bauder / Attias)
Garabatos Volume One
Bynum, Taylor Ho Sextet
Asphalt Flowers Forking Paths

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Poulsen, Hasse / Tom Rainey
Open Fist
Toral, Rafael
Space Collective 2 Live [CASSETTE + download]
(Notice Recordings)
Quartetski Does Stravinsky
Le Sacre du printemps
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Thing, The
(The Thing Records)
Yudanov / Brotzmann / Luoma
Fryed Fruit
(Red Toucan)
Dumitrescu, Iancu / Ana-Maria Avram
Live in Israel - CD (II)
(Edition Modern)
Dumitrescu, Iancu / Ana-Maria Avram
Electronic Music
(Edition Modern)
Halvorson, Mary / Kirk Knuffke / Matt Wilson
(Relative Pitch)
Dumitrescu, Iancu / Ana-Maria Avram
Live in Israel
(Edition Modern)
Dumitrescu, Iancu / Ana-Maria Avram
Live in LSO St Luke's London
(Edition Modern)
Ajemian & the HighLife, Jason
Riding the Light into the Bird's Eye
(Sundmagi Records)
Butcher, John
Bell Trove Spools
(Northern Spy)
Price: $13.95
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 650594107922

Label: 482 Music
Catalog ID: 482-1079
Squidco Product Code: 16392

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2012
Country: USA
Packaging: Cardstock gatefold foldover
Recorded on October 3rd, 2011 at Systems Two, Brooklyn, NY by Jon Rosenberg.


Trevor Dunn-bass

Mary Halvorson-guitar

Brian Settles-tenor saxophone

Jonathan Finlayson-trumpet

Tomas Fujiwara-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Lineage 7:47

2. Double Lake, Defined 3:30

3. For Ours 5:09

4. Cosmopolitan (Rediscovery) 6:07

5. Smoke-Breathing Lights 10:52

6. Postcards 11:45