The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

A double compilation CD inspired by Otomo Yoshihide's lecture "The Role of Culture: After the Earthquake and Man-made Disasters in Fukushima", with John Tilbury, Burkhard Beins, Magda Mayas, Mark Wastell, Greg Kelley, &c. &c.

Various Artists
Fukushima! [2 CDs]

Various Artists: Fukushima! [2 CDs] (Presqu'ille Records)
Label: Presqu'ille Records    
Released in: France    

A double compilation CD inspired by Otomo Yoshihide's lecture "The Role of Culture: After the Earthquake and Man-made Disasters in Fukushima" [see link below]. 100% of the funds raised by Presqu'ille through the sale of this record will go to japanese non-profit organizations. The line-up of the compilation: John Tilbury, Greg Kelley, Annette Krebs, Chris Abrahams, Burkhard Beins, Choi Joonyong / Jin Sangtae / Hong Chulki / Joe Foster, Mural, Magda Mayas, Mark Wastell & Jonathan McHugh, Michael Pisaro & Greg Stuart.


1-01: John Tilbury (piano). 1-02: Magda Mayas (piano). Recorded, mixed and mastered by Tony Buck in July 2011 at Pappelallee 5, Berlin and Acud Studio, Berlin. 1-03: Choi Joonyong (CD players), Joe Foster (things and stuff), Hong Chulki (without turntables), Jin Sangtae (acoustic car horns). Recorded at Dotolim, 19 September 2011, by Hong Chulki. 2-01: Burkhard Beins (analogue synthesizers, E.T., bowed chimes). Recorded and produced by Burkhard Beins in Berlin, July 2011. 2-02: Mark Wastell (Paiste 32″ Tam Tam), Jonathan McHugh (Eventide H3000). 2-03: Annette Krebs (mixing-board-feedbacks, radio, amplified objects, e-guitar), Chris Abrahams (DX7 FM synth and Vermona Mono Lancet analog synth). Selected, mixed and mastered by Annette Krebs

2-04: Musicians and spontaneous guests: Sabine Erklenz (tp), Chris Heenan (alto sax), Mike Majkowski (pitch pipes), Andrea Neumann (tp), Koen Nutters (bowed crotales), Morten Olsen (git), invited via word-of-mouth and Facebook by Johnny Chang and Morton Olsen, playing a composition by James Tenney. Recorded, mixed and mastered by Annette Krebs. 2-05: Jim Denley (flute), Kim Myhr (acoustic guitars, zithers and objects), Ingar Zach (gran cassa, percussion). 2-06: Greg Stuart (glockenspiel, bar chimes, wood blocks). Recorded, mixed and mastered by Greg Stuart. 2-07: Greg Kelley (trumpet). Album Mastering and Post Production: Christoph Amann, Amann Studios Vienna. Notes: This compilation was inspired by Otomo Yoshihide's Lecture.

Read more about this item
The Squid
At The Squid's Ear!

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Electro-Acoustic Improv
Various Artists & Compilations
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Free Improvisation
Objects and Home-made Instruments

Get additional information at Otomo Yoshihide "The Role of Culture: After the Earthquake and Man-made Disasters in Fukushima"

Search for other titles on the Presqu'ille Records label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Illogical Harmonies (Chang / Majkowski)
(Another Timbre)
Belorukov, Ilia / Harpakahylo / Patryk Lichota / Kim_Nasung
Rolfsson, Matilda / Richard Sanderson / Mark Wastell
Live at l'Klectic
Ercklentz / Neumann
(Herbal International)
Abrahams, Chris / Clare Cooper
Germ Studies For Guzheng & DX7
Great Waitress
ROIL (Chris Abrahams / Mike Majkowski / James Waples)
Raft Of The Meadows [VINYL]
Butcher, John / Burkhard Beins / Mark Wastell
Edwards / Sanders / Tilbury
A Field Perpetually At The Edge Of Disorder
Vogel, Sabine / Chris Abrahams / Landscape Quartet
The Berlin Series No. 4
(Another Timbre)
Gallio / Streuli
Road Works [CD & DVD]
Heenan / Rodrigues / Frangenheim / Bymel
(Creative Sources)
Sealed Knot, The
Red Dhal Sextet (Jeffery / Schubert / Dunmall / Schlippenbach / Majkowski / Dimitriadis)
Red Dhal Sextet
Looper (Nikos Veliotis / Ingar Zach / Martin Kuchen)
Matter [VINYL]
Strike (Clayton Thomas / Jon Rose / Mike Majkowski)
Wood, Wire & Sparks [VINYL]
Abrahams, Chris and Magda Mayas
(Relative Pitch)
Mayas, Magda / Christine Abdelnour
Dogmatics, The (Abrahams / Fagachinski)
The Sacrifice For The Music Became Our Lifestyle [VINYL]
Various Artists
Because Tomorrow Comes #2
(Because Tomorrow Comes)
Various Artists
Because Tomorrow Comes #3
(Because Tomorrow Comes)
Ono, Yoko / Thurston Moore / Kim Gordon
Early in the morning [10-inch VINYL]
(Chimera Music)
Spill (Tony Buck / Magda Mayas)
Krebs, Annette / Magda Mayas / Anthea Caddy
(Another Timbre)
Kelley, Greg / Olivia Block
Dafeldecker / Kurzmann / Tilbury / Wishart
Dafeldecker / Kurzmann / Tilbury / Wishart
(Mikroton Recordings)
Price: $22.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 4.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

Label: Presqu'ille Records
Catalog ID: PSQ004-2
Squidco Product Code: 16178

Format: 2 CDs
Condition: New
Released: 2012
Country: France
Packaging: 2 CDs in a digipak
Recorded on various dates and at various locations. Mastered by Christoph Amann at Amann Studios Vienna.


John Tilbury-piano

Magda Mayas-piano

Choi Joonyong

Joe Foster

Hong Chulki

Jin Sangtae

Burkhard Beins-analogue synthesizers, bowed chimes, E.T.

Mark Wastell-tam tam

Jonathan McHugh-Eventide H3000

Annette Krebs-mixing, feeback, radio, amplified objects, electric guitar

Chris Abrahams-DX7 FM synth, Vermona Mono Lancet analog synth

Sabine Erklenz

Chris Heenan-alto saxophone

Mike Majkowski-pitch pipes

Andrea Neumann

Koen Nutters-bowed crotales

Morten Olsen-guitar

Jim Denley-flute

Kim Myhr-acoustic guitars, zithers, objects

Ingar Zach-gran cassa, percussion

Greg Stuart-glockenspiel, bar chimes, wood blocks

Greg Kelley-trumpet

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

CD 1

1. Dave Smith - Al contrario, by John Tilbury 34:04

2. Magda Mayas - Foreign Grey 9:11

3. Choi Joonyong, Joe Foster, Hong Chulki & Jin Sangtae - From Dotolim 14:32

CD 2

1. Burkhard Beins - Counter 6:33

2. Mark Wastell & Jonathan McHugh - Eventide 6:36

3. Annette Krebs & Chris Abrahams - Duo 2:46

4. Annette Krebs - Field recording of the anti-Wall Street-demonstration in front of the Reichstag in Berlin 4:04

5. Mural (Ingar Zach, Kim Myhr, Jim Denley) - Fukushima for the Time Being 9:43

6. Michael Pisaro - The Bell-Maker, from Four Pieces for Recorded Percussion (Il faut attendre), by Greg Stuart 21:37

7. Greg Kelley - Cylindrical Mirror 7:07