The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

Highlights from saxophonist Steve Lacy's first solo concerts in Avignon 1972 originally released on LP in 1974, with additional recordings and a solo performance of his "Clangs" cycle from Berlin, 1974.

Lacy, Steve
Avignon And After Vol.1

Lacy, Steve: Avignon And After Vol.1 (Emanem)
Label: Emanem    
Released in: Great Britain    

"Highlights from Lacy's first solo concerts in Avignon 1972 featuring pieces like 'The New Duck', 'The Breath', 'Name' and 'Cloudy' that became frequently played, alongside rarities like 'Stations', 'Josephine', 'Weal' and 'The Wool'. In addition to this material that was originally issued as Emanem LP 301 and reissued on CD 4004, this new compilation also contains four more short rarities from the same concerts: 'Bound', 'The Rush', 'Holding' and 'The Dumps'. Finally there is his performance of his somewhat outrageous 'Clangs' cycle from Berlin in 1974 - the first time a solo version of this has been issued. Previous issues of this suite were by a duo in 1976 and a double sextet in 1992. This solo performance is arguably the definitive version. Like the Avignon music, this finds Lacy's unaccompanied work at its most adventurous. 79 minutes."-Emanem

Excerpts from sleeve notes:

"The 1972 Avignon concerts were Steve Lacy's very first solo concerts, although he did make an excellent overdubbed solo record (LAPIS) for Saravah the year before. (For 'solo' read 'alone' or 'unaccompanied' rather than the usual music business meaning of 'very accompanied'.)

Thanks to an introduction by John Stevens, I first met Lacy when he visited London in 1973. He brought with him some of the Avignon tapes in order to try and interest a record producer to issue this music. However, record producers were generally not then interested in such radical concepts as solo saxophone records. When Lacy played me some of this music, I instantly decided to fulfil a long held ambition to become a record producer.

Lacy revisited London early in 1974 and spent an enjoyable week staying with us (my then wife, Madelaine, and me) in order to work on this project as well as having some stimulating conversations. [For example.] He had previously selected the material for two sides of an LP (tracks 1-8 in this collection), which we had copied in his desired sequence on to two master tapes.

Getting the LP pressed was not a pleasant experience as there was a shortage of good vinyl in 1974. The test pressing sounded as though he was recorded in a hail storm - there being no drummer to cover up the noise - but that was best that could be done at the time. [Later on, it both amused and bemused me when certain collectors insisted on getting a first edition, even though it was so noisy.] Also, we received several phone calls from the pressing plant stating that there must be something wrong with the tapes as they could hear some completely different music in the background of one track (STATIONS)! Thus was Emanem born.

Having recently listened to the whole of the two 1972 Avignon concerts, I must say that Lacy chose extremely well, so his original selection has been left intact as the first eight tracks of this compilation. For two of the tracks, JOSEPHINE and WEAL, he decided to combine sections from both concerts. All of the other items on this CD set are complete as performed. [...]-Martin Davidson

See all items in the EMANEM & psi category

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Lacy, Steve
Recordings by or featuring Reed & Wind Players
EMANEM & psi

Search for other titles on the Emanem label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Lacy, Steve Quintet
Last Tour (2004)
Lacy, Steve Four
Morning Joy ...Paris Live [reissue]
Lacy, Steve
Cycles (1976-80) [2 CDs]
Lacy, Steve & Joe McPhee
The Rest [VINYL]
The Whammies (Dijkstra / Oliver / Karayorgis / Roebke / Bishop / Bennink)
Play The Music Of Steve Lacy: Vol. #2
(Driff Records)
Lacy, Steve
School Days (1960/3)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
PYN (Yoshida / Pittard / Nasuno)
Songs for children who don't want to sleep
Fall Line
Simmons, Sonny
Leaving Knowledge, Wisdom and Brilliance / Chasing The Bird? [8 CD BOX]
(Improvising Beings)
Wilson, Tony 6tet
A Day's Life
(Drip Audio)
Shipp, Matthew Quartet Declared Enemy
Our Lady Of The Flowers
Levin, Daniel Quartet
(Clean Feed)
Roebke, Jason
Every Sunday
(Clean Feed)
Roots Magic (Popolla / Defabriths / Tedeschi / Spera / Ventiucci)
Hoodoo Blues
(Clean Feed)
Fraser, Nick (feat. Tony Malaby and Kris Davis)
Too Many Continents
(Clean Feed)
Parker, Evan / Joe Morris / Nate Wooley
Ninth Square
(Clean Feed)
Nabatov, Simon / Mark Dresser
(Clean Feed)
Prehn, Tom Quartet
(Corbett vs. Dempsey)
Thollem / Wimberly / Cline
Radical Empathy
(Relative Pitch)
Rempis Percussion Quartet, The (w/ Haker-Flaten / Rosaly / Daisy)
Cash And Carry
Russell, John (with Phil Minton, Thurston Moore, Evan Parker, &c.)
Universal Indians + Joe McPhee (Dikeman / Strom / Ostvang)
(Clean Feed)
Scrambling Ex, The (Van Huffel / Willers / Stiedle)
The Scrambling Ex
Lytton, Paul
(Pleasure of the Text Records)
Brotzmann / McPhee / Kessler / Zerang
Tales Out Of Time
Gustafsson, Mats / Merzbow / Balazs Pandi / Thurston Moore
Cuts of Guilt, Cuts Deeper [2 CDs]
(Rarenoise Records)
Price: $17.95
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 5030243502325

Label: Emanem
Catalog ID: 5023
Squidco Product Code: 15769

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2012
Country: Great Britain
Packaging: Cardstock 3 page foldover
All analogue concert recordings: Tracks 1 - 12 Avignon (Théâtre du Chene Noir) by Georg Radanowicz 1972 August 7 & 8; Tracks 13 - 17 Berlin (Akademie der Künste) [Workshop Freie Musik] 1974 April 14. Tracks 1 - 8 originally issued in 1974 as Emanem LP 301, reissued on CD 4004. Tracks 9 - 17 previously unissued.


Steve Lacy-soprano saxophone

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. The Breath 5:35

2. Stations 6:20

3. Cloudy 3:18

4. Original New Duck 5:42

5. Josephine 5:40

6. Weal 4:03

7. Name 4:58

8. The Wool 5:52

9. Bound 1:44

10. The Rush 1:40

11. Holding 2:16

12. The Dumps 4:28

13. The Owl 5:25

14. Torments 6:29

15. Tracks 6:26

16. Dome 4:59

17. The New Moon 4:31