The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

Vocalist Lina Nyberg in a quintet with David Stackenas (guitar), Cecilia Persson (piano), Josef Kallerdahl (bass) & Peter Danemo (drums), singing original works plus one by poet Coleman Barks, and Paul Simon's "So Long Frank Lloyd Wright".

Nyberg, Lina

Nyberg, Lina: Palaver (Moserobie Music)
Label: Moserobie Music    
Released in: Sweden    

Jazz vocalist Lina Nyberg in a quintet with guitarist David Stackenas, pianist Cecilia Persson, bassist Josef Kallerdahl, and drummer Peter Danemo, plus guests, singing original works plus one by poet Coleman Barks, and Paul Simon's "So Long Frank Lloyd Wright".

"Lina Nyberg was born in Stockholm in 1970 and raised in an artistic home. She discovered jazz at age 14 and at 18 years of age Lina began singing with Swedish jazz stars such as Bernt Rosengren, Nisse Sandström, Fredrik Norén Band and others. In 1990 Lina built her own first constellation "Lina Nyberg Kvintett" consisting of Per "Texas" Johansson, Esbjörn Svensson, Dan Berglund, and Mikel Ulfberg. In 1993 her first CD was released CLOSE (Prophone records). A duo recording with late pianist Esbjörn Svensson. An instant success and Swedish jazz classic. Over the years Lina Nyberg has collaborated with various jazz musicians such as John Taylor, Anders Jormin, Marilyn Crispell and Rigmor Gustafsson. She has toured in Scandinavia, parts of Europe, Vietnam, Canada, Japan and Brazil. Lina Nyberg is one of Sweden's most creative and interesting jazz singers. For 20 years she has been attracting consistent and widespread attention, mostly in Scandinavia, but also in other parts of the world."-All About Jazz

"Has toured as soloist and with many different groups in Europe, the USA, Japan and the Middle East. In 2000 David released critics´ acclaimed CD the guitar on swedish label Häpna and has since then released bow on Kning-Disk (2006) and Separator on Found You Recordings (2009). Also plays with LabField (w/ Ingar Zach), SEVAL, Les Sons Du Nuage, Lina Nyberg Band and the New Songs (w/ Sofia Jernberg a.o) and has participated as musician and made music for many different theatre- and dance pieces. Through the years he has played with, among many others: Evan Parker, Barry Guy, Lina Nyberg, Sofia Jernberg, Rhodri Davies, Paul Lovens, Axel Dörner, Sten Sandell, Thurston Moore, Mazen Kerbaj, Christine Abdelnour, Ken Vandermark, Paal Nilssen-Love, Cecilia Persson, Jim O' Rourke, Tatsuya Nakatani."

-Ballrogg Website (

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
Song Based Music
Unusual Vocal Forms
Quintet Recordings

Search for other titles on the Moserobie Music label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Landaeus, Mathias
Into Life [VINYL]
(Moserobie Music)
Landaeus, Mathias
Into Life
(Moserobie Music)
Nyberg, Joacim
Fylkingen, March 27, 2014
Pictures Of Us
One More Cup of Coffee
(482 Music)
Holgersson, Jonas
Snick Snack
(Moserobie Music)
Kvintett, Gilbert Holmstroms
Utan Misstankar
(Moserobie Music)
Broo, Magnus
Swedish Wood
(Moserobie Music)
Core, The
(Moserobie Music)
Core, The
Golonka Love
(Moserobie Music)
Kannegaard / Kornstad / Vagan / Johansen
Maryland Live
(Moserobie Music)
Fredriksson, Kullhammar & Zetterberg
Gyldene Tider Vol. 1
(Moserobie Music)
Broo, Magnus Quartet
(Moserobie Music)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Metheny, Pat
Tap: The Book Of Angels Vol. 20
Cavallanti, Daniele & Tiziano Tononi's
Rings of Fire
(Long Song Records)
Lazro, Daunik
Lundbom, Jon and Big Five Chord
Accomplish Jazz
(Hot Cup Records)
Landolf, Domenic
New Brighton
Harley, Rufus
Bagpipes of the World
Kallerdahl, Lindah
Mytha, Hans Kennel
How It All Started
Price: $13.00
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 3.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 7319200002718

Label: Moserobie Music
Catalog ID: MMPCD076
Squidco Product Code: 15703

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2011
Country: Sweden
Packaging: Digipack
Recorded January and February 2011 by Janne Hansson at Atlantis Studio. Additional recording by Mikael Herrstrom.


Lina Nyberg-vocals

David Stackenas-guitar

Cecilia Persson-piano

Josef Kallerdahl-bass

Peter Danemo-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Ditte 4:55

2. Caetano 6:21

3. Adrenalina 3:01

4. Federico Garcia 6:42

5. Aliisa 6:35

6. Claude 5:03

7. Paul 4:47

8. So long Frank Lloyd Wright 4:31

9. Ingrid 4:57

10. Jelâluddîn 5:29