The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Drummer Moe! Staiano in a hard-hitting band with members from the Ex, Sleepytime Gorilla Museum, Faun Fables, and Mute Socialite, collecting songs that extend from those bands, along with great drumming and sound work.

Moe! Staiano
Surplus 1980

Moe! Staiano: Surplus 1980 (Dephine Knormal Musik)
Label: Dephine Knormal Musik    
Released in: USA    

"Surplus 1980 is a project that came from the ashes of my old former band, Mute Socialite, which split up in 2009. It is a collection of songs that were former ideas that were meant to be used for Mute Socialite, but never really made it as well as three cover songs. Surplus 1980 is a post-punk band of a rotating line up of some fine musicians, many extending from great bands to be heard on this project including members from the Ex, Sleepytime Gorilla Museum, and Faun Fables, among others, including Mute Socialite."-Moe! Staiano

Also available on LP.

Related Categories of Interest:

Rock and Related
Improvised Rock
Song Based Music
Sound, Noise, &c.
Staff Picks & Recommended Items

Search for other titles on the Dephine Knormal Musik label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Cremaschi, George / Irene Kepl / Petr Vrba
(Another Timbre)
Mendoza, Ava / Maxime Petit / Will Guthrie
[7-inch VINYL]
Unnatural Ways
We Aliens
Weathers, Andrew Ensemble
Fuck Everybody, You Can Do Anything
(Full Spectrum)
Allbee, Liz / Burkhard Beins
Mensch Mensch Mensch [VINYL]
Bruckmann's, Kyle Wrack
...Awaits Silent Tristero's Empire
(Singlespeed Music)
Nu Creative Methods
(Music a la Coque)
Surplus 1980
Arterial Ends Here [10" VINYL]
(Dephine Knormal Musik)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Testa, Carl
(Lock Step Records)
Sao Paulo Underground
Beija Flors Velho E Sujo
Ajemian & the HighLife, Jason
Riding the Light into the Bird's Eye
(Sundmagi Records)
Trumpet Trumpet Synthesizer
(Henkel / Wick / Minissali)
(Prom Night Records)
Various Artists
Because Tomorrow Comes #2
(Because Tomorrow Comes)
Various Artists
Because Tomorrow Comes #3
(Because Tomorrow Comes)
Various Artists
30 Jahre Inventionen 1982-2012 [2 CDs + DVD]
(Edition Rz)
Bradford / Gjerstad / Nilssen-Love
Electric Bird Noise
le vestibule - vestibule transitoire
(No More Stars Records)
Various Artists
Fukushima! [2 CDs]
(Presqu'ille Records)
Jefferson, Larry
Journey [CASSETTE]
(Rollax Records)
Circulasione Totale Orchestra
PhilaOslo [2 CDs]
If, Bwana / Dan Warburton
I am Sitting in Phill Niblock's Kitchen
Nilssen-Love / Terrie Ex
Halvorson, Mary and Jessica Pavone
Departure of Reason
(Thirsty Ear)
Tagaq, Tanya
Anuraaqtuq - Le Vent (The Wind)
plays PRES
Davis, Matt & Mark Wastell
Derby 11.05.2002 / Liverpool 10.05.2002
Price: $6.00
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

Label: Dephine Knormal Musik
Catalog ID: DKM12
Squidco Product Code: 15655

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2011
Country: USA
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Recorded in 2010 at Polymorph Studios by Dan Rathbun, Oakland, CA.


Moe! Staiano-oscillators, circuit bend Omni-chord, crystal bowl, drums, percussion, guitar, bass, vocals, dialogue, treated piano, toy piano, piano, scuba tank, bells, tape

Ava Mendoza-guitar

Liz Allbee-trumpet

Dan Rathbun-vocals

Jesse Quattro-vocals

Vicky Grossi-fretless bells

Aaron Novik-bass clarinet

Kyle Bruckman-oboes, double-reeded bugle horn

Freddi Prince-trumpet

John Shuirba-guitar

Matthias Bossi-vocals

Alee Karim-bass

Hillary Overberg-violin

George Cremaschi-bass

Andy Moor-guitars

Carla Kihlstedt-violin

Meredith Yayanos-violin

Kyle Bruckman-oboe

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. The Joys And Torment Of Solitude 2:36

2. M.E.S. Shoe Contact 5:26

3. Relapse In Response 6:26

4. Trying To Suceed, Waiting With Little To No Results 5:33

5. Aggravation 2:50

6. Let's Put Another One There 6:54

7. Excellent Girl 3:29

8. Ed Saad 8:23

9. The Mechanics Of Mathematical Courtings 4:00

10. The Gooseneck 4:48

11. Relapse In Response (Thomas Dimuzio Remix) 5:06