The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC


Port Out Starboard Home

Beequeen: Port Out Starboard Home (Important Records)

Since 1989 the Netherlands quartet of Olga Wallis, Freek Kinkelaar, Frans de Waard and Niek Groothuyse have created a unique blend of pop music with ea approaches, here in their 16th captivating release.

Price: $11.16


In Stock

Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Log In to use our Wish List
product information:

UPC: 793447533926

Label: Important Records
Catalog ID: IMPREC339
Squidco Product Code: 15402

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2011
Country: USA
Packaging: Digipack
Mixed by Erik Drost and Petra Randewijk. Mastered by Raymond Steeg.


Frans de Waard-sounds and treatments

Olga Wallis-voice

Freek Kinkelaar-voice, instruments, treatments

Niek Groothuyse-trumpet

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search
track listing:

1. Good Day Good Bye 0:42

2. Patience 2:45

3. Someday Today 4:00

4. A Snared Dwarf 6:23

5. Giant's Hill 4:36

6. Howard Is Not At Home 5:56

7. The Centipede Song 3:28

8. A Gall Ill Sow 5:16

9. Young Man With A Horn 1:08

10. Port Out Starboard Home 3:35

11. The Lord Is My Shepherd 7:56
Related Categories of Interest:

Rock and Related
Electro-Acoustic Improv
Improvised Music
Song Based Music
Staff Picks & Recommended Items

sample the album:

descriptions, reviews, &c.

Some bands produce a CD every week; by now it seems 'normal' to have three year gaps in releasing records for Beequeen, which is a fresh antidote to the music business of more = more. For Beequeen, like good wine, things mature given more time. Whereas 'Sandancing' (2008) featured Olga Wallis a guest singer, on this new album she's a fully fledged bandmember, adding her beautiful voice to Beequeen's off beat songs. Port Out Starboard Home features surreal dream-pop, but always with that unique twist that is Beequeen. The album is loosely based around the theme of 'traveling'. The prophetic opening of "A While A Way" (how true) transports you into the CD, which equally balances on vocal and instrumental pieces from introspective moments of 'Patience' and the title track to the up-tempo 'Someday Today'. Beequeen displays their wicked sense of humor in 'The Lord is my shepherd'. This new album is again produced by Erik Drost (The Legendary Pink Dots) with the help of Petra Randewijk.

Since their start as Beequeen in 1989, Freek Kinkelaar and Frans de Waard have produced numerous released for labels such as Staalplaat, Anomlous, Auf Abwegen and Infraction, moving from a classic drone approach up to the year watermark year 2000, when Beequeen decided to go out into a pop-folk-electronic direction, resulting a string of well received albums for Important Records, which more and more focus on the vocals of Olga Wallis, Freek Kinkelaar's guitar and keyboards and Frans de Waard electronic treatments.."-Important Records

Other Releases With These Artists:
Oliveros, Pauline / Connie Crothers
Live At The Stone
(Important Records)
Hayward, Robin
Stop Time
(Important Records)
Weathers, Andrew Ensemble
Fuck Everybody, You Can Do Anything
(Full Spectrum)
Time Waits For No One
(Herbal International)
Le Ton Mite
Version D'Un Ouvrage Traduit
(Music a la Coque)
Seabrook, Brandon
Sylphid Vitalizers [VINYL]
(New Atlantis)
Blacksberg, Daniel Trio (w/ Matt Engle & Mike Szekely)
Perilous Architecture [VINYL]
Mostly Other People Do The Killing
(Hot Cup Records)
Allum, Jennifer / Ute Kanngiesser
Bell Tower Recordings
Schmid, Peter A. / Ned Rothenberg
En Passant
(Creative Works Records)
Schindler / Harnik
Empty Pigeonhole
(Creative Sources)
Wire, The
#361 March 2014 [MAGAZINE]
(The Wire)
Wire, The
#359 January 2014 [MAGAZINE]
(The Wire)
Arthur Magazine
Arthur No. 35 / August 2013 [MAGAZINE]
Blake, Ran
Plays Solo Piano
Kammerer, Margareth
Why Is The Sea So Blue
(Mikroton Recordings)
Ughi, Federico Quartet (Ughi / Schug / Knuffke / Johnson)
Federico Ughi Quartet
Dunietz / Edwards / Noble
Cousin It
(Hopscotch Records)
Various Artists
District of Noise Vol. 4: A Compilation of Experimental Music from Washington DC [VINYL]
(Sonic Circuits)
Various Artists
13 Miniatures For Albert Ayler
Keszler, Eli
Wire, The
#329 July 2011 [MAGAZINE]
(The Wire)
Shipp, Matthew
Matthew Shipp - Solos [DVD]
Beta Collide
Various Artists
Generate Records 1999-2009
(Generate Records)
Various Artists
Various Artists
Meta Magic Music: Some Quiet Stars
(Meta Records)
Recommended & Related Releases:

Search for other titles on the Important Records label.