The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

The debut album of The Jason Stein Quartet with Keefe Jackson on tenor sax, Joshua Abrams on bass, and Frank Rosaly on drums, a great post-bop release with Stein original compositions plus pieces by Konitz, Tristano, Warne Marsh, and Monk.

Stein, Jason Quartet
The Story This Time

Stein, Jason Quartet: The Story This Time (Delmark)
Label: Delmark    
Released in: USA    

"The debut album of The Jason Stein Quartet, The Story This Time, brings together Chicago bass clarinetist Jason Stein with three of his favorite improvisers. With Joshua Abrams on bass, Frank Rosaly on drums, and Keefe Jackson on tenor saxophone and contrabass clarinet, the album features five original compositions by Stein and six underexplored compositions by jazz luminaries Lee Konitz, Warne Marsh, Lenny Tristano, and Thelonious Monk. Following three critically acclaimed albums with his trio Locksmith Isidore, Stein's new Chicago quartet seamlessly integrates rigorous written material with fierce and imaginative improvisational flights."-Delmark Records

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Chicago Jazz & Improvisation
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Quartet Recordings

Search for other titles on the Delmark label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Stine, Tim Trio The
(Astral Spirits)
Rempis / Abrams / Ra + Baker
Perihelion [2 CDs]
Jackson, Keefe / Jason Adasiewicz
Rows And Rows
Jackson, Keefe / Hans-Peter Pfammatter

Jackson, Keefe Likely So
A Round Goal
Rosaly, Frank
Cicada Music
Berman, Josh & His Gang
There Now

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Trumpets and Drums (Wooley / Evans / Black / Lytton)
Live in Ljubljana
(Clean Feed)
McPhee, Joe
Sonic Elements
(Clean Feed)
Bang, Billy
Da Bang!
Mazurek, Rob
Space Between [CD + DVD]
Mitchell, Nicole
Engraved in the Wind
Mazurek, Rob Octet
Skull Sessions
Mitchell, Roscoe & Nicole Mitchell's Black Earth Ensemble
Three Compositions - Live At Sant'anna Arresi
Golia / Phillips / Leandre / Turetzky / Mezzacappa
The Ethnic Project
Chrysakis, Thanos / Philip Somervell
Knotted Alembic
(Aural Terrains)
Meinhold, Niko / Noel Taylor
Border Patrol
Popolla, Alberto & Noel Taylor
All Fall Down
Fonda/Stevens Group Trio + 2, The
Live in Katowice
(Not Two Records)
Chicago Trio (Dawkins / Bankhead / Drake)
Velvet Songs (To Baba Fred Anderson) [2 CDs]
Adasiewicz, Jason
Wickihalder, Jurg European Quartet - Featuring Irene Schweizer
Freeman, Von
Have No Fear
Gauthier Goatette, The Jeff
Open Source
Zorn, John
A Dreamers Christmas
Bynum Sextet, Taylor Ho
Apparent Distance
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Price: $13.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 4.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 038153201326

Label: Delmark
Catalog ID: DMK 2013
Squidco Product Code: 15394

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2011
Country: USA
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Recorded at Riverside Studio, Chicago on June 27th & 28th, 2011 by Todd Carter.


Jason Stein-bass clarinet

Keefe Jackson-tenor saxophone, contrabass clarinet

Joshua Abrams-bass

Frank Rosaly-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Background Music 2:43

2. Laced Case 9:16

3. Little Big Horse 8:12

4. Skippy 6:02

5. Badlands 8:23

6. Palo Alto 5:34

7. Hatoolie 6:15

8. Gallop's Gallop 5:53

9. Hoke's Dream 7:41

10. Work 3:23

11. Lennie Bird 3:05