The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

Drummer Warren Smith joins Eugene Chadbourne in NYC for a set of great and well-recorded songs, including "New New War War", "Checkers of Blood", "Choppin' Down Weeds", &c.

Chadbourne, Eugene & Warren Smith
Odd TIme

Chadbourne, Eugene & Warren Smith: Odd TIme (Engine)
Label: Engine    
Released in: USA    

Eugene Chadbourne can be viewed as a banjo slinging 21st century incarnation of Mark Twain. When he ends a line with a high cartoon voice he underlines the absurdity of the war on drugs with his classic 'Choppin' Down Weeds' and the war on terror in 'New New War War'. But he's far from a one dimensional songwriter as he delivers a melancholic song for his father with 'Put Me Back in the River' and an apocalyptic fable of greed and struggle in 'Checkers of Blood'.

When Chadbourne lived in New York City in the 1970's he went to jazz shows at Warren Smith's Tribeca loft. One evening the older Smith gave the younger Chadbourne an instructional book by Louis Bellson called Odd Time Reading Text. 30+ years later and completely coincidentally, Eugene and Warren recorded this record together with the gift of that book hovering over the session. Hence the title of the record with the added kicker that we live in odd times.

Read more about this item
The Squid
At The Squid's Ear!

See all items in the Chadbourne. Eugene category

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Chadbourne. Eugene
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Duo Recordings

Search for other titles on the Engine label.

Recommended & Related Releases:
Price: $13.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:


Label: Engine
Catalog ID: e043
Squidco Product Code: 15307

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2011
Country: USA
Packaging: Cardstock foldover
Recorded on March 25th, 2011 at Westbeth Artists' Housing, New York.


Eugene Chadbourne-12-string banjo, banjo, vocals

Warren Smith-drums, tympani, marimba, percussion, vibes

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. The People With Too Much 3:14

2. New New War War 5:44

3. Mourning Of The Praying Mantis 9:04

4. Checkers of Blood 5:32

5. Xubitunt 7:10

6. Water Song 7:30

7. Odd Time For Two 8:35

8. Put Me Back In The River 8:40

9. Choppin' Down Weeds 3:36

Other Releases
With These Artists: