The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2017, Squidco LLC

La Berge, Anne & Lukas Simonis: Rust Fungus (Z6 Records)

After 10 years as a duo, flute/electronic artist Anne Le Berge (Lucas Niggli, Cor Fuhler, &c) and Lukas Simonis (Vril, AA Kismet, &c) have released an album of electro-acoust improv, graphic scores and other intriguing approaches.

Price: $13.95


In Stock

Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Log In to use our Wish List
product information:

Label: Z6 Records
Catalog ID: Z6000999
Squidco Product Code: 15256

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2010
Country: Netherlands
Packaging: Digipack
Recorded by Lukas Simonis & James Rubery at L6S Studio and WORM.


Anne La Berge-flutes, electronics, voice

Lukas Simonis-guitar, effects, voice

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search
track listing:

1. Hands Free 2:44

2. Circumstantial Waltz 10:21

3. Liver Believer 1:18

4. Curdie Bust 2:19

5. Don't Let Frank Jump 7:20

6. Tar To The Ism 3:21

7. Sweet Carbage 1:27

8. Kiosk Of My Dreams 3:29

9. Ultimate Cake Decorations 10:22

10. Slow Allegro 2:41

11. Broken Hoses 5:25

12. Stinging George 1:35

13. Wasabi Tool Enigma 4:58

14. The Bold 2:43
Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Electro-Acoustic Improv
Guitarists, &c.
Electronic Forms
Instant Rewards

sample the album:

descriptions, reviews, &c.

"The La Berge & Simonis duo have finally released their first CD after performing together for over ten years. This is not a "let's get together and see what happens" kind of thing. They have compiled an impressive backlog of recordings and they have even had some occasional performances, mostly with others involved. Their guest list includes: Richard Barrett, Erhard Hirt, Eddie Prevost and the band Apricot My Lady with the Bohman Brothers. This last project resulted in a CD release in 2009 on Esc Rec: Newly Refurbished and Tussock Moth.

Rust Fungus was recorded between 2007 and 2009. Most of it was done in a session in the WORM venue in Rotterdam, recorded by James Rubery.

What should we say about the music that is not there to be heard? It is improv with added flavors that act as subtle guiding forces. Some are graphic scores, others decisions like "this one shouldn't be too long", while others are simply inspired by their titles. (Titles are structures too.)

Lukas Simonis has been playing his version of rock & noise & improvised music for some time now. He cooperated ao. With Pierre Bastien, Goh Lee Kwang, Ivan Palacky, Dave Brown, Eugene Chadbourne and Peter Stampfel. Some of his bands; Coolhaven, Dull Schicksal, Liana Flu Winks, Vril, Faces. He makes sound & music for films, makes (& curates) radioplays and composes for various groups. He also works for WORM, a centre for experimental arts in Rotterdam.

Anne La Berge is a pioneer flutist/composer, working with interactive computer systems, improvisation and as a leading interpreter of contemporary chamber music. She also writes texts and poems that slide in and out of her compositions and improvisations. She makes music for theater, film, radioplays and concert performances. She is determined to intimately integrate acoustic instrumental improvisation with live electronics and/or the computer as a musical partner."-Z6 Records

Other Releases With These Artists:
Smith, Wadada Leo / Lewis, George / Zorn, John
Sonic Rivers
Dunmall, Paul / Philip Gibbs
Konitz, Lee with Frank Wunsch
Insight: Solos And Duets
Kullhammar / Zetterberg / Aalberg
Basement Sessions Vol.1
(Clean Feed)
Mcphee, Joe / Ingebrigt Haker Flaten
Brooklyn DNA
(Clean Feed)
Lateef, Yusef / Nicolas Humbert / Marc Parisotto
Roots Run Deep
Hell Hoarse (Chuck Bettis & Brendan Murray)
Cold Planet
(Living Myth)
LHZ + H : Thomas Lehn, Carl Ludwig Hubsch, Philip Zoubek, Franz Hautzinger
If, Bwana / Dan Warburton
I am Sitting in Phill Niblock's Kitchen
Mann, Chris
The Art of the Diff [DVD]
(D.S al Coda)
Tres Hongos
Where My Dreams Go To Die
(Molk Records)
Smith's Mbira, Wadada Leo
Dark Lady Of The Sonnets
WPB3 (Werchowska / Pontevia / Boubaker)
A Floating World
(Mikroton Recordings)
Irvine Ensemble, Brian With Paul Dunmall / BBC Concert Orchestra
Montana Strange: The Music Of Brian Irvine
Kelley, Greg / Olivia Block
Mitchell, Roscoe
(Clean Feed)
Hauf Sextet, Boris
Next Delusion
(Clean Feed)
Nabatov / Reijseger / Schubert
Square Down
Laplante, Travis
Heart Protector: Solo Tenor Saxophone
Keszler, Eli
Heyn, Volker
(Edition Rz)
Cardew, Cornelius
The Great Learning [4 CDs]
ISKRA 1903
Josephson / Wachsmann / Lindsay / Smith / Blume
Zero Plus
(Balance Point Acoustics)
Mezei, Szilard Wind Quartet
Lazro, Daunik
Some Other Zongs
Israelievitch / Reitzenstein / Stewart / Young
The Test Tubes
Hansen, Mike & Tomasz Krakowiak
Houle, Francois
Au Coeur du Litige [2 CDs]
Muche / Zoubek / Tang
Excerpts From Anything
(Creative Sources)
Lopes, Luis
Lisbon Berlin Trio
(Clean Feed)
Murayama / Rives
Axiom For The Duration
Haunted House (Loren Connors)
Blue Ghost Blues
(Northern Spy)
Marzan, Pascal & John Russell
Hug, Charlotte
Slipway to Galaxies (Solo Viola & Voice)
Kolkowski, Aleks & Ute Wassermann
Squall Line
Mengelberg, Misha & Evan Parker
It won't be called Broken Chair
Kaplan Quartet, Noah with Joe Morris
Hirsch, Shelley & Kazuhisa Uchihashi
DUETS - 10 years after
(Innocent Records)
Mitchell, Nicole
Music Unlimited Festival 2009
Unlimited 23 [DVD]
Leandre, Joelle
Can You Hear Me - Live At The Ulrichsberger Kaleidophon [2 CDs]
Namchylak, Sainkho with Wolfgang Puschnig and Paul Urbanek
Knuffke, Kirk Trio
Amnesia Brown
(Clean Feed)
WarIsTerror Terroriswar
The Brutal Reality of Modern Brutality
Nakamura, Toshimaru
are you be
Recommended & Related Releases:

Search for other titles on the Z6 Records label.