The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

A 3 CD set from bassist Benjamin Duboc: a solo disc of low register improv; plus 2 discs in duo and trio settings with Didier Lasserre, Sylvain Guerineau, Jean-Luc Petit, Pascal Battus, Sophie Agnel & Christian Pruvost.

Duboc, Benjamin
Primare Cantus

Duboc, Benjamin: Primare Cantus (Ayler)
Label: Ayler    
Released in: Sweden    

"A 3-disc set offering a panel of bassist Benjamin Duboc's current work. The first disc focuses on "Primare Cantus", a peculiar piece of music, performed only on the tailpiece of the double bass, and mixing the very low register of the instrument with sharper frequencies obtained with bow friction and mouth/breath sounds. The music here moves slowly, very slowly, but is never static, and continuously evolves through micro variations. Disc 2 and 3 then showcase Duboc's bass in duo and trio settings with regular collaborators Didier Lasserre (percussion), Sylvain Guérineau (tenor sax), Jean-Luc Petit (tenor & baritone sax), Pascal Battus (guitar pickup), Sophie Agnel (piano) and Christian Pruvost (trumpet). Dive in and explore Benjamin Duboc's introspective sonic territories with us."-Ayler Records

3 slimline jewel trays in a cardstock outer box with a photo insert

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
European Improv, Free Jazz & Related
Ayler Records
Box Sets
Quintet Recordings

Search for other titles on the Ayler label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Lasserre, Didier / Raymond Boni
Soft Eyes
(Improvising Beings)
Bopp, Christine / Jean-Luc Petit
L'eorce Et La Salive
(Fou Records)
Foussat, Jean-Marc / Jean-Luc Petit
... D'Ou Vient La Lumiere !
(Fou Records)
Desprez / Duboc / Loutelier
(Dark Tree Records)
Cappozzo, Jean-Luc / Didier Lasserre
Ceremony's A Name For The Rich Horn [VINYL 10-inch EP]
Duboc, Benjamin
St. James Infirmary
(Improvising Beings)
Double-Basse (Petit / Duboc)
This is Not Art
(Clean Feed)
Denzler, Bertrand / ONCEIM
Lazro, Daunik / Benjamin Duboc / Didier Lasserre
Sens Radiants
(Dark Tree Records)
Ducret, Marc
Tower, Vol. 3
Metzger, Matthieu
Cotinaud, Francois Klangfarben Ensemble
Monologue de Schoenberg [CD + DVD]
Fish, The
Moon Fish
(Clean Feed)
Barno, Niklas / Joel Grip / Didier Lasserre
Can't Stop Snusing

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Bon, Piero Bittolo & His Original Pigneto Stompers
Mucho Acustica
(Long Song Records)
Dorner / Rodrigues / Guerreiro / Momeme
(Creative Sources)
Crothers, Connie / David Arner
Spontaneous Suite For Two Pianos [4 CD Box Set]
Sao Paulo Underground (Featuring Rob Mazurek)
Tres Cabecas Loucuras
Gumpert, Ulrich / Gunter Baby Sommer
La Paloma
erikM / Michel Doneda
Avram, Ana-Maria / Dumitrescu, Iancu
Live in London (I)
(Edition Modern)
Gayle, Charles
(Northern Spy)
Golia / Phillips / Leandre / Turetzky / Mezzacappa
The Ethnic Project
eRikm / Norbert Moslang
(Mikroton Recordings)
Stone Quartet (Leandre / Campbell / Crispell / Maneri)
Live at Vision Festival
Gonzalez Yells at Eels, Dennis
Resurrection and Life
Price: $43.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 8.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

3 slimline jewel trays in a cardstock outer box with a photo insert

UPC: 7320470141892

Label: Ayler
Catalog ID: aylCD-098-099-100
Squidco Product Code: 15134

Format: 3 CDs
Condition: New
Released: 2011
Country: Sweden
Packaging: 3 CD Box Set
Disc 1 recorded at Pac'Bo, Dignac on February 3rd, 2011. Disc 2, tracks 1-3 recorded at Pac'Bo, Dignac on January 4th, 2011. Disc 2, tracks 4-6 recorded on July 3rd & 4th, 2010 at Studio Juillaguet. Disc 2 tracks 7-10 recorded on July 5th & 6th, 2010 at Studio Juillaguet. Disc 3, tracks 1-2 recorded at Databaz, Angouleme on December 4th, 2010. Disc 3, track 3 recorded at Carre Bleu, Poitiers on October 19th-21st, 2010.


Benjamin Duboc-double bass, voice, field recording

Jean-Luc Petit-tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone

Didier Lasserre-snare drum, cymbal

Sylvain Guˇrineau-tenor saxophone

Pascal Battus-guitar pickup

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:


Primare Cantus 42:19


1. Après La Neige 4:08

2. Le Souffle Et La Peau 5:55

3. Il Disparut Dissolu Dans L'air 5:21

4. Après La Sève 2:09

5. L'arbre Se Coucha 10:47

6. Puis L'écorce Et La Verdure 5:42

7. Mais Avant La Mort 2:45

8. Dans Tout Ce Qui Ne Cesse De Naître 3:44

9. Dans L'étendue Du Vivan 4:35

10. Le Tracé De Nos Routes Se Dessine 1:55


1. Un Nu 20:46

2. Chênes 5:15

3. Garabagne 19:21