The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Saxophonist Rob Hall And pianist Chick Lyall in a charming album of modern jazz that reflects their Scottish roots in lilting original compositions of melodic distinction.

Hall, Rob / Chick Lyall
Blithe Spirit

Hall, Rob / Chick Lyall: Blithe Spirit (FMR)
Label: FMR    
Released in: Great Britain    

"From their bases on either side of Scotland's central belt, saxophonist Rob Hall and pianist Chick Lyall take their music to audiences across Europe - they played in Italy earlier this month - and their international standing is reflected in the quality of this, their third album. These are musicians whose offstage conversations - whether they're reminiscing about Keith Jarrett's great 1970s Scandinavian band, discussing classical harmony or considering their favourite Scottish landscapes - seem to continue entirely naturally when instruments replace voices. Whichever sphere they operate in, they're always informed by striking melodies such as the very brisk, penetrating theme of Hall's "The Regime" or Lyall's lilting title track. Even on the handful of more abstract pieces that punctuate the track list, the atmosphere remains conversational, a quality that along with the clarity of tone and ideas from Hall's sopranino, soprano and tenor saxophones and clarinet, and Lyall's beautifully considered improvising and accompaniments, makes Blithe Spirit an album to return to often."-Rob Adams, Herald Scotland

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
London & UK Free Improvisation Scene
FMR Records
Melodic and Lyrical Jazz
Duo Recordings

Search for other titles on the FMR label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Dymny Trilla
Cave Canem
Na (Malcom Ball / Kate Cuzner)
Compos Mentis
Lyall, Chick / David Garrett
Green Room
Carrier, Francois / Michel Lambert

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Without Noticing
(Rune Grammofon)
Dunmall / Hanslip / Gibbs / Ricart
Weeping Idols
Halvorson, Mary Septet
Illusionary Sea
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Carrier / Lambert / Thompson / Metcalfe / Viltard
Shores and Ditches
Heads Full Of Poison
Fields, Scott
Five Frozen Eggs
(Clean Feed)
Neue Volksmusik
Dunmall / Wooster / Sanders / Mapp
The Iceberg Quartet
Toral, Rafael / Davu Seru
Live in Minneapolis
(Clean Feed)
Crothers, Connie / David Arner
Spontaneous Suite For Two Pianos [4 CD Box Set]
Gumpert, Ulrich / Gunter Baby Sommer
La Paloma
erikM / Michel Doneda
Gustafsson / Nilssen-Love / Asmamaw
Baro 101
(Terp Records)
Gayle, Charles
(Northern Spy)
eRikm / Norbert Moslang
(Mikroton Recordings)
Gjerstad, Frode / Fred Lonberg-Holm
Carrier / Lambert / Lapin
All Out
Grant, Kay & Alex Ward
Fast Talk
Sakata, Akira
The Tale of the Heike
Gonzalez, Dennis / Joao Paulo
So Soft Yet
(Clean Feed)
Ehrlich's Rites Quartet, Marty
Frog Leg Logic
(Clean Feed)
Corbett, Jon / Louis Moholo - Moholo / Nick Stephens
Jon Corbett's Dangerous Musics - Kongens Gade
Price: $15.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 786497264124

Label: FMR
Catalog ID: FMR 310-0511
Squidco Product Code: 14857

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2011
Country: Great Britain
Packaging: Digipack
Recorded by David Galbraith at his studio in Lochwinnoch, Scotland on January 28th-30th, 2011.


Rob Hall-sopranino, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone, clarinet

Chick Lyall-piano, harpsichord, electronics

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Clouds & Machines 3:47

2. Tenebrae 7:26

3. The Regime 4:06

4. Distant Futures 2:36

5. Blithe Spirit 4:20

6. Triptych 1 3:54

7. The Slant 4:14

8. Always Present 3:06

9. Hinterland 4:52

10. Triptych 2 3:42

11. No Laughing Matter 5:32

12. Deep Past 2:19

13. Rondeau 4:13

14. Blithe Spirit (CODA) 1:16

What are other customers searching for?