The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Straight-ahead jazz from the NY quartet of Jochen Ruekert (drums), Mark Turner (tenor sax), Brad Shepik (guitar) and Matt Penman (bass) performing Ruekert originals plus Herbie Hancock's "Sorcerer".

Rueckert, Jochen
Somewhere Meeting Nobody

Rueckert, Jochen : Somewhere Meeting Nobody (Pirouet)
Label: Pirouet    
Released in: Germany    

Somewhere Meeting Nobody is a CD with nine original compositions, one jazz standard, and one pop piece. This is a CD with a unique sound - four remarkable individuals from the current New York scene come together to create a thrilling, vital group voice. Besides Rueckert, the musicians are tenor saxophonist Mark Turner, the grand master of powerful multiform tones, guitarist Brad Shepik, the specialist of the elastic and warm sound, and bassist Matt Penman, an incredibly flexible player.

From the first measure on, a current of powerful, sensitively interacting colors holds the listener hostage. This is music from a band with a low-keyed leader a drummer who has everything firmly in hand, without appearing too dominant - someone who has a good ear for his fellow musicians. The pieces contain a dose of laconic humor. They carry such neat titles as "Dan Smith Will Teach You Guitar," and "Delete For Ever."

Music of shimmering beauty and tongue-in-cheek intelligence sticks in your head - and right in the middle of it is "To Have and to Hold," a pop song from the 1980's transformed into a powerful jazz hymn. This is thrilling new jazz for the listener who loves expressive music that is both powerful and sublte."-Pirouet

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
NY Downtown & Jazz/Improv
Quartet Recordings

Search for other titles on the Pirouet label.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Thumbscrew (Halvorson / Formanek / Fujiwara)
Fujiwara, Tomas / Ben Goldberg / Mary Halvorson
The Out Louds
(Relative Pitch)
Landaeus, Mathias
Into Life
(Moserobie Music)
Johnson, Max / Ingrid Laubrock / Mat Maneri / Tomas Fujiwara
The Prisoner
Karayorgis, Pandelis Quintet
(Driff Records)
Other Doors
(Allos Musica)
Necks, The
(Recommended Records)
Gould, Bill / Jared Blum
The Talking Book
(Koolarrow Records)
Eisenstadt, Harris
September Trio
(Clean Feed)
Coxhill / Ward
Old Sights New Sounds
Agnel / Gauguet / Neumann
Spiral Inputs
(Another Timbre)
Cappelli, Marco Acoustic Trio
Les Nuages En France
Copland, Marc
Jerman, Jeph
Abandoned Telephone Wire
Flow Trio
Set Theory, Live at the Stone
Favre, Pierre Ensemble
Le Voyage
Ross, Florian
Favre / Blaser
Vol A Voile
Positive Catastrophe (Ho Bynum / Gomez-Delgado / Bauder / Attias)
Garabatos Volume One
Price: $13.00
Out of Stock

**Adding this out of stock item to your basket with other in stock items may delay shipping or incur additional shipping charges.


Shipping Weight: 3.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 675754032982

Label: Pirouet
Catalog ID: 3055
Squidco Product Code: 14606

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2011
Country: Germany
Packaging: Digipack
Recorded November 29th and 30th, 2010 by Jason Seizer at Bennett Studios, New Jersey.


Jochen Rueckert-drums

Mark Turner-tenor saxophone

Brad Shepik-guitar

Matt Penman-bass

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. The Itch 4:49

2. Buttons 5:53

3. Dan Smith Will Teach You Guitar 6:33

4. Bridge And Front 6:31

5. Delete Forever 2:45

6. Pitot 4:07

7. Somewhere Meeting Nobody 4:51

8. Vodka Coke 4:12

9. To Have And To Hold 6:38

10. Way 5:52

11. The Sorcerer 4:50