The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

A double CD from saxophonist George Haslam: a quartet with 2 percussionists; and The Walter Thiers Memorial Saxophone Quartet, both of which were recorded in Argentina in 2008 and 2010.

Haslam, George
Once Upon A Time In Argentina [2 CDs]

Haslam, George: Once Upon A Time In Argentina [2 CDs] (Slam)
Label: Slam    
Released in: Great Britain    

"Once Upon A Time In Argentina is a double CD package, the 2 discs presenting 2 distinct projects. Disc One, which is actually called Once Upon A Time In Argentina is by a quartet including 2 percussionists. This unconventional line-up reflects what I think is the importance of rhythm in the music. In fact the whole continuous story comprises various chapters linked by different rhythms, none of which were pre-planned but were created in the studio by the combination of 2 percussionists of very different styles.

- Juan Carlos Martello, drum kit Jorge Savelon, percussion, Ruben Ferrero, piano, pianica, percussion and voice, George Haslam baritone sax, tarogato.

Disc Two is again a studio recording, this time by a saxophone quartet - "The Walter Thiers Memorial Saxophone Quartet". The history of jazz in Argentina and the place it holds to day is deeply indebted to the work of Walter Thiers. Walter was that rare sort of guy you meet here and there, an absolute fanatic who devoted his life to his love of the music and expressed this by helping the musicians and making things happen. All 4 members of the Quartet have reason to remember him with love and gratitude.

The Walter Thiers Memorial Saxophone Quartet. - Pablo Ledesma soprano, Sergio Paolucci alto, Daniel Harari tenor and George Haslam baritone"-Slam

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Percussion & Drums
Septet recordings

Search for other titles on the Slam label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Bardeau / Couratier / Lecinte / Lemaire
Quaturo Machaut
Shkurtaj Trio, Admir
Gestures and Zoom
Pastor, Stefano
Rutherford, Paul & George Haslam with the Samuli Mikkonen Trio
Raahe '99
io 0.0.1 beta++ / Park / Coates / Schroeder
io 0.0.1 beta++
Pastor, Stefano & Ari Poutiainen
North South Dial
Quijano, Antonio Quartet (feat Paul Dunmall)
Songs From Another Blue Planet
Reverie Duo
Bognetti / De Fabritiis / Fochesato / Galinari
Outward Bound Trio
The Path
Free Dot: Cotardo / Pacciolla
Pastor / Killion
Pastor, Stefano

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
ElSaffar, Amir
(Pi Recordings)
Lehman, Steve Trio, feat. Matt Brewer and Damion Reid
Dialect Fluorescent
(Pi Recordings)
Harrison / Feliciati / Vu / Powell / Weiss
Holy Abyss
Claudia Quintet + 1, The
What Is The Beautiful? (Featuring Kurt Elling And Theo Bleckmann)
Mezei, Szilard Vocal Ensemble
Fujj Szel, Zenta, Visshangozz Szel
(Not Two Records)
Korekyojinn with Tsuboy Akihisa
(Magaibutsu Limited)
Mezei, Szilard
(Aural Terrains)
Perelman / Levin / Zetterberg
(Clean Feed)
Melford, Myra's Be Bread
The Whole Tree Gone
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Freedman, Lori
a un moment donne
(Ambiances Magnetiques)
Price: $11.10
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 5.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 5028386032724

Label: Slam
Catalog ID: CD 327
Squidco Product Code: 14597

Format: 2 CDs
Condition: New
Released: 2010
Country: Great Britain
Packaging: 2 CDs in a digipak
CD 1 recorded on October 18th, 2008 at Estudio Sadem, Buenos Aires, Argentina by Adrian Odriozola. CD 2 recorded on February 17th, 2010 at La Montana Records, Buenos Aires, Argentina by Nestor Diaz.


Juan Carlos Martello-drum kit

Jorge Savelon-percussion

Ruben Ferrero-piano, pianica, percussion, voice

George Haslam-baritone saxophone, tarogato

Pablo Ledesma-soprano saxophone

Sergio Paolucci-alto saxophone

Daniel Harari-tenor saxophone

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

CD 1

1. Departure 5:28

2. Pianica 3:27

3. Gauchos 2:07

4. Kalimba 3:42

5. Carnivalita 4:00

6. Chacarera 3:56

7. Carnival 2:20

8. Baritone 2:40

9. Voices 4:15

10. Arrived 4:41

11. Fireworks 4:12

12. Coda 0:31

CD 2

1. Walter 3:57

2. All Night Soul 1:38

3. Devoción Sereno 4:11

4. Himno#1 4:55

5. Albert 4:36

6. Cancion Sin Melodia 2:27

7. St James Infirmary Vidala 6:28

8. Tinto Dreams 2:54