The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

A quartet of finesse and great communication led by pianist Copland, with saxophonist Greg Osby, bassist Doug Weiss and drummer Victor Lewis, performing original compositions and two well-placed standards.

Copland, Marc

Copland, Marc: Crosstalk (Pirouet)
Label: Pirouet    
Released in: Germany    

"After spending the early part of the 2000s in a recording spree that found him releasing as many as four albums each year on a variety of labels, Marc Copland has, since 2006, parked his piano with Germany's upstart Pirouet label. It's clearly been a fruitful pairing, with Copland releasing a variety of albums, in 2009 along releasing solo (Alone), duo (Insight, with bassist Gary Peacock) and trio (Night Whispers, the final installment of his New York Trio Recordings series). Copland has also renewed friendships with longtime musical partners, bringing back the quartet that released 1996's Second Look (Savoy), for another round on 2008's Another Place. Crosstalk reunites Copland with alto saxophonist Greg Osby, but this time for a full-fledged quartet that brings a different complexion to a clearly simpatico relationship explored on their two duo recordings, 2003's Round and Round and 2004's Night Call, both on Germany's defunct Nagel-Heyer label.

It's not just a first-time quartet record for the pair, it's the first time that Copland has recorded (at least under his own name), with bassist Doug Weiss, while it's been five years since he last recorded with drummer Victor Lewis. They're both inspired choices, working empathically with Copland's signature impressionism and delicacy, but adding more punch and fire than has been heard from the pianist since his quartet date with trumpeter Randy Brecker, Both / And (Nagel-Heyer, 2006), which, not coincidentally, also featured Lewis. With Copland sharing compositional duties amongst the group, in addition to a couple of well-chosen standards, the drummer's "Hey, It's Me You're Talkin' To" swings with a firm but elegant hand, Copland's harmonic ambiguity funneled through its light bop melody, his soft touch and motivic approach to solo development intact, but with more grounded pointillism than usual. Ditto Osby, a saxophonist whose own discography has ranged far and wide, always combining heady intellectualism with a deeper resonance, as here he builds his own solo of focused construction, working melodic fragments into lengthier, serpentine phrases. [...]"-John Kelman, All About Jazz

Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Staff Picks & Recommended Items
Quartet Recordings

Get additional information at All About Jazz

Search for other titles on the Pirouet label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Carrothers, Bill
Family Life
Copland, Marc
Some More Love Songs

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Ward, Greg's
Phonic Juggernaut
(Thirsty Ear)
Gauthier Goatette, The Jeff
Open Source
Coxhill / Ward
Old Sights New Sounds
Cappelli, Marco Acoustic Trio
Les Nuages En France
Afterfall (Lopes / Giardullo / Miguel / Duboc / Sorgen)
(Clean Feed)
Ross, Florian
Robinson, Jason
The Two Faces Of Janus
Landolf, Domenic
New Brighton
Vienna Art Orchestra
A Notion In Perpetual Motion
Bynum, Taylor Ho & SpiderMonkey Strings
Madeleine Dreams
(Firehouse 12 Records)
Gottschalk, Gunda / Xu Fengxia
You Lan
Witham, David
Spinning the Circle
Westbrook Orchestra, Mike
On Duke's Birthday
Cline, Nels / Parkins, Andrea / Rainey, Tom
Odyssey the Band
Back In Time
(Pi Recordings)
Art Ensemble of Chicago
The Meeting
(Pi Recordings)
Price: $16.95
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 2.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

UPC: 675754031978

Label: Pirouet
Catalog ID: 3054
Squidco Product Code: 14394

Format: CD
Condition: New
Released: 2011
Country: Germany
Packaging: Digipack
Recorded on December 4th and 5th, 2010 live to two-track by Jason Seizer at Bennett Studios, New Jersey.


Marc Copland-piano

Greg Osby-alto saxophone

Doug Weiss-bass

Victor Lewis-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Talkin' Blues 6:53

2. Diary Of The Same Dream 4:23

3. Ozz-Thetic 4:12

4. Tenderly 7:46

5. Crosstalk 8:13

6. Slow Hand 7:15

7. Hey, It's Me You're Talkin' To 4:52

8. Three Four Civility 3:46

9. Minority 6:33