The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2016, Squidco LLC

Sub Rosa's Framework series continues with the electroacoustic collaboration of electronic artists Philippe Petit and the London-based ea-improvising group Vultures Quartet.

Vultures Quartet & Philippe Petit
Tourbillon d'Obscurite

Vultures Quartet & Philippe Petit: Tourbillon d'Obscurite (Sub Rosa)
Label: Sub Rosa    
Released in: Belgium    

"Philippe Petit is interested in soundtracks; even if he creates original music he'd rather be introduced as a "musical travel agent" than a composer. Petit uses a Cymbalum, an Electric Psalterion, computer and synths to build up electronic layers, process acoustic and field recordings. To second the machines he likes to move various glasses, or percussive objects, and take advantage of vinyl material to fondle released sounds. A journalist for various magazines and radio as well as a musical activist, Petit has celebrated his 25th year of sharing his musical passions as the man behind the cult labels Pandemonium Rdz. and BiP_HOp. Petit has assembled what people call a dream-team of collaborators, working with: Lydia Lunch, Foetus, Murcof, Kumo, Eugene Robinson (Oxbow), Cosey Fanni Tutti, My Brightest Diamond, Sybarite, Pantaleimon, Graham Lewis (Wire), Barry Adamson, Scanner, Mira Calix, Kammerflimmer Kollektief, Guapo, Leafcutter John, James Johnston, Simon Fisher Turner, Justin Broadrick and many more...

Vultures Quartet started as a discussion that led to a noise making venture which has taken on it's own life and is carrying us with it. The musicians involved come from industrial, jazz, improv, rock, classical, and various goth style backgrounds. We never know where Vultures is going to take us, but we are unbelievably excited to see how various combinations of these influences will manifestthemselves into new, exciting sounds with which we hope we can entertain and inspire others to do the same!"-Sub Rosa

Limited edition of 700 copies/

Related Categories of Interest:

Electro-Acoustic Improv
Improvised Music
Limited Editions & Out of Print
Closeout Items

Search for other titles on the Sub Rosa label.

Other Recommended Releases:
Petit, Philippe
Ear Me In

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought:
Parker, William
Conversations By William Parker [BOOK + CD]
Eisenstadt, Harris
September Trio
(Clean Feed)
EMJO (European Jazz Movement Orchestra)
EMJO Live in Coimbra
(Clean Feed)
Heberer, Thomas Clarino
(Clean Feed)
Perelman, Ivo Quartet
The Hour Of The Star
Whobub [2 CDs]
Ware / Cooper-Moore / Parker/ Ali
Planetary Unknown
(Aum Fidelity)
Farmers By Nature
Out Of This World's Distortions
(Aum Fidelity)
Shipp / Beans / Parker / HPrizm
Knives From Heaven
(Thirsty Ear)
Anderson, Ray / Han Bennink / Christy Doran
Eskelin, Ellery / Andrea Parkins / Jim Black
One Great Day
Dixon, Bill
Levin, Daniel
Inner Landscape
(Clean Feed)
The Other Parade
(Clean Feed)
Dessen, Michael Trio
Forget the Pixel
(Clean Feed)
Chevillon, Bruno / Berne, Tim
Old and Unwise
(Clean Feed)
Alessi, Ralph and This Against That
Wiry Strong
(Clean Feed)
Schonberg, Arnold
Works For Piano
(Hat [now] ART)
DJ Sniff
EP (Evan Parker)
Fernandez, Agusti & Joan Saura
Ducret, Marc
Tower, vol. 1
Bailey, Derek
Live at G's Club - Barcelona Chronicles
Leandre / Mitchell / Van Der Schyff
Before After
Jones, Darius & Matthew Shipp
Cosmic Lieder
(Aum Fidelity)
Ensemble Fur Neue Musik Zurich
Women Composers
(Hat [now] ART)
Price: $8.10
In Stock


Shipping Weight: 3.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Product Information:

Limited edition of 700 copies/

UPC: 5411867113201

Label: Sub Rosa
Catalog ID: SR 320CD
Squidco Product Code: 14266

Format: CD
Condition: Closeout (New)
Released: 2011
Country: Belgium
Packaging: Digipack
Recorded by Daniel Beattie at Born in Mind, London in 2010.


Daniel Beattie-guitar, objects, electronics

Matt Chilton-laptop, mics

Will Connor-percussion

Anthony Dononovan-contrabass, mics, objects, electronics

Philippe Petit-field recordngs, electronics, turntables

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search

Track Listing:

1. Soufflé 8:28

2. Poussière 8:49

3. Baiser Léger 17:54

4. Bec D'eau 7:25

5. Tourbillon 6:56