The Squid's Ear Magazine

  Rapid SSL





  American Express

© 2002-2018, Squidco LLC

Molvaer, Nils Petter: Hamada (Thirsty Ear)

A dark album of improvisation with electronic and ambient overtones from Norwegian trumpeter Nils Petter Molvaer in a trio with guitarist Eivind Aarset and drummer Audun Kleive.

Price: $15.45


In Stock

Shipping Weight: 3.00 units

Quantity in Basket: None

Log In to use our Wish List
product information:

UPC: 700435719422

Label: Thirsty Ear
Catalog ID: THI 57194
Squidco Product Code: 14244

Format: CD
Condition: Sale (New)
Released: 2010
Country: USA
Packaging: Jewel Tray
Live recordings by Johnny Skalleberg. Mixed by Jon Marius Aereskjold at Rockens Hus in Tromso, Norway.


Nils Petter Molvaer-trumpet, voice, beat programming, sound carpet, metal percussion

Eivind Aarset-guitar, bass

Audun Erlien-bass

Audun Kleive-drums

Highlight an artist name or instrument above
and click here to Search
track listing:

1. Exhumation 1:25

2. Sabkah 5:15

3. Icy Altitude 4:19

4. Friction 5:34

5. Manacline 3:04

6. Soft Moon Shine 6:42

7. Monocline Revisited 3:05

8. Cruel Altitude 8:40

9. Lahar 1:50

10. Anticline 6:04
Related Categories of Interest:

Improvised Music
Free Improvisation
Quartet Recordings

sample the album:

descriptions, reviews, &c.

"It is Nils Petter Molvaer's most angry and darkest album up to date with climaxes in the songs "Friction" and "Cruel Altitude" where he and his fellow musicians, guitarist Eivind Aarset and drummer Audun Kleive, leave the paths of ambient, electronica and improvisation and get the axe out to poach in the fields of indie and 70ies-prog-rock, before they cool it down to end the album on a more conciliatory note.

The word "Hamada" is taken from the Arabian language and means dead, inanimately, congealed, lapsed. It is used as the geological term for a stone or rock desert with no or only little sand. Instead it is filled with edgy stones or rocks as a result of physical erosion."-Thirsty Ear

Other Releases With These Artists:
Recommended & Related Releases:

Search for other titles on the Thirsty Ear label.